We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art gallery and library included”
Review of Greystones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greystones
Ranked #4 of 12 Oswestry B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We had very much looked forward to staying at this 5 star guesthouse and everything well lived up to its rating – the food and wine, our room, the hospitality of Cameron and Magy. We certainly endorse all the comments made by others who have stayed here.

What was a particular delight were the many paintings and sculptures which adorned the house throughout, even extending to the garden. And although insomnia was hardly likely, having been cosseted so well during the evening, we noticed that there was a library of books in our room (Maple) covering all tastes.

Very many thanks for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mokeysal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

Having read all of the reviews, and made the booking because of these reviews, my expectations were very high....

Despite this, I am very pleased to be able to strongly recommend Greystones and say that it exceeded my very high expectations.

The breakfasts are awesome, the rooms are lovely and the service is exceptional....they pre-empted all of our possible questions/requirements and nothing was too much trouble.

This is an excellent B&B and worthy of all of the reviews on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Fountain is a lovely suite with three separate rooms = bedroom, lounge & bathroom. Big enough t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen_Marie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed for a 4 night break in the Orchard Suite, and we can only agree wholeheartedly to the superlatives of previous reviewers. We have stayed in many places in many countries, and Greystones is unique in every way.
Details we noticed include the bed, which was so comfortable it had to be nearly new, surely!
The breakfast is the best, and really does keep you going all day without ever making you feel full. As stated by other reviewers, Cameron really does know his stuff, but I do not understand how he make a breakfast that does that!
As for the dinner, all courses were wonderful, but the Grand Marnier Souffle is very good indeed, but the real best bit is that my partner had a Chocolate fondant served at the same time, and both were perfect!
We have a friend who is a recently retired chef from a top London restaurant, and he said he wouldn't have attempted that on his own!
With many good standard B&B's, there is sometimes the feeling that some facilities are there to satisfy tick boxes on some rating agency's checklist; absolutely not the case here!
Cameron and Magy really do what they do, simply because they want to give their guests the very best, and deliver it with warmth and sincerity.

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 905Steve_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Booked our break at short notice and what a good choice! Attention to detail was paramount and Cameron and Magy made us very welcome.Food was fantastic and we would like to have stayed more than the four nights which we had booked.Im sure we will return again to soak up the away from it all feeling.Perfect place to stay to visit Chester,Oswestry and Shrewsbury and the journeys to these places are picture perfect.
Thanks again for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Greystones is spacious, homely, very hospitable, warm, comfortable - need I go on? After an 8 hour drive from Scotland, on our way back to West Wales, this was the perfect stopping place. Only wish we could have stayed another night! Dinner was served with a cracking bottle of red wine by Cameron and his lovely wife, Magy - fine dining as well as the most comfortable bed in a large suite.

Peaceful and quiet, wonderful night's rest followed by very pleasing breakfast and wander around the gardens.

We are going back in January! THANK YOU

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyglynlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Not only was the room fabulous (and large), Cameron & Magy are great hosts and the food was some of the best we've had. We thoroughly recommend Greystones and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisandali_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Had a lovely relaxing break at this gem of a bb .Our room was large and comfortable with views out to the pretty gardens.Our hosts were very weloming and made us feel very at home and the food was fantastic cordon bleu infact and with many options including some very tasty vegetarian dishes.The location is also on the border of north Wales and Snowdonia national park is close to hand as well as the steam railway at Llangollen and the breathtaking lake Vyrnwy and dam.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsTigerLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oswestry hotels
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
5.6 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
3.9 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
494 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Bryn B&B
The Bryn B&B
#2 of 12 in Oswestry
136 reviews
3.9 mi away
Laurels Bed & Breakfast
Laurels Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 12 in Oswestry
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystones

Address: Crickheath, Oswestry SY10 8BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oswestry
Hotel Class:5 star — Greystones 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greystones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystones Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing