We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable dining experience”
Review of Sebastians

Sebastians
Ranked #6 of 119 Restaurants in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dining experience”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Visited with friends as a group of five after having seen a good review in the Shropshire Life magazine. Service was highly efficient and unobtrusive. The dining was warm and full of character. Lighting was flattering for we ladies of a certain age. The food was excellent - really flavoursome and well executed. The side bread and butter were so delicious they are worth a mention. Only minor complaints are that pudding portions were too small and ladies toilet was poky. Well worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MmeBarbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    22
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We have been dining at Sebastians since they opened. It has been a delight to see the business grow, develop and keep abreast of if not ahead of trends. Mark and Michelle are consummate professionals, always pleasant always helpful. Mark's cooking continues to improve and his variety continues to extend. Congratulations to both we had a fantastic meal last week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CestmoiWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Father's Birthday”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Absolutely Beautiful. This is by far my favorite restaurant. Great food, excellent service, lovely setting, especially the courtyard, LOVE IT!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Lovely but pricey for what u get”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Really nice place but is pricey so more off a special occasion small amount off food I would say. Staff are really good and helpful.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pricey5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington
Level Contributor
244 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner at Sebastian's. After some tasty canapés and a dry sherry aperitif in a comfortable lounge away from the restaurant, we were shown to our table in a relatively small dining room. As an appetiser we had a delicious broad bean velouté and both of us had scallops with pork belly on a bed of parsnip puree and lobster sauce as starter course. This was served with tasty home-made bread. The next course was a blueberry sorbet. Our main course was a fillet of beef cooked to perfection on a bed of celeriac purée with a side plate of vegetables. My wife followed this with a cheese platter with a selection of chutneys. i chose a chocolate, sultana and walnut dessert that was delicious! Last but not least I had a coffee and petit fours. All dishes were artistically presented and the portion sizes just right. The atmosphere was warm and cosy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant has a set price per person with a variety of choices for starters, mains and desserts and changes the menu every month. Together with a delightful bottle of Shiraz the bill came to around £62 per head that was well worth it for such a delicious meal. What a super venue for a special occasion. We will certainly be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CriticP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sebastians also viewed

 
St Martins, Oswestry
Oswestry, Shropshire
 
Oswestry, Shropshire
 

Been to Sebastians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing