We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss! Like living in the Shire for a week.”
Review of Offas Dyke Yurts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oswestry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Offas Dyke Yurts
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bliss! Like living in the Shire for a week.”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I can’t sing the praises of the yurts up near Offas Dyke enough! The surroundings are absolutely perfect and staring out over the sprawling fields below really is an awe inspiring sight. They yurt itself is lovely and roomy, with a double bed in the back yurt and a very comfy sofa bed in the front yurt/living space. We were there as a party of 4 and it was more than adequate for us! There is loads to see and do in the surrounding area, with some lovely walks to take in. So give it a few days there at least!

The yurts are completely private, surrounded by fences, trees and high bushes. So you feel completely alone, which is exactly what you would want from such a beautiful rural getaway. You have lovely decking and private gardens all to yourself, which are great for just starring at the stunning views. All mod cons are within 5 steps to boot, with a toilet, washing up area and shower directly behind the yurts themselves. You also have a gas stove in the front yurt for cooking and a wood burner outside, which is great for cooking on too. And the log burner in the yurt itself is amazing and gets it nice and toasty at night in no time at all.

And the hosts! Amazingly friendly and accommodating people! On the way up we enquired if there was a small fridge, for beers etc. There wasn’t... so they went and bought one in time for our arrival! That says it all really! Amazing stay in every possible way! Will be heading back for sure!

Accommodation: 10/10
Service: 10/10
Location: Off the scale. Truly stunning!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southam, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Such a beautiful Yurt in such a beautiful location! Inside was as picturesque as the outisde, with a cosy log burner, beautiful wood flooring and electric blankets on the bed! Everything was done to a really high standard and presented perfectly, and the owners were really friendly and helpful. Was the perfect choice of location for a weekend gathering with friends, and I'm sure it'd be just as pefect for a family or couple. Can't fault it!

Room Tip: Choose the Yurt!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

For a nice break in the countryside this is the place to be! The yurts feel luxurious with a gas cooker, plug sockets, running hot water and a outdoor shower (a bit tempromental at times) but showering outside is quite the experience!

Beautiful views, comfy beds and great owners, nice and friendly!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank That_guy_Will
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Had the most amazing weekend staying in the Offas Dyke Yurts! The location is amazing, with the view going on for miles, the only thing that could have made the weekend better would be a bit of sunshine. The yurts themselves are incredible, and just the right size for 6 of us to sleep, with tent room outside if extra people joined us. Theres a very relaxed atmosphere there, as the owner Jo is very nice and laid-back. We had barbecues both nights on the outside decking, then could move inside to the warmth of the wood burner after dark. The toilet and shower facilities were top notch! We were a bit wary before arriving, but they're are far more luxurious than standard camping wash facilities. The Yurt was ideal for us (a group of young people), but would also be the perfect romantic getaway, or just for a family holiday. The cherry on top is definitely the price, £80 a night? You just can't go wrong. I'd rather stay there than an over-priced B&B any day!

I will be recommending Offas Dyke Yurts to all my friends, and hopefully we will stay a bit longer next time! (it was hard saying goodbye to the Yurt)

Room Tip: If there are more than 4 of you staying, don't forget to bring extra duvets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
3.8 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,256 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
449 reviews
2.0 mi away
Moreton Park Hotel
Moreton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chirk
307 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chirk
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Offas Dyke Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Offas Dyke Yurts

Property: Offas Dyke Yurts
Address: The Barn | Fron Uchaf, Weston Rhyn, Oswestry SY10 7NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offas Dyke Yurts is located just five miles from the small market town of Oswestry, North Shropshire, and 40 minutes drive from the historic towns of Shrewsbury and Chester. Nestled on the side of a hill and within a private garden, the yurts overlook a breathtaking panoramic view of the Shropshire plain and the distant Stretton Hills. If you are looking for a relaxing and memorable family holiday, romantic retreat or getaway with friends, this is for you. Our yurts are self-contained with private toilet, washing and cooking facilities. Guests can take advantage of the marvelous surrounding walking country, with day hikes for enthusiasts or short strolls to watch the badgers in the neighbouring field. Children can play safely in the fenced garden, on the trampoline and swings or in the sandpit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Offas Dyke Yurts Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing