We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Griffin Inn Oswestry
Nearby Hotels
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Oswestry(Oswestry)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Arms Hotel(Llanarmon DC)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Hand at Llanarmon(Llanarmon DC)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bryn Howel Hotel(Llangollen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
10
7
2
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
7
2
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome cooked foodgreat pubalesaccommodationmeal
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

The griffin pub has been transformed by its new owners. A great pint of real ale with good service. All the food is home cooked with not a frozen chip in sight. The food is rustic ie no flare but great basic hearty food at an excellent price. I can recommend the gammon and egg, steaks are very good as well. About time someone cared what went into a meal. Good service

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank hillj2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were told that the food was good here, so, new to Oswestry, this was one of the first pubs we stopped to eat at: big mistake. After waiting 45 minutes from ordering till the food arrived (time to go shopping during the wait), we were hugely disappointed, first by the presentation of the food (eg: chile con carne is one spoon of slop served on a bed of over-cooked bright yellow rice) and secondly by the taste (chile con carne tasted like spaghetti bolognese, very little seasoning). We only finished our meals because we were starving, especially after a three-quarter of an hour wait. We certainly won't be coming back here again, which is too bad since the atmosphere is quite lovely. Toilets sticky and not smelling so fresh either. There must be better places to spend your money in Oswestry.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Called in today for a meal. There was a good selection on menu . I can recommend the pasta. My wife can recommend the prawn salad. Obviously a meeting point for the locals but still we were made very welcome. We had a very pleasant window seat and watched the world of Oswestry pass by. The local museum is also worth a visit and it too , set in the old court house, is full of old charm.
As with any old building, don't go to the Griffin expecting McDonalds. It is a quaint individual place full of books, Irish bodrhans and even a Green Man!

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Woodyomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights (moved to a different place) ordered fish and chips and was served undercooked fish that was still raw, brought it to the attention of the landlady who said she would let the chef know, did not get a replacement fish or a refund so £5 for chips and peas, first room they put me in has a wasps nest outside the window so change room to one with no window, this lead to two hot and uncomfortable nights. The place overall was very dirty and unkempt. For £35 per night it was a total rip off. Please see pics to understand. Would not recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bubblegum25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews