We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ynys-hir trip June 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolffanog Fawr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolffanog Fawr
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talyllyn
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ynys-hir trip June 2013”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed with Lorraine & Alex for only one night and wished we had time to extend our trip.
We were made to feel extremely welcome by the hosts and the other guests who had been coming back for years. We can thoroughly recommend Dolffanog Fawr! A super quality accommodation with great people. The big dining table for all is a winner! Lorraine cooked the best local Lamb we have ever had and the breakfast is not to be missed. Cannot wait to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinomo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
112
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fleet
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We've stayed in 4* & 5* hotels but other than Le Manoir none measured up to this B & B, perfect. It might seem pricey for a B & B (to some?) but you are getting a 5* experience that makes for exceptional value.The owners Alex and Lorraine made us very welcome after a 5+ hour drive. Linen napkins sum up the standards of this little jewel situated at the foot of Cadair Idris. The whole house is spotless, the bed and pillows exceptionally comfortable. We didn't have a bath in our room but the shower more than made up for it. The hot tub was a blessing after a 5.5 hour hike up the mountain. As for the food we are very fussy and it takes a lot to impress us, Lorraine is a very skilled and talented chef. The breakfast was outstanding, everything from a fresh fruit salad to a 'fatboy' breakfast. Alex is very knowledgeable about the local area and gave us really good advice. We can't wait to return, 3 nights wasn't enough as there's so much to do in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outofreachFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have just got back from a three night stay with the dogs. Alex and Lorraine were great hosts, the hotel was fantastic, the breakfast was excellent, the scenery was breathtaking and the weather was glorious. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardanddanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We last stayed at dolffanog fawr about twenty years ago, the owners had changed but the farmhouse and the area remained timeless.
Dolffanog fawr was perfectly placed for exploring the area or just chilling out in the back garden. Everything was just picture perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huwman307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed here alone in May. The B and B has a few rooms which are well decorated, comfortable and with good beds and bathrooms. One room has a bath No 2 which I had as I requested this. Other rooms just have showers. The room was quite spacious. It is still cold in MAY in the UK at the moment so I was pleased to find the room warm on arrival and the CH also programmed to come on each morning and afternoon. The Room has tea and coffee facilties and a good TV. No mobile signal in area but wifi is ok and free. The breakfast is freshly cooked and very good in all aspects. Evening meals are also on offer and good value at £25 per head for 3 courses. Meals are eaten aound a shared table and for some this might be a problem and perhaps the B and B would think about having separate tables ??? Alex and Alistair are helpful and knowledgeable about the area and the weather !!! There is a great hot tub in the garden which you can sit in an admire the welsh hills and scenery. This small b and b offers excellent value for money which is why I have graded it excellent.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a the front of the house the others at the back and overlook the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at Dolffanog Fawr for a walking weekend and thought the B&b was a great base to explore Wales from. The rooms are very comfortable, the food is excellent and the hosts very friendly. Most of the other guests were returning for another stay which speaks for itself. As an added bonus Alex (the owner) has a great wine selection, overall a great weekend and we will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed for just 2 nights, wish we had stayed longer now. It just doesnt get any better than this and being able to take out little dog with us to such a nice place is a bonus. Cooking, wine, hospitality, rooms, everything was excellent, even the weather the day we climbed Cadair Idris! I would love to recommend this wonderful place to you but then if \i did you would all go there and I might not be able to get a room when I want!! Its superb and you must go and sample the delights of Dolffanog Fawr.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsmi210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
0.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
685 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolffanog Fawr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolffanog Fawr

Property: Dolffanog Fawr
Address: Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dolffanog Fawr 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the stunning Tal-y-llyn valley - one of the most beautiful spots in Wales. With the slopes of Cader Idris virtually rising from the back garden to the north and the less explored Tarren hills to the south, the house also enjoys excellent views across sheep pasture to Tal-y-llyn lake. We welcome you to our warm and comfortable home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dolffanog Fawr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolffanog Fawr Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing