We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden Gem”

Wednesdays Cafe Bar
Ranked #28 of 117 Restaurants in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Wandering around Oswestry looking for somewhere to eat. We like to find interesting independant eateries - and this one was both. Down a side alley of the pedestrianised town centre we though we'd have a look. The menu was different and interesting, with several options for a vegetarian. We ordered the spinach arachini and Sweet potato falafel. Both where really nice, and the salads where different and interesting too. The orange and honey dressing on the salad of leaves and red cabbage was really tasty and I would never have thought to include aubergine with potato salad - it was really nice. Served by helpful and attentive staff. And the best bit - two meals and two large americano's for well under £20! excellent value. Would recomend to anyone and I would definity go back if we visit Oswestry again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PBiggs42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food !”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Since Wednesdays has changed chefs, the food has become something to remember. Lots of choice on the blackboards, the spicy chicken with three types of salad was fantastic really tasty and good portion! I particularly liked the wild garlic pesto. Had a yummy fresh baked rhubarb cake to follow! All in all great value for money lovely ambiance and great music being played. A place I would thoroughly recommend!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GaynorSouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great ambiance”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Not many people know about this lovely hidden place so we've been quite lucky to have stumbled upon it one afternoon. We didn't stopped at the time, but we made sure to go back as we have noticed they have live music on Fridays. We weren't disappointed with what we've found! The food was delicious and not very expensive, nice décor, relaxed ambiance and really good live music :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Princess_Lia_Tyrrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lovely, quiet cafe hidden away. Coffee is great, teacakes great, bacon and egg sandwich awesome and the Welsh Cakes amazing!!! All I can say is go and try it, you won't regret it! Clean and very relaxed atmosphere, children and buggies most welcome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sjb_lll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Limited menu but very nice.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Found Wednesdays by accident as my little girl needed the toilet, the lady working kindly let us use the loo and we returned later for lunch.
The menu was on a blackboard and was fairly limited, Panini's, all day breakfast but I got the impression there was more on offer than was listed, no paper menu or menu on the tables.
The coffee was lovely, service fast and efficient and really nice atmosphere. Will definitely return as my Dad is in a wheelchair and there isn't always a lot of space in cafe's but no problem here!

Helpful?
2 Thank Donna952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wednesdays Cafe Bar also viewed

Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Wednesdays Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing