We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dolffanog Fawr
Nearby Hotels
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
US$258
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wynnstay Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
US$175
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bae Abermaw(Barmouth)
US$133
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Min-y-mor Hotel(Barmouth)
US$137
US$132
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$148
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
158
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge tableperfect hostshot tubother guestsb bmountain bikinggreat bedroomlinen towelsguest housefantastic cookbank holiday weekenda stones throwgreat wine liston numerous occasionsbooked nightscooked foodlocal pub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2009

My partner and i have just returned from Dolffanog Fawr, staying for 4 nights. This was our second visit and are looking forward to our third. We stayed in the 'Wnion' room which was so very spacious with super-king size bed and sofa, and also having its own entrance. The room has outstanding views of the Cadair Idris mountains and Tal-y-Llyn Lake, we didnt have the tv on at all, we just kept looking out at the beautiful scenery. We previously stayed in the Dysini room, which again has the same wonderful views and we were fighting over the window seat! The rooms are spottlessly clean and very cosy and have everything you would need. The breakfast is very delicious and cooked to order for your specific requirements. The 3 course evening meals are of outstanding quality. The location is perfect for walking or climbing the mountains, castle hunting or simply just for the stunning coastal spots. Alex and Lorraine are excellent hosts and it felt like staying with friends. We fuly recommend staying at DolffanogFawr, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandyCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

We had a lovely 4 nights stay at this fab B&B in South Snowdonia. It's in a fantastic location, with good views down the Tal-y-llyn valley and towards Cadair Idris. Alex and Lorraine made us (and our dog) feel very welcome.

As previous review said, food was a set menu each night and Lorraine was able to cater to our needs. Food was vey good - white chocolate parfait being the highlight (as well as yummy cooked breakfasts). All guests (up to 8) sit at one large table for dinner and breakfast which worked fine for us, but may not be to everyone's liking. If you fancy a bit of a change one night ask Alex about the pub in Corris, good pub grub and beer.

Make sure you take advantage of the hot tub - even if its raining get in and enjoy the view!

All in all a lovely stay and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cwtchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2008

This is a great small guest house in a beautiful location. It has a stunning location, overlooking a lake in a beautiful valley. It is an 18th century farmhouse that has been recently refurbished. All the rooms are furnished with traditional welsh furniture, are spacious and have good en suite facilities. They seem to have a large number of return visitors.

It is used a lot by hill walkers and the hosts Alex and Loraine are extremely helpful. Alex also has an interest in wine and there is a good stock of in house wines. Over the winter they are able to run wine tasting weekends. Other residents have told me they are excellent, though I am not a wine drinker myself.

The local fishing is very good. I stay for the Sea Trout or Sewin fishing. The accommodation has 2 permits for the Dolgellau Angling Association Waters for the use of residents, which saves you £52 for a weeks fishing. Alex is also a keen fisherman and is useful for advise. he will do guide as well. I want to take him up on the fly fishing in the sea for Bass and Black Bream at some point.

It is Alex and Loraine that make this place exceptional. Alex is a fantastic host and Loraine a fantastic cook. During high season they only take half board bookings.

The only down sides are the tight times for meals. Breakfast is 8.30-9am and dinner is 7.30-8pm. Dinner is a single set menu, made from local produce. That wasn't a problem for me. If you had any dislikes, you just let them know in advance and they avoided them.

I have stayed in other accommodation in the area and was not overly impressed. They were all right, but this is the only one that I have found that is outstanding. It is a bit more expensive, than others in the area, but worth it. The fact that it caused me to join trip advisor and write my first review, I think speaks for itself.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Flycastingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews