We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolffanog Fawr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolffanog Fawr
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talyllyn
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Difficult to express how fantastic this place is! Alex and Lorraine are so welcoming and their feeling that all guests should share a large table for meals is a real inspiration. We met some very interesting people and had some very interesting and enlightening conversations over breakfast. We had other plans for our evenings so did not partake of the evening meals but these looked fabulous.
The hot tub is another real luxury, especially after a rather damp walk up into the hills - just what the doctor ordered.

Definitely a place we would return to and will be recommending to everyone that we know!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judiefford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
112
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

After a long internet trawl I found this beautiful retreat. The trip advisor reviews were spot on . We stayed for 2nights and opted for the evening meal. Our room was exceptionally comfortable and we had 2great nights sleep. The evening meal was a delight, professionally cooked and served. Alex and Lorraine provided a welcoming atmosphere and we were made to feel truly at home.
The Cader Idris climb is a must, especially when you have a good meal and a nice glass of wine waiting for you.

Room Tip: View from the back of the house stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The sign says "rather nice accomodation", this does not get close. Alex and Lorraine have a real oasis, running a stylish yet homely retreat at the foot of "the chair of idris". Wonderfully comfortable, the breakfast and evening meal were quite delicious and Alex's wine list was quite a find! With Alex's advice we took a off the beaten track route over Cadair Idris taking in the ridge to include Mynydd Moel and Pen y Gadair, when we arrived back we took adavantage of the "hot tub" to ease our aching legs, Lorraine supplying the robes and Alex providing the G & T. This was a birthday treat and one I will rememebr for a long time. Certainly we will be going back again to enjoy more of the same.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodebiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2012

I'm so glad we found this little gem in North Wales. I admit I wasn't sure as (being the cheap skate that I am) I was sure we could find a cheaper place. However I must say that for the welcome and hospitality we received and the comfort of the rooms (and home in general) I didn't have any problem: worth every penny and I'd go back again in a heartbeat!

The b&b is set in a breathtaking valley which looked stunning when the clouds cleared! Alex and Lorraine were even kind enough to let us use their garage to dry out quite a sodden tent and walking clothes/boots. We were made to feel more like visiting relatives than strangers.

The food. Where to start with the food. Again I thought the food was a touch pricey given I wouldn't expect anything too fancy from a b&b, but how wrong I was! The food was absolutely delicious and the 3 courses seemed almost custom served so that everyone was not over faced but left the table satisfied. An amazing feat given we were never asked of our appetite on the day! The communal dining may not be to everyone's taste but I'm confident Alex and Lorraine would accommodate if you felt uncomfortable, though we found variety of company and discussion very interesting!

Thanks again to Alex, Lorraine and of course their son Morgan!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patient-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was our first experience of a B&B and we were not dissapointed, Alex and Lorraine have done a fantastic job from everything from the decor to the food (and the food is AMAZING!!!!!!!), as well as being the perfect hosts.

Take your walking boots and take in the local area, Dolffanog Fawr is a perfect place to unwind and forget about "back home".

Just make sure you fully read the confirmation letter and especially the part where they are located. Otherwise you will have to be towed out of a ditch like yours truly, Alex, again thank you ever so much for saving us.

We will be back next time we pass through!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

A fantastic place to stay in this part of Wales. We have stayed at Dolffanog Fawr on numerous occasions and always get a warm welcome from Alex and Lorraine. The breakfast and evening meal is excellent along with the stylish accommodation. The views from the house are breathtaking, Tal-y-llyn and Cadair iris both can be walked to from the front door or admired from the hot tub.

A great place to have a relaxing break

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wilderness_963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This was our 1st anniversary trip and we booked here on the strength of the other reviews. All the reviews on here are accurate! This place really is worthy of the 5stars. The hosts, Alex and Lorraine couldn't be any more accomodating, even offering to give us a lift to the local pub! Lorraine is an outstanding chef and think our only negative was she only does a dinner Tue-Sat! We stayed in the Wnion room: peacefull, relaxing and far better than some supposed 5 star hotels. During our stay we met a couple that were on the their 8th consecutive return and I can see why! We can't rate this place highly enough.

Room Tip: We only stayed in the Wnion but it's an annex above the garage with its own front and back door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haizum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
0.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
685 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolffanog Fawr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolffanog Fawr

Property: Dolffanog Fawr
Address: Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dolffanog Fawr 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the stunning Tal-y-llyn valley - one of the most beautiful spots in Wales. With the slopes of Cader Idris virtually rising from the back garden to the north and the less explored Tarren hills to the south, the house also enjoys excellent views across sheep pasture to Tal-y-llyn lake. We welcome you to our warm and comfortable home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dolffanog Fawr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolffanog Fawr Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing