We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Service!!!”
Review of The Keys

The Keys
Ranked #9 of 120 Restaurants in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Home Cooked Food
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Value and Service!!!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I called in on our way home from work one Friday and we hadn't tried The Keys before. Very pleasantly surprised with the bright, clean and friendly atmosphere. We both had 2 courses and both were excellent value for what we received. Especially the mixed grill at £13!!! We received great service especially when we left as my partner left her phone behind on the table by mistake. As we pulled out of the car park the very kind waiter ran out into the car park to catch us and returned it... (Thank you AGAIN!) Will definately be returning!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Ian7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    26
    9
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great value for money..with a smile”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Called in early evening for a meal. Very good service with a smile. Nothing too much trouble. Husband went for good value 'early evening special' 2 courses for £9.50. He had the biggest serving of pate followed by a generous portion of fish and chips and peas. Having a smaller appetite I went for chicken curry with half rice and half chips. It was very tasty but massive.... Thank you John Smout, landlord, and your new chef for a lovely welcome and meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

just stopped at the keys for a quick lunch while passing through st' martins and we were not disappointed the beef and ale pie was without doubt excellent. the pub is spotless. and the prices are great value. also the service we had from the young blonde girl serving / sorry never caught her name she didn't stand still long enough was excellent so nice to be greeted with a smile Wrexham bar maids take notice. will certainly return now we have visited and work my way through the menu..it's great to see small village pubs offering such great value well done

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oswestry
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“the best chips in the planet”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

i been couple of times this month and lets just say the chips are the best and everyone is always friendly thanks again and see you all soon, fully recommend

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morenito01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellant all round”
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

The food is excellant the service is the same.....staff are very friendly& nothing to much trouble . Very clean spacious dinning room plenty of room & all looked very welcoming.... We were very surprised at the size of the very tasty chicken sizzler then along came a massive plate of fresh salad chips & coleslaw. ....if your hungry then this is the place......you won't come out still hungry from the keys !

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank denise212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Keys also viewed

St Martins, Oswestry
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to The Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing