We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful country hotel with first-class food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2010

This welcoming hotel is situated in beautiful countryside. The staff are attentive and and decor warm and in keeping with the building.

Our bedroom was well furnished with a spa bath. The only, slight , negative was that the room was rather chilly but all that paled when we ate in the restaurant. A really excellent meal and this was followed by a first-class breakfast. A real find!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachylabeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 565 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

My wife and I decided to book a long weekend at Pen-y-Dyffryn and it turned out to be an inspired choice.Having driven out of Oswestry on a long straight climb, reaching the brow of the hill we were suddenly plunged into Wales. It was almost like we had entered another world. The relatively flat and ordered countryside of England was abruptly replaced by deep valleys, narrow winding lanes, sheep and trees; a stunning transformation.The hotel was nestled in a quiet valley barely five minutes from Oswestry, with stunning views of the open countryside. The building was full of old world charm with a pleasant ambience. Our room was neat and tidy with all the usual accoutrements you would expect, including flat panel TV, Tea & Coffee, Telephone etc. Although quite small (we only booked a standard double) they had managed to cleverly squeeze a corner bath/shower into the en-suite. The bed was comfy, if a little soft for my liking, and the peace and quiet almost palpable.The food was superb too. We had opted for a half-board package, and we were not disappointed. Evening meals started with an aperitif in the cosy bar whilst perusing the menu. Selections are changed daily and there was a good choice. Moving into the small restaurant, we were offered an appetiser to whet the pallet and complimentary water served in rather attractive blue glasses. The starter, main course, and dessert that followed were all prepared to perfection, and we then retired to the bar again to finish off with coffee and petits fours.Breakfast was again superb, with a good choice of cereals and juices, as well as a superb selection of cooked foods. We had the full English breakfast, which was succulent and ample enough to last a full day of exploring. The hotel added a nice touch of providing a daily ‘newsletter’ with breakfast, with the daily weather forecast and suggestions for places to visit and walks to take which, if you do not know the area, is very useful.The hotel’s location makes it ideal for exploring. For walkers there are lots of routes to explore literally from the front door. We decided to go a little further afield and take up on some of the suggestions in the newsletter, such as Chirk Castle and Lake Vyrnwy, both utterly wonderful.All in all it was a wonderful stay and we were sorry to leave. The staff were so attentive and we always felt at home. We would definitely like to return.“So, any negatives at all then?” you ask.  Well, not really. The only challenge (and outside the control of the hotel) was a lack of O2 cell phone signal in the valley, but I guess we should have anticipated that. However, the hotel made up for that with a free WiFi service in the bar, so smartphone and iPad users could use the internet instead, and the hotel did have a PC for public use too.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPACman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Unlike some other guests staying here, we were merely passing through on our way to Anglesey so were 'one-nighters'. Its truly remote location (certainly no 'passisng trade' here) we found attractive; athough - arriving, as we did, on an extremely hot day - we were initially discouraged as we noted the clearly unloved collection of garden furniture around the building. But all was absolute cosiness when we entered the door and the welcome was equally warming. We did take our 'high tea' outside (a totally different interpretation of the phrase than I am used to) but, as mentioned, the furniture did not encourage one to linger so we went inside.

Some reports comment that the bedrooms were on the small side. That is true but this is an old rectory and that is its charm. The room was very comfortable and although not large certainly wasn't cramped - so no complaints there.

The friendly intimate atmosphere of the hotel encouraged guests to chat to each other - assuming one is inclined to do so - which was also an attractive feature.

Unfortunately we cannot echo the general enthusiasm about the food, which is a pity. I say "a pity" because it is clear from individual items that we had that the chef is highly skilled. Our problem was that we felt he/she didn't look beyond these individual components to 'the total dish'. A brief indication of this was the provision of the same set of accompanying vegetables to each guest irrespective of whether they were having fish or roast beef. whereas the careful selection of the vegetable(s) should have been regarded as an essential part of the whole..

Also - being very used to similarly small French hotels - we found the cheese course niggardly. The British Isles can now certainly hold its own against the French when it comes to cheese so the provision of just three small pieces of cheese preselected by the kitchen (and possibly not to each diner's taste) instead of being offered the choice from a proper cheese board once again - like the 'catch-all' vegetable plate - reduced the restaurant to pub level.

I am writing the above because I received an e-mail from the hotel asking me to comment on Tripadvisor. So I have done so. What is more my criticisms are of 'detail' rather than substance, which could so very easily be rectified to the hotel's distinct advantage I feel..

Would we recommend the hotel to friends? We most certainly would as a very pleasant and friendly place to stay but not for a special trip for its dining experience. What is more it is important to add that we did not think we were being overcharged for what we received (apart form the cheese maybe!).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DerekCarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

No mobil, no internet, just great !!!
The garden, needs a little - love, but thanks life.
WE will be back !!! Especially the "Upper Court"
Thanks again, seeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee u.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil03091947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We stayed one night in one of the rooms in the old hotel. Our room was excellent with a good view over the beautiful garden. Afternoon tea on arrival was very welcome and very good. Our evening meal was excellent with local produce and a good choice. The bed was comfy and it was very quiet so we had a good nights sleep. The hotel is old with many interesting things to look at and it is very restful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We were looking for a weekend away not too far from home at the last minute and came across this hotel. I telephoned and spoke to a very helpful lady and we managed to book the last available room. That the hotel was then fully booked speaks for itself.

The hotel is in a beautiful setting, a peaceful wooded valley. We had a room in the Coach House, the room was immaculate and well furnished and had its own private patio with table and chairs. It was so peaceful at night.

The public rooms at the hotel are in a traditional country house style, cosy with lots of comfortable seating areas.We enjoyed a delicious evening meal and breakfast was also of a very high standard. There is an emphasis on locally sourced food. The staff throughout the hotel were excellent, friendly and professional.

What surprised us was the location of the hotel, it appears to be quite isolated but when you look in the very informative room folder, you soon realise that it is in a prime position close to many different attractions. You could easily spend a week here and find somewhere interesting to go every day. You could also stay put at the hotel and do one of the many walks nearby.

We will definitely visit again.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank KarenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

We had a 3 night stay here (late booking). Both my husband and I could not rate this hotel high enough. We have stayed in 5* hotels and had poorer service and food. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful in every way. Our room was fantastic (The Champagne room). There was a complimentary afternoon tea on arrival and we also had a complmenary half bottle of champagne which we drank on the patio looking at the wonderful views.
There is a wealth of information on the surrounding area and walks available directly from the hotel.
There were no complaints whatsoever with the food. It was of an excellent quality.
We are looking forwards already to our return.


Please do visit, you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
478 reviews
3.0 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
432 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
13.9 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
472 reviews
4.4 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel

Address: Rhydycroesau | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: £86 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway between Shrewsbury and Chester this beautiful silver-stone Georgian rectory is set in stunning hill scenery. In five acres of grounds, the Hotel offers unobtrusive hospitality, first-class food and an easy-going atmosphere guaranteeing that "away-from-it-all" feeling. Some bedrooms have private patios others have spa baths. Good Hotel Guide Country Hotel of the Year and Johansens Best Value Award. Two AA Food Rosettes. Great walking from the front door &€“ close Powis Castle and Erdigg (N.T.) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing