We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot be beaten!”
Review of Greystones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Greystones
Ranked #4 of 12 Oswestry B&B and Inns
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cannot be beaten!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is my second visit and again Greystones is a superb place to stay. My bedroom suite was huge, with views over the extensive grounds and countryside, from the windows on three sides. Every facility and comfort that you could wish for was provided in the room.
The evening meal and breakfasts were unrivalled in my experience and everything so beautifully presented.
Cameron and Magy are extraordinary hosts and with their attention to detail, nothing is too much trouble and you are made to feel very welcome right away. They are always very happy to spend a few minutes to hear how your day has been, what your plans are and with their local knowledge, to offer advice and suggestions on places to visit and things to do.
This may sound like I am writing their brochure, but that is the way it is !
Once again, nothing less than 100%

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
91
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

From start to finish a case study in how it's done! I was greeted with tea and cake on arrival and space to get some work done (kept company by Zac, the gorgeous black lab). Room was spacious, clean and had everything I needed, including soya milk in the fridge (you don't get that in big chain hotels) and port on the sideboard! Bespoke 2 course meal included possibly the finest sea bass I have ever tasted, absolutely delicious. Comfortable nights sleep in beautiful, peaceful surroundings. Magy and Cam were perfect hosts and could not have made me feel more welcome and at home. Just sorry my visit wasn't longer!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greystones1, Owner at Greystones, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review and thank you for staying with us on your shorty visit to Oswestry. As it happens you are our 100th TripAdvisor review and we are delighted to say that all 100 of our reviews have been in the excellent category giving us a so far an unblemished 100% record.
Over the years we have been welcoming guests to Greystones we have tried very hard to do all we can to assist our guests to achieve the maximum from their leisure time whilst in the area and we constantly strive to find ways to improve what we do. From all of the reviews that have been written what seems to be highlighted frequently is that we love what we do and that this shows through.
Well thank you for spotting this because We do LOVE what we do.
To you and our 99 other guests who have been kind enough to write such complimentary reviews we thank you very much because without you as guests we would not have had the opportunity to enjoy the last seven years of providing a quality experience for you or to have met so many nice and interesting people.
We look forward to seeing you all again at Greystones

Thank you
Cameron & Magy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Booking at Greystones was last-minute, but we'll definitely be back. Everything was top notch, and Magy and Cam could not have been more helpful, especially with breakfast timings and tailoring the evening menu for my wife's vegetarian diet. Great food, lovely location, can't fault it whatsoever.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_W_Northampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greystones1, General Manager at Greystones, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind and complimentary review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us . We are very grateful that you have taken the time to write your review as your review is very important to us and hopefully demonstrates our ability to provide our guests with an enjoyable and relaxing stay.
We would love to see you again and look forward to welcoming you back to Greystones in the future
Cameron and Magy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Friends took us to stay for a night at Greystones - it was a wonderful surprise. The welcome was warm, the suite was lovely and we couldn't have expected more in a five star hotel; the dinner and wine choices were outstanding and, after a good night's sleep in the quiet of the countryside, the breakfast was delicious. We were really sorry to leave after just one night. Cameron and Magy and Zak are great hosts. The garden is really nice too but, sadly, the weather didn't allow us to sit out and enjoy it.

Do book a room if you are in the area, I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldfinch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greystones1, Owner at Greystones, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind and complimentary review and thank you very much for staying with us. Reviews are very important to us as guests who take the time to write a review show us that they have enjoyed their break with us and that we are providing the kind of relaxing experience that we work hard to achieve.
We hope to see you again sometime and look forward to welcoming you again to Greystones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanidloes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The nicest thing about Greystones...
apart from the genuine welcome from Zac, the charming, friendly and very well-behaved resident Labrador, and, of course, from Magy and Cameron, the similarly endowed hosts
apart from the sumptuous bedroom suites, with their top-of-the-range linen and modern, elegant and functioning bathrooms
apart from the imaginative and carefully bespoke menu for dinner
apart from the excellent night's sleep we have always had their, amidst the perfect peace of the border countryside
apart from the well-maintained garden which is visible from every window
apart from the irresistible breakfast, freshly cooked for you exactly as you want it
apart from the warmth and generosity at departure
IS
that Magy and Cameron really do make you feel that your stay with them is important and you are a valued guest.
We always come away feeling uplifted and refreshed, so thank you again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lloydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greystones1, Manager at Greystones, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you very much for your recent and very complimentary review and thank you very much for staying with us again. There can be no greater compliment in this business than to have guests returning and having the kind of experience that we hope to provide.
More than ever guests value their leisure time with the busy lives they lead and we think it is our job to assist as much as possible to provide our guests with a relaxing time in order that they leave refreshed with batteries recharged. It seems we have succeeded with your recent visit
We look forward to your next visit and Zak thanks you for saying how polite and well behaved he is
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had been planning to visit Greystones for nearly 3 years after a glowing recommendation from former guests. Why did we wait so long ! Greystones was everything we had been lead to believe and more. Cameron and Magy are a perfect team, giving us the warmest of welcomes making sure that our stay was as pleasant as possible and were very caring towards the needs of my husband who unfortunately wasn't well at the time.
Our room or suite overlooked the garden and was extremely generous in size with sofas, TV and the option of an open fire ( the room was warm enough without).There were excellent tea and coffee making facilities and mineral water on hand too. The ensuite bathroom had a lovely big bath, twin wash-hand basins and a large shower.There was a lovely cosy lounge for pre-dinner drinks and the dining room, which included a baby grand piano looked out to garden.The walls are adorned with photos and works of art which I got the impression were from their extensive travels or created by Magy. Great accommodation , thoughtfully put together.
The food was fantastic. Breakfast was an endless choice fresh fruit , cereal , porridge, pastries and the full english option - well I was on holiday so I took advantage of the situation :-)
Dinner is where Camerons passion for food is evident. We had 3 or 4 choices for each course and had difficulty choosing - I would have been happy with any of them - personal favourites were the Mulligatawny soup ( creamy with a kick!) and the duck breast , cooked just the way I like it. Food ws an all-round winner.
We will return to Greystones soon. I just wish we hadn't waited 3 years to discover this hidden gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soniabm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greystones1, Owner at Greystones, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and we hope by now your Husband is back to full health. We pride ourselves on providing a relaxing experience for our guests , after all guests come here to relax and hopefully to get away from the stress and pressure of everyday life. It seems that we have more or less got the formula correct but we are always looking for ways to improve the experience of our valued guests and will continue to do so. We really hope you come back and we look forward to welcoming you back to Greystones soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We have been staying here for a number of years - and if possible it gets better every time, Cameron and Magy are the best hosts you could wish to meet and customer satisfaction is at the heart of what they do. The rooms are luxurious with every attention to detail the location is idyllic and the breakfasts are the best in the UK. If you are looking to go out for dinner then don't as Cameron will cook what I can only describe as heaven on a plate. He is an excellent chef indeed and Magy provides front of house service with total ease. There is a lot to see and do in the area and for a local walk they even provide a personal guide in Zak their black lab who is equally as nice as his owners. If you are looking for luxury accommodation in a fantastic house surrounded by amazing countryside with great hosts and 5 star food - just do it!

Room Tip: They are all superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GallivanterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
5.3 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
1.9 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
449 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Oswestry
Travelodge Oswestry
#6 of 6 in Oswestry
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#5 of 6 in Oswestry
413 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sebastians Hotel
Sebastians Hotel
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
129 reviews
16.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Shrewsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greystones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greystones

Property: Greystones
Address: Crickheath, Oswestry SY10 8BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oswestry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Greystones 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greystones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greystones Oswestry, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing