We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$135
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Oswestry(Oswestry)(Great Value!)
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$109
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The West Arms Hotel(Llanarmon DC)
US$99
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
US$156
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lion Quays(Weston Rhyn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveller rating
449
106
25
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
449
106
25
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne roomsconescoach houselocal walkson arrivalweather forecastold rectoryspa bathwelsh borderupper courtdouble jacuzziowners and staffdog friendly hotelprivate patioexcellent foodbeautiful locationmain building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 587 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2007

We have just returned from a superb weekend at this gem of a country hotel. Our room, 'Upper Court' in the Coach House was spacious and well equipped with unrivalled views. Just a pity that the weather wasn't quite warm enough to sit out on the private patio!

Food at breakfast & dinner was excellent. Our only (slight) quibble was the emphasis on New World wines on the wine list. We prefer European wines - but that's personal taste.

Staff were attentive without being overbearing / intrusive.

We tested out the hotel's 'walk of the day' - the printed directions were well written & easy to follow - fuelled by a tasty packed lunch.

We didn't move the car from arrival until departure - and the silence of the countryside (and lack of mobile phone signal) was a real treat

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdlancstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2007

My elderly parents and I stayed here for a weekend in April and really loved it. The hotel and grounds are lovely, the staff extremely pleasant and willing and the food absolutely delicious. Both rooms were very pleasant. The Champagne Room, up a steep set of stairs in the main building, has a testered double bed, a single bed, a small sitting area with lovely views and a huge bathroom with largel spa bath and shower over. The Terrace Room. on the ground floor of the main building, has a king-sized bed, nice though somewhat small bathroom with shower only (so I guess it's a shower room) and a small patio outside French doors. Both very nicely done up and comfortable with fully-accoutered tea trays.

The food at both breakfast and dinner was gorgeous and delicious. At breakfast the fresh fruit selection was a stunner both mornings and the cooked breakfast delicious. Coffee and tea of excellent quality and toast from house-baked bread. The selections at dinner (4 courses with choices for 3 of them) were interesting and varied and all were executed very well. I particularly noticed that there were nice options for vegetarians. The nice mother and daughters group at the next table told us that they had been going there for breaks for over 10 years. We only wished that we lived near enough to become regulars too! (We are from Boston, MA, USA.)

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonGretchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Hampshire UK
16
Reviewed 3 February 2006

My husband and I have just returned from a visit to Pen-y-Dyffryn Hotel. It's in a really beautiful location in eye catching Welsh border countryside. We had a great welcome on arrival with complimentary tea and cake by the fire. Our bedroom had fantastic views of the hills, the bathroom had a spa bath (that worked) and we had hot water bottles to keep our toes warm at night.
The staff were friendly and attentive but not fussing all the time (which is how we like it) and the food was especially good-it was quite difficult to choose each night as everything sounded so yummy. We didn't think the wine was overpriced either.
There is quite a lot to do in this bit of Shropshire, but the hotel is really well situated just to walk in the surrounding hills. The owners have produced a series of walks which help you on your way. We will definately be back later this year and we,re planning on bringing some friends along.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
353
Reviewed 29 November 2005

Interesting little hotel on the edge of a small Welsh borders village (though the hotel is just in England. Great centre for walking and the surrounding area is gorgeous. Pheasants everywhere, buzzards and lots of other interesting birds for the twitcher, woods and streams, hills and little valleys.

The hotel itself is very good but has a couple of gaps in its otherwise good standards.
There were bowls of toffees and fruit around for guests to help themselves to - nice touch, though the apples were dried up when I thought of taking one. And they had a book of local walks that you could get a copy of to take out with you.

Our room was in the 'coach house' - Upper Court - which is outside the main building and up a set of dangerously steep steps - entirely unsuitable for anyone with the slightest walking impairment. It was one of a set of four and ours was quite nicely renovated and of good size, though with a rather poky bathroom and a pathetically feeble shower over the bath.
We were there late November with snow and strong wind and the room was very cold in the middle of the night when the central heating went off and the draught through the double doors swept in. The steps and path between main building and 'coach house' were slippery and seemed to have sand thrown on them rather than rock salt, so the ice did not shift till it thawed naturally.
(By the way, it could never really have been a coach house as you could never get anything with wheels up there, but I suppose they wouldn't want to call it a sheep, cow or pig house, as it really must once have been!!)
Some of the other guests also complained of cold (even in their rooms in the main house) but I noticed that the heating seemed to be higher / on longer, after that.

The hotel has two lounges with open wood and coal fires, though the fire in the lounge we preferred was not lit on Sunday afternoon/evening. Both pleasant rooms but only just big enough for the staying guests. Between is a pleasant dining room.

The menu was quite interesting and there was a goodish, though not over-expensive, wine-list. I got the impression though that the menu, whilst it varies daily, would recycle very quickly and other reviewers here months ago had the same choices as us, so if you stayed for longer than a few days you might find the same things coming round. Not a real problem as all choices seemed good, and all that we ate was excellent. Again adding a nice touch they served canapes / amuse-bouche and other little extras - pre dessert sweets etc. Coffee after dinner was extra though, which I thought was a bit tight.
Breakfast was less good, however, with wet bacon, un-basted fried egg, leathery mushrooms and miniscule, over-cooked, smoked haddock served to us. Though we were offered top-ups of tea and toast.

Service quality was generally very good, and they all tried to please, successfully.
Housekeeping staff hadn't bothered to check everything was working and as it should be - a light bulb was out on our arrival, tissues were not replaced when they ran out, water in the room was not replaced automatically. TV reception in the room was hopeless.
More importantly, service-wise, in my opinion, no-one at any time called us by name, and even when Miles, (as I discovered from his a name badge!) came around before dinner to talk to guests, he did not actually introduce himself or ask us who we were, though I guess he had a pretty good idea from which room we were in. This seemed to be the norm as I saw/heard no other guests being called by name either. A small touch perhaps but one that makes a great deal of difference, makes people feel comfortable and 'at home' so far more likely to return, and takes so little effort in a place of that size.

We may return as the location is so great and the no- longer so new proprietor and staff do seem to be trying to improve things and maintain a good standard, and there are not many other places to stay in the area, though we will look around again. I would say this is a place for couples - not families and definitely not corporate groups. The public space is very limited (two small lounges and the dining room), and would soon become untenable with corporate or child-generated noise.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester, England
15
Reviewed 31 March 2005

Seeking a get-away venue for a special occasion we found Pen-y-Dyffryn via it's useful website. The check-in was welcoming with lovely staff who showed us to our room which was perfect with fabulous views of the countryside. The meals were exceptional, chosen from really creative menus which included the best venison I've ever had. The Passionfruit Brulee was equally memorable. Breakfasts were of similar quality. Style and quality of service were just right with friendly staff seeming very happy in their work. The substantial wine list includes some gems.
The loudest noises came from the abundant birdlife. Pheasants were seen strolling in the garden just yards from the hotel.
Whilst at the hotel we asked to view their Coach House rooms which are a bit bigger and have private patios overlooking the gardens and across the valley into Wales. They look perfect for summertime.
All in all, a lovely place, great food and charming service - a great find.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews