We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Set among the hills and sheep on the Shropshire/Welsh border, this lovely hotel just about lived up to its website description. Yes, the tables are too close together in the dining-room, and yes, the room was small for the price we paid, but we left after two days with a very happy memories of the area and hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of June, our choice mostly driven by the good reviews on Trip Advisor, and I'm glad to say the reviews were right!

We stopped for two nights in the Rose room, which had a great view over the countryside before it. The room had filtered water, replenished every day, along with the usual tea/coffee facilities. The bed was comfortable, even though we're used to a firmer mattress. The bathroom was a good size too, and the whole room was clean. Most importantly for us, the room was lovely and quiet! Sure, we could hear some noise from the little bar, which I think was directly below us, but that stopped around about 11pm so it wasn't a big deal. During the night you couldn't hear a thing, and the only noise in the morning was of the goats & sheep on a nearby field, which was actually quite nice!

We ate at the hotel for both nights and the food was delicious , it really was. We were expecting good food from the reviews we read, but this was really good! The portion sizes were good too, but we did wonder why, when it came to the vegetables, were there always 3 potatoes? There's 2 of us! Perhaps it could be stretched to 4 potatoes so it evens things out a bit? Apart from that strange anomaly , the food was spot on.

The staff at the hotel are fantastic , always happy and happy to help, they did make you feel welcome.

We've only 2 minor quibbles, and they ARE minor, as we'd have no question about staying here again, so here goes:

Some reviews mention how 'close' things are in the dining room, and yeah, you can sometimes feel a bit cramped. I don't know what a good solution to this is, but it's a valid point.
Second one is price of the drinks, they are a bit on the high side. Perhaps something as well as Peroni on draught could be offered as a cheaper alternative, a local ale possibly?

We had a great stay and the surrounding area is lovely too and recommend staying here if you're in the area.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have stayed at Pen-y-Dyffryn many times and it never fails to please. This time we stayed 2 nights in the Champagne Room which is a superb room - very spacious and luxuriously and tastefully appointed with the most comfortable large double bed you can imagine, and views out across the beautifully kept gardens, and also with the largest double jacuzzi bath I have ever seen! Both the bedroom and bathroom were spotlessly maintained It's also the little things that make a difference, for example, a large bottle of filtered water which was replenished daily.
As always, the welcome is so friendly - you feel relaxed immediately you arrive as you tuck into home made scones and tea which we had on the patio, amongst the many and varied fragrant plant pots and hanging baskets.
All the staff are friendly, welcoming, caring and genuinely eager to please - and that includes the resident dogs Phoebe and Coco!
Dining here is an absolutely pleasure with the menu choices changing every day - local produce beautifully presented, imaginative, tasty, and fresh. You are offered lovely appetisers whilst you browse the menu in the lounge/bar, or outside on the patio before being escorted to your table in the restaurant which looks out onto the gardens.
Its hard to think what else they could add to the breakfast menu - local, organic and home made produce being available - sets you up for the day!
Miles and Audrey, the owners, make the effort to get to know you - they are so knowledgeable of the area and can advise you on the many and varied places to visit in the area.
Our main purpose of visiting was to get some much needed R&R which you cannot fail to get here with the combination of the hotel and staff, and also the wonderful location, set in beautiful gardens with views across to the Welsh Hills - it's peaceful and tranquil, with only the sounds of nature around you - idyllic!
It's always sad to leave Pen-y-Dyffryn, but we know we will be back many times to come.
Thank you MIles & Audrey, and all your staff!

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in have been lovely and individually designed, but we would always opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve-AnnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The hotel set in the side of a valley has lovely views across the surrounding area. We were greeted on our arrival with afternoon tea which included freshly baked ( warm) scones served with jam and clotted cream. Rooms were of a really good standard with excellent modern bathrooms, some with spa baths. The evening meal menu had good choices of locally produced food . All the food was well presented and delicious. The staff were most attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Lots of interesting places to visit in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizabeth662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a lovely place to stay when on a long-distance walk - so peaceful and relaxing. Pen- y -Dyffryn is a very comfortable house with beautiful gardens in an idyllic setting. It seems miles from civilization and is so tranquil that the only sounds are of birdsong and yet is close to Oswestry and major routes, so not difficult to get to.Miles and Audrey are very welcoming and friendly - they know everything there is to know about the area and are happy to impart their knowledge and all their staff are trained to an extremely high standard and eager to be of service.
Our meals were delicious, with lots of local produce and home-grown delicacies and there was plenty of choice at dinner and also at breakfast. We were sorry to leave and will definitely be returning in the future

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank granny6Monmouthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed a year ago and returned for another 2 nights. Wonderful small hotel and peaceful location on the border as part of the Shropshire 'foody' trail of recommended places to dine. Champagne room with Jacuzzi bath recommended. Staff friendly and welcoming.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AmandaJoyCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Pen-y Dyffryn is an amazing hotel. not only for its location, but also for its caring staff and excellent food. My wife and I spent a four night break there and can hardly wait to make a return visit. Although our room (the Blue Room) was somewhat on the small side, it was very clean and tastefully furnished. We overlooked the hotel garden, which is a treat in itself, and the Welsh hills beyond. Parking was also good - and adequate for the number of rooms. The owners made the effort to talk to their visitors and the staff was a delight to a woman, and man! The restaurant is 2 Michelin star rated and the chef deserves praise for the beauty of his presentation.

Room Tip: Some room are larger than others so you need to ask for a larger room. The location is quiet with n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
480 reviews
3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
435 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,328 reviews
13.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
476 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: £74 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing