We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Worfield
Certificate of Excellence
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
493 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This small privately owned hotel, which had been recommended to us by a friend, is set in its own grounds with far reaching views across the Shropshire countryside. The reception room, with a small bar, is very homely and the Orangery which serves as the dining area a modern addition. There is also a small room of the Orangery which could serve as private dining. The outside terrace must come into its own during the warmer summer months.

There are 10 rooms in the main building and 4 in the Coach House - where we stayed. This is literally a hop, skip and a jump from the main house and umbrellas are provided to shield against the elements. Two of our party had the ground floor room which was very large and spacious with a separate living room. Our room directly above (no living room) was also very large with a huge jacuzzi bath - could almost swim in it!

We had tea and fruit cake on arrival in the lounge and also took pre dinner drinks here. The wine list, although compact, is very reasonably priced. The food was excellent - several game dishes which given the location in rural Shropshire is probably not surprising. Presentation and service was superb. We had a very long chat with the owner, both at dinner and over breakfast, and she is a total delight.

I can see why the hotel is so popular with weddings but would also make a good vanue for family celebrations and reunions.

Will certainly come back in the summer for a Sunday lunch and hopefully, at some stage, a further stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor room in coach house and room above were large, airy and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    44
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
42
70
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Faringdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Old Vicarage Hotel arriving around 4pm on a cold, miserable November afternoon. The hotel is set in a beautiful part of the world and we were excited about our stay. Unfortunately, the room was very cold and we had to ask if the heating had been put on. Apparently, it had but needed a 'boost'. We popped out for an hour or so and when we returned the room was still cold and as the room was large, it just didn't heat up. I had difficulty sleeping that night due to the coldness of the room. Although there was an ensuite in the room, the shower was pretty ineffectual and outdated with no real power. If you're staying there also check out if your rate includes breakfast - it's quite a bit on top for full English if it's not included. I'm disappointed that despite paying the going rate for a double room, the heating had not been put on early enough to warm the place up - cutting back on things like this is a no, no because staying in a cold room is not fun and it's a shame because it ruined what could have been a lovely visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has adequate heating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanlou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We held our wedding at the Old Vicarage on 2 November 2013 and could not have asked for a more perfect venue for our special day. From the moment we arrived on the Friday evening the service from all members of staff was impeccable and the food delicious. Special accolade to Daniel the General Manager and Sarah the owner and her daughter who went above and beyond the ensure everything was perfect. We are already planning a reunion with a number of our special friends next year. Thank you again from Pete and Dawn Shaw

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnS1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed a night at the Old Vicarage as part of a family get together, a celebration. The hotel staff were very helpful. The room was exceptional and the food very good indeed - both dinner and breakfast. It has to be said we did send some food back as it was a bit on the spicy side for one our party. This was replaced quite quickly with an alternative meal.. I also like the imaginative menu. If I have any criticism to make it is that we coulod have done with some instructions on how to use the spa bath but hey, maybe people who have them should already know and it wasn't difficult to work it out. An exceptional hotel/restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ga5tro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

not all the details are perfect but it represents extremely good value in a pleasant and comfortable environment.the food in the restaurant is very good.sights in shropshire are in easy reach-we covered stokesay and attingham.beautiful ludlow only 30-40 mins away

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

we stayed here for a wedding , we were given our keys and made our way to drop of our case before the wedding party arrived ,when we went in our room it was pleasant but not worth the £105.00 what it cost us. there was cob webs on the ceiling the bathroom radiator which was located right infront of the toilet in my mind has not been cleaned for a long time it was minging the bath towels were of a good quality but were stained , we were told that our room if we were to book it for 1 day later it was between £50 / £70 just because of the wedding they upped the charges to £105 the younger staff were very pleasant but worked very hard as with the mature staff didn't look happy paraded around with long faces .over all opinion over priced outdated hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank covUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldVicarageHotel, Manager at The Old Vicarage, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I take all comments extremely seriously so the hotel can keep on improving. With regards to cleanliness of your room, nothing was bought to my attention or any other staff member during your stay. If the room wasn’t cleaned to the normal high standard, I apolo0gise for that, however it is a little difficult to rectify or investigate at this point. I can assure you that all bedrooms are cleaned daily, we have a head house keeper that has worked for the company for over 12 years and the cleanliness of the bedrooms are usually to a very high standard, if this was not the case during your stay, please accept my sincere apologies.

There seems to be a little confusion over the rates, let me explain. The Old Vicarage Hotel has several wedding packages, the package the bride and groom choose is the deciding factor on what the bedroom rate is. The bride & groom are also responsible for splitting the cost of the rooms, if they wish to charge more for larger rooms so the cost for the smaller rooms can be lowered, they have this option, the bride and groom decided against doing this and wanted to charge the same for all rooms, this was there choice not the hotels. It is also worth noting that the discounted rates you mentioned are excluding breakfast, the rate including breakfast would not be to dissimilar from what you paid.

All of our laundry is cleaned in house, we are in the process of checking all towels to find the ones you mentioned, thank you for bringing this to my attention, I am only sorry it was necessary to do so.

If you would like to discuss any of the points any further I am available at the hotel.

Daniel Richards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights mid August on a dinner,bed and breakfast deal - tremendously good value. We were the only diners on each evening - but although this was a bit weird the meal was lovely each time - beautifully presented and full of flavour. Breakfast was yummy. - try the scrambled eggs - best I have ever had and the smoked salmon was a chunky piece - delicious! The room was a bit tired - I didn't mind the old fashioned decor which was in keeping with the building - but I hated the frayed and ancient bath mat (which was clean) which needed to be thrown out, and the same goes for plastic flowers - what are they supposed to add? It's unusual to have a lovely big room but no king size bed - this and duvets would be a real improvement. And the room opened on to a private little garden - but there weren't any outside chairs provided. Little details which could really improve this lovely house and restaurant. Cannot fault the friendly staff though.

Room Tip: We liked the Allscott - big comfy room with a jacuzzi bath as well as shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worfield
7.5 mi away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
3.6 mi away
Patshull Park Hotel Golf & Country Club
6.9 mi away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 4 in Shifnal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Croft Bridgnorth
The Croft Bridgnorth
#1 of 30 in Bridgnorth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wood Cottage
Wood Cottage
#1 of 3 in Morville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: Hallon | Nr Bridgnorth, Worfield, Bridgnorth WV15 5JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bridgnorth > Worfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Worfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Vicarage 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Vicarage is a located some 3 miles from Bridgnorth in the hamlet of Worfield, we have a lovelly Orangery restaurant overlooking some wonderful Shropshire countryside. The are many interesting things to do in the area, such as Ironbridge George, Severn Valley Railway, Numerous National Trust properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Vicarage Hotel And Restaurant
The Old Vicarage Worfield, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing