We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work in progress”
Review of Haughton Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haughton Hall
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Reviewed 12 April 2012

On arrival, the building looked lovely, shame about the non-sympathetic extention but overall quite good outside. The grounds were tidy and reasonably well kept. The fishing spots looked peaceful and pleasant and the golf course had potential. The pool and gym facilities are good. Did not have time to sample the spa experience but i feel most independent hotels miss a trick here; they need to promote and encourage prior booking to their guests.
The public rooms - bar, dining etc are pretty good; light, airy, clean and well decorated. The bedrooms are spacious and are full of period features however, they seem to be ready for moving onwards and upwards. We were offered room 23 to begin with which was huge and with some tweaking could be a beautiful suite (move a wall towards the bathroom and add bunks or sofabed). As it was, the previous inhabitant had suffered for overindulging and the smell had not been eliminated. On request, we were immediately moved to room 24, not so big but still spacious and had a much more welcoming, cosy feel. Comfy bed, great to have shutters to exclude the light and cold. Breakfast was fine, dinner was average - more pub dining than hotel and I really do hate having to pay surchanges for my veggies etc. Service was brilliant but then it was extremely quiet. Lots of places within walking distance, in Shifnall, to eat all kinds of cuisine. Going back to that ugly extention; this is the party room which I have to say had no noise impact on our room at all. It's one of those places where you think, this has so much potential but they aren't quite there yet. I'd like to think that a repeat visit in 12-18 months time will show things have moved on but only time will tell.

Room Tip: Beautiful views to the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeBrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

640 - 646 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Booked room 21 as a family room. Checked back in and checked straight back out. In fairness, recptionist was very gracious about it and did try to find an alternative room. When there were non available she was gracious and professsional about no charge on card and allowing us to simply leave. When you arrive the big front doors are shut. Maybe very "eco" but unwelcoming and makes it look very closed. Shown in general direction of room. Room was cold, very cold, and bathroom smeled foul. A serious drainage problem. Impression was that room had not been checked. Public areas looked ok from what I saw.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I've stayed here a few times. The rooms can be a bit dated but clean and there are extra blankets, tea making facilities and a heater. The leisure center is handy and has a pool.
The food can be hit and miss too and the breakfast menu could be expanded a bit with more hot food.
Staff are always friendly although it can take a minute or two to get served at the bar!

Room Tip: Avoid the room above the kitchen, can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Turasoirglic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

After seeing the very misleading modern view of this hotel on the internet, we were suprised to find that the hotel areas were very tired, the door to the hotel was shut (not very inviting) and then you needed to find the reception area!. We checked into our room which was at the far end of the hotel above the kitchen area with extraction fan, so a bit noisy and also the smell of cook breakfast in our bathrooom was not very good, the room was basic. Breakfast was split between two rooms and no one was on hand when we arrived, we were glared at by three waitresses before one of them decided to seat us and take our order for breakfast, there was a big queue at the buffet for hot breakfast and they had located a table right by, i felt very sorry for these people who had people standing over them. However we were very lucky to be seated by the window and breakfast was hot and tasty. We didnt use the leisure facilities but they look a bit old and the charge for a towel was unbelieve!, we have stayed at similar hotels and would not return to this one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deb r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

we brought a voucher through groupon. the entrance is lovely, very period. the history of the place is interesting. set on acres of land. spa is nice and small, have to book treatments in advance. staff could not be nicer, we had booked a twin room but they booked us into a double, there was no problem moving us to number 54 which was very big and cute at the same time. would go back again!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atashi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

So my experience at haughton hall today....i had a groupon voucher

when i arrived i booked in and was friendly but then we were told our room number and were left to find it ourselves we were at the furthest point from the main hotel and my room had ladybirds on the windows, was cold, the toilet didnt flush and the bathroom door wouldnt shut.

leading up to going there today i rang a few times asking about the spa treatments prices etc and even asked when i booked in when they are available till and they told me til 8.30pm. so i went up to my room and rang the spa to book the treatments only to be told the treatment lady was not here today as she was in bristol and that she was fully booked tomorrow. they failed to inform me of this even when we checked in and asked, i was not happy as this is why we went there for the spa treatments.
i went down and complained and they didnt seem to want to do anything just repeating themselves saying theyve got a pool and its open. (if i just wanted a swim i would just go my local leisure centre)
they then said that they wont refund me as im a groupon voucher and offered nothing else just simply repeating they have a swimming pool.
the games room is in bad condition it smells, cold and badly equipped.

Room Tip: classic room is not what they show on the website at all!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicmonkey270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I booked a double room with this hotel via 'booking.com' a present for my partner.
We arrived and the location was stunning to say the least.
We checked in to find our 'double' room was actually a family room (52) which I wasn't happy with.
We inspected the room only to find mould all around the flooring and exposed copper pipes. Our room was situated in a 'basement' type area that was dark and gloomy- definitely NOT was I was expecting to pay for.
I complained and asked to move rooms , the receptionist clearly stated that there was no other available rooms apart from one above the disco room, which she wouldn't reccomend as it was too noisy. But still offered it as an apology?!?!?
I asked to see the manager , this was not the room I chose & the building smelt everywhere of sweat.
After 20 mins of standing in reception we was told again by the receptionist that the manager was too busy so she could offer us 10% off our food later on that night. All the 'fafing' around I'd had enough and asked for a refund and went to the PARK SHIFTNAL where it was amazing! I highly reccomend it to anybody wanting a special night away.
This hotel should not advertise rooms when there are weddings and other functions present. They cannot attend guests! And rude receptionist too ... Never again!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kita1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shifnal
0.8 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
578 reviews
16.4 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
999 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
950 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haughton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haughton Hall

Address: Haughton Hall Haughton Lane, Shifnal TF11 8HG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shifnal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Shifnal
Price Range: £68 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haughton Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the quiet beauty of rural Shropshire, dating from 1718, Haughton Hall has been decorated with timeless style and situated in 35 acres of gardens, woodlands and boasts a lake. An ideal wedding venue location, our relaxing accommodation, spacious public rooms, intimate bar and elegant restaurant create an atmosphere of refined comfort second to none. Haughton Hall enjoys a well stocked coarse fishing pool, and an outdoor tennis court. These are just a few more of the facilities available to you. A weekend break at Haughton Hall offers you the perfect retreat break and the ideal location to immerse yourself in the tranquil and peaceful surroundings of beautiful Shropshire. When staying as our guest at Haughton Hall, you can also enjoy full use of our Leisure Facilities free of charge. Our leisure club has a delightful Swimming Pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam Room and Multi Gym. Open first thing in the morning it is perfect for a refreshing swim before you start your day or a great stress buster after a busy day. We look forward to welcoming you Nicola Mason - Hotel Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Haughton Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haughton Hall Shifnal
Haughton Hall Hotel Shifnal
Haughton Hall Shropshire, UK - Shifnal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing