We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolffanog Fawr
Nearby Hotels
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Plas Dolguog Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lion Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wynnstay Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Min-y-mor Hotel(Barmouth)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbour Hotel(Barmouth)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
161
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
161
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge tableperfect hostshot tubother guestsmountain bikinggreat bedroomlinen towelsguest housefantastic cookbank holiday weekenda stones throwgreat wine liston numerous occasionsbooked nightscooked foodlocal pubbeautiful location
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a lovely chilled out few days at Dolffanog Fawr just after Easter this year. We were pleased to find a place to stay that was not only comfortable, but also truly dog-friendly (unlike some other places claiming to be so).

The location of the house is on a small, winding country road (beware poor phone signal!) and is not only close to the coast and beaches such as that at Twywn, but also only 5 minutes away from the impressive Cadair Idris - a tempting feat for hill walkers, which sadly we didn't get the opportunity to attempt ourselves due to poor weather.

On arrival we were pleased to find a room that was spacious enough to suit us and our dogs, with a lovely little addition of a dog towel and some biscuits to welcome canine visitors. Our dogs loved their stay as much as we did, romping around in the large garden to the rear of the house and making friends with the family dog, a flat-coated retriever called Oggie, who was very friendly to both dogs and people, without imposing himself on non dog-lovers.

We didn't have an evening meal with Alex and Lorraine until the last night of our stay, due to us staying over the bank holiday when they don't cook, but when we did it was a very enjoyable three-course meal, courtesy of Lorraine's culinary skills. The offering is a set menu, with one option only for each course, but this wasn't an issue for us (you can also let them know if you have any special dietary requirements). If you're a wine buff, Alex and Lorraine also offer a good range of quality wines to accompany your meal, of which we took advantage.

Overall, a very relaxing stay - all we were lacking was a bit of good weather to make it even better.

Room Tip: the Wnion room was lovely and spacious, overlooking the back of the house with great views of the surrounding countryside and mountains. The bathroom is shower only (no bath). Water pressure is not great but not bad enough to cause major problems.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindumlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Dolfannog Fawr and can not recommend this hotel highly enough. It is set in a stunning location at the foot of Cadair Idris and Alex and Lorraine were fantastic hosts that could not do enough for us. The room was immaculate, with excellent views and the breakfast was delicious. The location of the hotel is within easy reach of Mt. Snowdon and some lovely villages for evening meals. Our only regret is that we did not get to sample an evening meal at Dolfannog Fawr as our stay fell on the wrong days! We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 163AndrewP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over the Easter break. We had been here 8 years ago, enjoyed our visit then and it was long overdue for a return.

Dolffanog Fawr is an extremely relaxing and comfortable guest house is a super position at the foot of Cadair Idris. On arrival we were shown to our room Mawddach, this is a lovely room at the front of the house and has the benefit of having a bath, great for a soak after walking on the hills all day. Lorraine meanwhile made us a fresh cup of tea which was served in the lounge.

Alex and Lorraine are lovely hosts and they are accompanied by their young son Morgan and Oggie the flat coated retriever.

Downstairs is a comfortable lounge with fire where you relax with coffee and mints after the meal. The meals are served at a communal table in the dining room.. The food is excellent and non meat eaters are well catered for. It is very pleasant to chat to your fellow guests whilst enjoying your evening meal. In fact it is great to see that all the guests staying on Saturday evening have posted to Tripadvisor.

There are seats in the garden where you can sit and have a beer and take in the view, or the more energetic may want to play with Oggie .

This is a super guesthouse, great rooms, super food, good company and an excellent location. Do not think we will leave it 8 years befor we return again.

Room Tip: If you want a bath choose Mawddach.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I've just returned from a third visit and having neglected to write a review previously thought it about time. From the moment you arrive to a warm welcome, it couldn't be more perfect. Alex and Lorraine are wonderful hosts and Lorraine's cooking is just sublime. Have stayed in two different rooms now and the views are stunning. Tastefully decorated throughout and spotlessly clean. It's nice also to sit around the table at both dinner and breakfast and meet the other guests, it's interesting to hear all their stories and see the different characters. Perfectly situated for all walking and other pursuits whilst at the same time being in an idyllic secluded location. I will certainly return many more times so not sure why I'm writing such a good review if it means I can't get in! Truly a great place.

Room Tip: All excellent
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from two night stay at Dolffanog Fawr, Lorraine, Alex and Oggie the dog were so welcoming and couldn't do enough for us! We took our Spaniel Jack and we were all very comfy in our room which had stunning views of Cadair Idris and open fields full of Spring lambs.
The food is second to none, beautifully cooked and local!
So many lovely walks near by and a quick drive to the beach. Can highly recommend this B&B and we cannot wait to return!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews