We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Venue”
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Worfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We held our wedding at the Old Vicarage on 2 November 2013 and could not have asked for a more perfect venue for our special day. From the moment we arrived on the Friday evening the service from all members of staff was impeccable and the food delicious. Special accolade to Daniel the General Manager and Sarah the owner and her daughter who went above and beyond the ensure everything was perfect. We are already planning a reunion with a number of our special friends next year. Thank you again from Pete and Dawn Shaw

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnS1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed a night at the Old Vicarage as part of a family get together, a celebration. The hotel staff were very helpful. The room was exceptional and the food very good indeed - both dinner and breakfast. It has to be said we did send some food back as it was a bit on the spicy side for one our party. This was replaced quite quickly with an alternative meal.. I also like the imaginative menu. If I have any criticism to make it is that we coulod have done with some instructions on how to use the spa bath but hey, maybe people who have them should already know and it wasn't difficult to work it out. An exceptional hotel/restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ga5tro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

not all the details are perfect but it represents extremely good value in a pleasant and comfortable environment.the food in the restaurant is very good.sights in shropshire are in easy reach-we covered stokesay and attingham.beautiful ludlow only 30-40 mins away

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

we stayed here for a wedding , we were given our keys and made our way to drop of our case before the wedding party arrived ,when we went in our room it was pleasant but not worth the £105.00 what it cost us. there was cob webs on the ceiling the bathroom radiator which was located right infront of the toilet in my mind has not been cleaned for a long time it was minging the bath towels were of a good quality but were stained , we were told that our room if we were to book it for 1 day later it was between £50 / £70 just because of the wedding they upped the charges to £105 the younger staff were very pleasant but worked very hard as with the mature staff didn't look happy paraded around with long faces .over all opinion over priced outdated hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank covUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarageHotel, Manager at The Old Vicarage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I take all comments extremely seriously so the hotel can keep on improving. With regards to cleanliness of your room, nothing was bought to my attention or any other staff member during your stay. If the room wasn’t cleaned to the normal high standard, I apolo0gise for that, however it is a little difficult to rectify or investigate at this point. I can assure you that all bedrooms are cleaned daily, we have a head house keeper that has worked for the company for over 12 years and the cleanliness of the bedrooms are usually to a very high standard, if this was not the case during your stay, please accept my sincere apologies.

There seems to be a little confusion over the rates, let me explain. The Old Vicarage Hotel has several wedding packages, the package the bride and groom choose is the deciding factor on what the bedroom rate is. The bride & groom are also responsible for splitting the cost of the rooms, if they wish to charge more for larger rooms so the cost for the smaller rooms can be lowered, they have this option, the bride and groom decided against doing this and wanted to charge the same for all rooms, this was there choice not the hotels. It is also worth noting that the discounted rates you mentioned are excluding breakfast, the rate including breakfast would not be to dissimilar from what you paid.

All of our laundry is cleaned in house, we are in the process of checking all towels to find the ones you mentioned, thank you for bringing this to my attention, I am only sorry it was necessary to do so.

If you would like to discuss any of the points any further I am available at the hotel.

Daniel Richards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights mid August on a dinner,bed and breakfast deal - tremendously good value. We were the only diners on each evening - but although this was a bit weird the meal was lovely each time - beautifully presented and full of flavour. Breakfast was yummy. - try the scrambled eggs - best I have ever had and the smoked salmon was a chunky piece - delicious! The room was a bit tired - I didn't mind the old fashioned decor which was in keeping with the building - but I hated the frayed and ancient bath mat (which was clean) which needed to be thrown out, and the same goes for plastic flowers - what are they supposed to add? It's unusual to have a lovely big room but no king size bed - this and duvets would be a real improvement. And the room opened on to a private little garden - but there weren't any outside chairs provided. Little details which could really improve this lovely house and restaurant. Cannot fault the friendly staff though.

Room Tip: We liked the Allscott - big comfy room with a jacuzzi bath as well as shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had never visited Shropshire before and when our daughter wanted to visit a very good friend for the weekend we decided to give it a try. We found the Old Vicarage Hotel on the net and booked it because it was near to where our daughter would be staying and what a find. The Vicarage was quaint and friendly and we were made to feel instantly at home .The staff were lovely, our room was very comfy, as is the rest of the hotel and the whole place was spotlessly clean.It was near to Wightwick Manor (wow , amazing)and Kinver Edge (fantastic view over 3 counties another wow), National Trust places we had wanted to visit for some time and Ironbridge (lovely lunch at the Malthouse, near the bridge) lots of little shops and the fabulous 18thC iron bridge We also had a delicious roast dinner at the Dog in Worfield. We will return to the old vicarage there are so many more places we want to see.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the garden, its peaceful and lovely to sit in with a cool drink
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile


This hotel is perfect in every way.  My new wife and I celebrated our wedding at the Old Vicarage Hotel and it was perfect.  The bedrooms were clean and comfortable, the food was delicious and best of all, the accommodating helpful staff could not do enough for not just myself and my wife, but everyone of our guests.  Weddings are supposed to be memorable occasions and thanks to Daniel, Sarah and the whole team it was.  I would encourage any couples looking for a wedding venue to give the Old Vicarage a try, the staff make this hotel a truly wonderful place.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parkod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarageHotel, General Manager at The Old Vicarage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. It’s lovely to hear how much you enjoyed your special day and I have relayed your kind words to all staff members. Once again thank you for choosing our hotel. On behalf of everybody at the Old Vicarage Hotel I would like to wish you both all the best with married life and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Daniel Richards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worfield
7.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
999 reviews
7.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
578 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
11.9 mi away
Hadley Park House Hotel
Hadley Park House Hotel
#5 of 21 in Telford
575 reviews
7.6 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#2 of 21 in Wolverhampton
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Address: Hallon | Nr Bridgnorth, Worfield, Bridgnorth WV15 5JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Worfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Worfield
Price Range: £52 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Vicarage 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage is a located some 3 miles from Bridgnorth in the hamlet of Worfield, we have a lovelly Orangery restaurant overlooking some wonderful Shropshire countryside. The are many interesting things to do in the area, such as Ironbridge George, Severn Valley Railway, Numerous National Trust properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Vicarage Hotel And Restaurant
The Old Vicarage Worfield, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing