We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant”
Review of Dolffanog Fawr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolffanog Fawr
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talyllyn
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This a beautiful place to stay in a stunning area of the country. Our dog really enjoyed the welcome too. Thank you for the warm welcome and the delicious food. The hot tub and the view were a highlight

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Saida123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
121
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable stay at Dolfanog Fawr a few weeks ago.Great B&B in a lovely location: large, comfortable bedroom; tasty, home cooked evening meal and breakfast. Will be returning and would definitely recommend.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Njoytravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Loved this B&b you wont get any better than this.
Well presented grounds/gardens. Rooms are stunning,modern and tastefully decorated. Spotlessly clean...throughout. Breakfast well presented and cooked to perfection.
Stunning views through bedroom window. Ideal if you want to get away from the rat race...stayed two nights,this place really is stunning..great hosts and a very friendly pet dog..Took our jack russel who loved running around the rear garden. Our dog was greeted just as good as us which was nice...Dogs are not allowed in the Dining room which is fair enough..and not a problem.
Would we recommend staying here yes...We have stayed in various 4/5 hotels in the past which havent come close too this great place too stay...
extensive wine list etc .. This place really is as it says on the ticket 5 star.
Thanks Alex/lorraine/oggi...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ktpie81
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just got back from 6 nights at Dolfannog Fawr & had a fabulous time. The B&B is in a beautiful location nestled under the Cadair Idris mountain and with the garden looking onto a pretty lake. There is so much to do around the area if you like the outdoors - we did 1-2 hikes a day including 2 mountain climbs and they were really varied and beautiful. It's such a lovely area and very quiet despite the glorious weather.

The B&B itself is lovely and the rooms very comfortable. We had dinner there whenever we could (Lorraine & Alex have a well deserved night off on Sun and Mon) & the food was wonderful. Really inventive meals & had no trouble catering for vegetarian (& pregnancy) diet. Alex & Lorraine make you feel very welcome and have loads of useful advice about the local area. Will definitely be coming back to this gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktpie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Having just arrived back from Dolffanog Fawr I can honestly say it was the best B & B
We have stayed in.Lorraine and Alex were the perfect hosts in regard to the meals they are spot on,very friendly .would not hesitate to go again

Room Tip: Room 2 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This is the first b&b that I have ever staid in and it was the best experience I have had in a long time. Breakfast was great and we took our black Labrador with us and she was made to feel just as welcome as us. on arrival there were dog biscuit and a towel waiting for here in the room. The wine list that they have would put any restaurant to shame.well recommend staying here and the area is amazing

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam2w0upt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed with Lorraine & Alex for only one night and wished we had time to extend our trip.
We were made to feel extremely welcome by the hosts and the other guests who had been coming back for years. We can thoroughly recommend Dolffanog Fawr! A super quality accommodation with great people. The big dining table for all is a winner! Lorraine cooked the best local Lamb we have ever had and the breakfast is not to be missed. Cannot wait to return soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sinomo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
0.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
708 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tir y Coed Country House
0.0 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolffanog Fawr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolffanog Fawr

Property: Dolffanog Fawr
Address: Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dolffanog Fawr 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the stunning Tal-y-llyn valley - one of the most beautiful spots in Wales. With the slopes of Cader Idris virtually rising from the back garden to the north and the less explored Tarren hills to the south, the house also enjoys excellent views across sheep pasture to Tal-y-llyn lake. We welcome you to our warm and comfortable home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dolffanog Fawr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolffanog Fawr Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing