We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Park House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Came down for a funeral.
The staff were friendly and efficient, they also spoke excellent English.
I would not hesitate in staying again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephenJCressey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

We attended a friends birthday here recently and decided to stay over - no discount, even though quite a few booked rooms - as it was on until 1am. We had one of the function rooms, an additional room with private bar and large corridor where the hot buffet was served, there was a larger party on in the main function room.
The party was fab and all had a great time chatting, catching up, enjoying the singer and disco, those who managed to grab some food..enjoyed that too!
Sadly when we got to our room, we realised we were above the larger function room and after speaking to reception, were told it was on until 2am! It may be a good idea to mention this to people who are booking an overnight stay - it wasn't - or even allocating rooms away from late parties..? The music did finish around 2'ish, however there was much larking around easily until 3am, with one young lady having a very loud conversation on her mobile right outside our door..charming!
Our room was nice enough and the shower was fab, our early morning (booked) call didn't happen? We did make the breakfast in time and lovely it was too, though a little odd not being offered our own pot of tea or coffee, you have to summon the waiting staff each time.
It's a nice if quirky and oddly laid out hotel, the staff great, I would just question the pricing of rooms and definitely check what functions were on first..if you expect some, let alone a good nights sleep!!

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the function rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSLWolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

we were on a conference and stayed here for two nights
i dont mind a bit of olde worlds charm but this is just OLD
broken lift that sounds as if it is not going to make just one floor
two of us in one room but only one key per room ( which hotel doesnt have modern day plastic keys now , not old fashioned ones with a huge plastic stick on it)
room small and smelly - tiny bathroom
one of those hotels where each room is down a corridoor, up a flight of stairs, across a landing, down stairs then down another corridoor - hopeless if you are disabled or bad for walking
food dreadful - lunch and dinner in their "butlers" bar which was again dated and VERY pricey for quality
staff - young, inexperienced and spoke very poor english

wish we had been at the premiere inn !!!!!

Room Tip: ask for one near to reception so you dont need to walk miles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed here while visiting friends in Shifnal, very nice place. They looked after us, and will be staying here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dusty d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The hotel was beautiful, the actors for the Murder Mystery were brilliant, BUT, the food was not upto standard and the seating was extremely squashed, in fact, considering the acres of floor room they could have spaced people better, if you like having other peoples faces literally in your dinner then fine, OR if you want to eat like they do on an airline, great. I think Because this was an organised function i think the hotel cut corners with the food. Typical "rack em and stack em" attitude, certainly not what i would have expected from a hotel of this standard, considering the tickets were almost £30 ahead too. Beef was tough, not enough veg, poor quality pate with half a slice of toast (crusts removed), having to decide what you wanted to eat a month in advance (so they can prepare it at 1pm to serve at 8pm obviously). I think alot of places take advantage around christmas, thinking that people in mass parties won't complain about the slapdash food. Mmmm, they were wrong! One last complaint, i had to ask for Cream with my coffee, as we were served milk (a minor point, but i hate a high class hotel not doing things properly)!

Room Tip: We didnt stay in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Had an overnight stay at the Park House Hotel with a work party for a meeting and an evening meal. The reception staff were excellent on check-in, my room very pleasant indeed, and the phone call after I had been in the room for an hour to check all was OK was a nice touch. I had a couple of drinks in the main bar, then onto a private bar/dining area with my colleagues. The staff here were really outstanding, especially Adam who had to put up with us through dinner and a fairly late one at the bar!

It is a lovely place, tardis-like in terms of it's size and scale, and I would genuinely say that every member of staff was extremely courteous, professional and friendly - they really have got this right, and it made for a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveRRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Fantastic staff, professional approach to all details. Very reasonably priced for a delightful weekend. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shifnal
0.8 mi away
Haughton Hall
Haughton Hall
#1 of 4 in Shifnal
713 reviews
17.1 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.6 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
5.7 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
970 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 1 in Worfield
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park House Hotel

Address: Park Street, Shifnal TF11 9BA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Price Range: £75 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Park House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Shifnal
Park House Hotel Shropshire, UK - Shifnal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing