We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodie oasis in Shropshire”
Review of Greystones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Greystones
Ranked #4 of 12 Oswestry B&B and Inns
Weybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Foodie oasis in Shropshire”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

A warm welcome, spacious and luxurious accommodation and food to match the best anywhere. A truly delightful place. We had been recommended by discerning friends and arrived with high expectations that were quickly surpassed. Our only disappointment was that we had only booked 2 nights! Cameron and Magy have set a very high standard and don't stint on their efforts to exceed themselves.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
91
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was our second stay at Greystones and we cannot recommend it enough. Magy and Cameron (not forgetting Zak the dog) are the most welcoming of hosts and will go out of their way to make your stay as relaxing as possible. Cameron's cooking is sublime and you will struggle to find anything comparable for the price - in our opinion it is on a par with most quality restaurants, but wins because of the personal service you will receive in the guest dining room - and for such an intimate dining experience/environment the wine list is excellent. Breakfast is a cut above the norm too - fresh fruit platter, croissants, porridge/cereal, followed by a cooked breakfast. There is a large guest lounge for pre and post dinner drinks (if desired) and relaxing seating areas in the guest bedrooms. Describing Greystones as a B&B does not do it justice - it's a real home from home with all the hard work removed - and with better quality bed linen!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RVSBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

February is a super month to go away and treat yourself . At Greystones you will be pampered and made to feel really special . We had family things to do while there-a shame we couldn't enjoy just 'being there' a little more. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveDr56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Just back from another wonderful stay at Greystones. As always everything was superb. The food is out of this world. The welcome is great, you really are made to feel at home, can't fault it and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a top notch place to stay

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MooseySuffolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

Had heard all about this special place before visiting for Mum & Dads 50th wedding anniversary. Lived up to all the billing , super friendly welcome which continued throughout our short stay. Gourmet food served with a smile and a special treat on the day itself. No hesitation in recommending Greystones as an excellent place to escape from it all and throw in some amazing places to visit in the locale and you have a perfect combination.
Thanks Cameron & Magy.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blurredcrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My mum and dad didn't want any fuss for their 50th wedding anniversary, so booked to go away; to Greystones. This is somewhere they'd been before and raved about.
Not being able to let the event pass completely without incident I contacted Cameron to enlist his help: Brilliant.
He planted the gifts and cards I sent in their room and he and Magy gave them a lovely bouquet.
To top it all I went down to join them for the evening, was smuggled into the room without them knowing we were there and Cameron and Magy were perfect hosts for a lovely evening meal; the souffle was a triumph.
Abolutely fantastic; huge, huge thanks.

Room Tip: They only have three room, the two I saw are exceptional - orchard and fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatureChaletGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We stayed at Greystones for one night while we were in the area for a wedding. Cameron and Magy are brilliant hosts, making you feel at home in every way. They really went out of their way to make our stay perfect and even gave us a lift back to the wedding venue in the morning to pick up our car. The room we had was huge, with a separate living room too. Unfortunately we didn't have too much time to enjoy it as it was just a flying visit. The breakfast was fantastic, really tasty, would have liked to try the evening meal too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jigglyduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
5.3 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
444 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sebastians Hotel
Sebastians Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
126 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
177 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystones

Property: Greystones
Address: Crickheath, Oswestry SY10 8BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Greystones 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Greystones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystones Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing