We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The hotel is situated in beautiful countryside with an abundance of fantastic walks on the door step, the view from our room in the coach house was delightful, the gardens and house are beautifully kept. We took our little dogs and we've had a fabulous stay, they were worn out with the walking. Diner and breakfast were highlights, our four courses and canapés were delicious, all in all we've had a wonderful break and couldn't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Just look at the website, all rooms are well decorated and homely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This country house hotel is only three miles from the busy market town of Oswestry, but it might as well be in a different world. Surrounded by farmland and woodland in the rolling landscape of the Welsh borders, it provides a tranquil refuge in a setting which has probably changed very little since this former rectory was built in the 1840s. The hotel retains a relaxed period charm and is blessed with a team of friendly, capable staff and a chef who knows exactly the kind of food guests want and delivers it with an assured touch.
The young lady who welcomed me for my two-night stay and showed me to my 'smaller standard double' room on the first floor of the main building immediately made me feel at home. As soon as I'd dropped off my bags I headed back downstairs for the complimentary tea and scones with clotted cream and jam which are offered to new arrivals. My room was indeed small and finding somewhere to store my luggage without using up what little unoccupied floor space there was proved something of a challenge. Accessing the wardrobe involved moving a chair. I made a mental note to beware of the four steps leading down to the door which were perilously close to the foot of the bed and made nocturnal trips to the bathroom a hazardous proposition. The room was decorated in a cream and pink colour scheme which made best use of the limited natural light from the small window. The bed was comfortable and the part-tiled bathroom which came with bathrobes and toiletries in dispensers served its purpose. I was unable to receive a mobile phone signal, but had no trouble with the free wi-fi. My room folder contained lots of useful information on nearby attractions and activities - even a list of birds that may be seen from the hotel and its grounds. Details of local walks are provided in a folder in the reception area. The room and bathroom were clean, but public areas such as the stairs and hall carpets could have done with more regular vacuuming: bits present on the Friday afternoon were still there when I left on Sunday morning. Although the room was small and had a view only of the owners' cottage next door, I thought it offered good value for money.
I enjoyed pre-dinner drinks and tasty canapes in the front lounge, but guests also have the option of taking them in the rear lounge or out on the small terrace. Dinner comprised three courses with choice plus a set appetizer for £39, although coffee was extra. Given the high quality of the food, I thought this represented excellent value. The highlight of the first night's dinner was melt-in-the-mouth shin of wagyu beef with mashed potato, shallots and bacon and with fondant potatoes, green beans and red cabbage served on the side. The second night's offering was if anything even better, with a starter of Thai-style crab cake, home-cured salmon and perfectly seared king scallop followed by rabbit wrapped in pancetta with chicken mousse, shallots and savoy cabbage. Dessert was an exemplary chocolate fondant. Service was provided by charming, well-drilled young staff. Breakfasts were also excellent. As other reviewers have commented, tables in the dining room are crammed close together, but I was given a corner table by a window and didn't feel too hemmed-in.
Despite a few niggles, I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and am looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrossDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel seems the epitome of rural England's loveliness. If it were 100 yards west it would be Welsh loveliness.We had a room up the garden above the main house with beautiful views to the west so we could have our labrador with us . Pen-y-Dyffryn is set in very beautiful countryside with lots of very good walks in all directions. The house itself is very beautiful and feels like someone's much loved home. Food is excellent. Rural bliss to the accompaniment of baa-ing sheep.

Room Tip: Dog friendly rooms are in the coach house, above the main house with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavinlyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is our second visit and it never dissapoints. The staff are so friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The Chef produces outstanding meals which you really look forward to in the evening. Should go on Master Chef. You really do feel relaxed and I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family. Worth a visit......

Room Tip: They have ground floor facilities to acommodate people with poor mobility etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Marion015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Every element of our stay was superb: fine food, lovely scenery and exemplary service. We felt welcomed throughout and the staff were assiduous and friendly.We intend to return, probably repeatedly. Pen-y-Dyffryn was an inspired choice for our wedding anniversary celebration.

Room Tip: The Coach House rooms have individual patios with stunning views over beautiful countryside and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank timothy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed in upper court in the coach house beginning of june for 3 nights , separate patio with table and 2 chairs ideal for a dog fantastic views, great food , tables are close together but that's what gives it a homely feel , we met some lovely people who we may not have made conversation with
otherwise, there are always a couple of tables with more space around them and you can sit where you choose.we had great weather and the walking is very good, the maps could do with up dating though ! Staff are very friendly and attentive , we will be returning, thanks for a relaxing stay
Shearstones

Room Tip: Coach house rooms are away from hotel great views but if you don't want steps avoid them, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Set among the hills and sheep on the Shropshire/Welsh border, this lovely hotel just about lived up to its website description. Yes, the tables are too close together in the dining-room, and yes, the room was small for the price we paid, but we left after two days with a very happy memories of the area and hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
494 reviews
13.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
488 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
444 reviews
5.5 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
603 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: £87 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing