We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Back again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolffanog Fawr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolffanog Fawr
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talyllyn
Certificate of Excellence
Witney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

we have been back for our second visit. well worth it again. as before the food and drink was great. Alex and Lorraine again excelled themselves This time the weather was more favourable and we got some great walking in. There is plenty of variety in the area from high peaks to flat walks along the estuary just outside Dolgellau; the nearby forests offer a huge variety of way marked walks and cycle tracks. We particularly recommend the Source to the Severn in the Hafren Forest and the Volcano Walk at Coed Y Brenin. both about a 30 minute drive away. there are plenty of guides and maps in guest sitting room. Our dog Roly was welcomed again and devoured the biscuits in the room on arrival. The Wnion room was very comfortable and the bed ultra so; the shower room had also been refurbished since last year. also this time we got to use the spa bath in the garden. great view of Cader Idris in the bright sunshine and I particularly recommend a cider to refresh whilst amongst the bubbles. {Though this may well bring on sleep rather swiftly]
all in all a great trip and we will be back again.

Room Tip: the Wnion room has a dual aspect with views onto Cader Idris and the hills at the front of the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
112
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penymynydd
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at Dolffanog Fawr in late May 2014. What a wonderful place it is! Alex and Lorraine are the perfect hosts. They welcomed us warmly and gave great advice on walks and places to visit. The food was terrific (Thanks again, Lorraine!) both at breakfast and at dinner. The room we were in (Dysinni) was comfortable and couldn't be faulted. There were great views from both the room and the hot tub in the garden. We'd thoroughly recommend this place and really hope to visit again in future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

What a lovely place! We had an enormous bed with soft luxurious bedding in a large room (Winion) with amazing views. The decor, crockery, pictures and artifacts were all well chosen, often supporting local business. The food was home cooked and high quality and all guests are encouraged to eat together at one large table. There are some classic walks possible straight out the back door including Cadair Idris (OS maps provided). There is also a hot, hot tub for massaging aching legs afterwards. Alex and Lorraine are excellent hosts so we highly recommend this place. Oh and dogs are welcome too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnykin59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a lovely chilled out few days at Dolffanog Fawr just after Easter this year. We were pleased to find a place to stay that was not only comfortable, but also truly dog-friendly (unlike some other places claiming to be so).

The location of the house is on a small, winding country road (beware poor phone signal!) and is not only close to the coast and beaches such as that at Twywn, but also only 5 minutes away from the impressive Cadair Idris - a tempting feat for hill walkers, which sadly we didn't get the opportunity to attempt ourselves due to poor weather.

On arrival we were pleased to find a room that was spacious enough to suit us and our dogs, with a lovely little addition of a dog towel and some biscuits to welcome canine visitors. Our dogs loved their stay as much as we did, romping around in the large garden to the rear of the house and making friends with the family dog, a flat-coated retriever called Oggie, who was very friendly to both dogs and people, without imposing himself on non dog-lovers.

We didn't have an evening meal with Alex and Lorraine until the last night of our stay, due to us staying over the bank holiday when they don't cook, but when we did it was a very enjoyable three-course meal, courtesy of Lorraine's culinary skills. The offering is a set menu, with one option only for each course, but this wasn't an issue for us (you can also let them know if you have any special dietary requirements). If you're a wine buff, Alex and Lorraine also offer a good range of quality wines to accompany your meal, of which we took advantage.

Overall, a very relaxing stay - all we were lacking was a bit of good weather to make it even better.

Room Tip: the Wnion room was lovely and spacious, overlooking the back of the house with great views of the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindumlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at Dolfannog Fawr and can not recommend this hotel highly enough. It is set in a stunning location at the foot of Cadair Idris and Alex and Lorraine were fantastic hosts that could not do enough for us. The room was immaculate, with excellent views and the breakfast was delicious. The location of the hotel is within easy reach of Mt. Snowdon and some lovely villages for evening meals. Our only regret is that we did not get to sample an evening meal at Dolfannog Fawr as our stay fell on the wrong days! We will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 163AndrewP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
216 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights over the Easter break. We had been here 8 years ago, enjoyed our visit then and it was long overdue for a return.

Dolffanog Fawr is an extremely relaxing and comfortable guest house is a super position at the foot of Cadair Idris. On arrival we were shown to our room Mawddach, this is a lovely room at the front of the house and has the benefit of having a bath, great for a soak after walking on the hills all day. Lorraine meanwhile made us a fresh cup of tea which was served in the lounge.

Alex and Lorraine are lovely hosts and they are accompanied by their young son Morgan and Oggie the flat coated retriever.

Downstairs is a comfortable lounge with fire where you relax with coffee and mints after the meal. The meals are served at a communal table in the dining room.. The food is excellent and non meat eaters are well catered for. It is very pleasant to chat to your fellow guests whilst enjoying your evening meal. In fact it is great to see that all the guests staying on Saturday evening have posted to Tripadvisor.

There are seats in the garden where you can sit and have a beer and take in the view, or the more energetic may want to play with Oggie .

This is a super guesthouse, great rooms, super food, good company and an excellent location. Do not think we will leave it 8 years befor we return again.

Room Tip: If you want a bath choose Mawddach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I've just returned from a third visit and having neglected to write a review previously thought it about time. From the moment you arrive to a warm welcome, it couldn't be more perfect. Alex and Lorraine are wonderful hosts and Lorraine's cooking is just sublime. Have stayed in two different rooms now and the views are stunning. Tastefully decorated throughout and spotlessly clean. It's nice also to sit around the table at both dinner and breakfast and meet the other guests, it's interesting to hear all their stories and see the different characters. Perfectly situated for all walking and other pursuits whilst at the same time being in an idyllic secluded location. I will certainly return many more times so not sure why I'm writing such a good review if it means I can't get in! Truly a great place.

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
0.0 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen
Craig-y-Dderwen
#4 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolffanog Fawr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolffanog Fawr

Property: Dolffanog Fawr
Address: Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dolffanog Fawr 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the stunning Tal-y-llyn valley - one of the most beautiful spots in Wales. With the slopes of Cader Idris virtually rising from the back garden to the north and the less explored Tarren hills to the south, the house also enjoys excellent views across sheep pasture to Tal-y-llyn lake. We welcome you to our warm and comfortable home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dolffanog Fawr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolffanog Fawr Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing