We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations”
Review of Sweeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

First impressions were excellent - after calling the hotel for directions I was given directions as I drove and 'talked in' to the hotel. Room was fabulous, breakfast excellent but the shower was poor. This was good enough to me to rebook and I've now stayed there about 7 times. Each time I stay I am given a warm welcome, dinner is delicious and generous, beds are like cocoons and breakfast is magnificent. The only downer on the hotel is that the showers are naff, however I can live with that as everything else over-compensates.
I will book here every time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 8 - the smallest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    104
    41
    33
    6
See reviews for
135
137
8
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
welshpool
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Booked for evening meal with family to celebrate sons 18th birthday. When booking I had asked would it be the normal menu but arrived to find it was the set menu. A very helpful young man went to ask the chef if we could order steak, which we where told yes. We had a fab meal would highly recommend. The young man and waitress where most helpful, even getting more chips when I requested them.

Only thing that lacked was diners only our party and one other couple there. Apparently they had no one staying.
The owners need to keep hold of these two young people. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margwelshpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This maybe a 3 star hotel, however it's too a very high standard. We decided to have our wedding reception here , Sean and his staff couldn't of done enough to ensure we enjoyed our special day.
All of our guests complimented how well our wedding reception room was presented , all of our meals were cooked to perfection and the attention to detail that was made was excellent .
We would like to personally thank Sean & his team for everything they did for us and we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltime333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

A lovely welcome at Sweeney Hall. Stayed as attending the funeral of one of its owners, unfortunately.
Beautifully redecorated rooms and a very comfortable and restful sleep each night!
Only thing to mention about room 4 was that the lighting was very poor. It needed a few standard lamps or brighter bulbs in the main light.
Also nowhere to stand the kettle near a plug, except on the carpet. (needed a small table near a plug, ideally)

Room Tip: Room 1 was the biggest and best! 1 and 4 have the best views from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sop2025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night last year for our first wedding anniversary. Hotel is lovely, room great and service excellent, the food however is incredible ! Had fillet steaks that were cooked to perfection and the flavours of the sauce beautiful. Would highly recommend Sweeney Hall to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkLynnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seprawn, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for the feed back it is very much appreciated and I am delighted you enjoyed your anniversary with us.If you are thinking of repeating it again this year then drop me an email and we will sort out a bottle of bubbly for your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had booked into the Restaurant for New Years Eve, on booking this my partner was not advised it would be a set menu at £60 per head until we were given the menu in the bar/lounge area. We proceeded to order the first three courses, a lovely bellini was bought to us, i drank two as it was not my partners sort of tipple. We were treated to a great display of table magic and illusion by Rob Chapman , a great addition to any wedding or party.
We were escorted to out table by the waitress, a side annex /conservatory , i commented to my partner it must be quite busy as all the tables in the top room we laid up and had jugs of water on them, eight other people joined us in this annex, off the main restaurant area .
Our first courses arrived these were lovely and well presented, my second course was the soup this was seasoned lovely and had a wonderful celeriac taste. We both went for the Beef Wellington i like mine med/rare but we were not asked how we would like it done, we asked the waitress if we could have a break after the second course as these were coming fast and furious but were told chef has already started them , when it turned up it resembled a Greggs pastie with tender meat which looked like pulled beef inside, not what i knew a Beef Wellington looked like. The sweets were nice and homemade but by this time i was full, went into the lounge for coffee but still the restaurant wasnt full and could not understand why we were not in there. The function room was buzzing with noise obviously with a private party, we went to our room with nothing to do now, dozing off to sleep i heard the count down to new year and the disco music , would of been nice as a staying guest to have some party attmosphe, instead we sat in out own room drinking our own Champagne instead of buying drinks from the hotel bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redagagirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We hadn't been to Sweeney for a little while so decided to treat ourselves to Sunday lunch at the beginning of December. It was every bit as good as we remembered it and although it was very busy with 3 large parties and a full Sunday lunch restaurant we had an excellent meal and great service. The lunch was beautifully cooked and presented with a good choice of both traditional and modern dishes. The hotel is in a lovely parkland setting with wonderful views from the bar, hotel & grounds. We've stayed here in the past and can also recommend the rooms as well as the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side & front of the house face the grounds and parkland, room at the back overlooks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seprawn, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch and thank you for taking the trouble to leave such positive feedback. It is much appreciated and don't wait too long before you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
4.0 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
413 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
23.4 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
762 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweeney Hall Hotel

Property: Sweeney Hall Hotel
Address: Sweeney Hall Hotel Morda | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 9EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweeney Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Georgian Country House Hotel set in mature parkland yet within easy access of a major road.We have 11 bedrooms in the hotel as well as a cottage that sleeps four in close proximity. Each room is individual with all the quirky details you often find with a family owned and run property.A log fire welcomes you in the winter months and this is equalled by our fantastic terrace and gardens in the summer.We are open to non residents and have a great local reputation and following for our food.Whether a special occasion or a mid week bite to eat we can offer what you need.We have been at the Sweeeney Hall as a family for 20 years now and love what we have to offer with its history and warm atmoshere and unique character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sweeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweeney Hall Oswestry
Sweeney Hall Hotel Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing