We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit here - and still just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2011

John and Ricky are most welcoming and very attentive to guests' needs.
We can thoroughly recommend Ricky's four-course dinner, which is varied, imaginative and cooked to perfection. And, only the greedy would want a lunch after enjoying breakfast in the orangery - what a lovely place to eat.
Make sure John shows you the videos of Talyllyn through the seasons and the aerial views he shot from the helicopter. It gives you a snapshot of the stunningly beautiful area.
We are planning to return in September but, this time, to stay for longer than two nights to make the most of what The Old Rectory and Talyllyn has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raincheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your third visit to The Old Rectory on the lake as much as the other two. We shot the Talyllyn video over 18 months and hope it gives a good idea of what the lake is like throughout the seasons. The helicopter is due back again soon for some more aerial photography so we look forward to showing you that when you return in September.
Ricky - chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

866 - 872 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2011

An excellent place to stay.Really friendly and helpful with excellent service and the best food one could wish for. A place to stay and just relax. No taffic noise ,just birdsong!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwenda_appleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2011

We are pleased that you found your stay so relaxing. You are indeed right, there are many birds about - most here because of the lake. During the last four years local volunteers from the British Trust for Ornithology have been counting wildfowl, waders and gulls on most months from five fixed locations on the far shore. They record that there are about ten different species with over 50 birds although they say there could be double that amount as they only record what they actually see on the day. Away from the lake the two cuckoos are still here and should remain for a few more weeks although we have yet to ever see them as they are so elusive.
If you return again do consider booking our Rectory Retreat.
John - joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

diolch yn fawr, john and ricky, for a wonderful stay at your beautiful home! (bit of welsh for you, there!)
this b & b is akin to a 5-star hotel with its marvellous views, peaceful setting, charming hosts, cleanliness and attention to detail.
john and ricky are attentive hosts and the food (evening meals are available on certain evenings) was superb. ricky - you are a genius!
we stayed in the 'retreat' - a suite designed for travellers with mobility problems and it was perfect. a bed-sitting room (with 1 double and 1 single bed) with fully-equipped kitchen, sitting area and en-suite bathroom. with its block-paved front and just a small step to manoeuvre - which they kindly produced a portable ramp to help- this was perfect for our wheelchair.
bathroom has a roll-in shower unit, bath, toilet and handbasin.lots of space and complimentary toiletries.
we have been let down so many times by hotels and b & b's advertising wheelchair facilities which have been wildly inaccurate but this establishment ticked all the boxes.
even the orangery - with its spectacular views - and guest sitting-room are accessible.
we really hope to get back at some stage and highly recommend it to other travellers.
once again - thank you john and ricky!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sooz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

We really welcome this Trip Advior review especially as it highlights what we try and offer those in wheel chairs. As bed and breakfast establishments are not classed as business premises many - unless they have done any new build - are not that wheelchair friendly, nor do they have to be. We realised that this meant that many such users were denied coming to delightful locations such as ours .... so when we renovated The Rectory Retreat we did so with this in mind. We think we have almost got it right in there and have been pleased by the number of folk with mobility issues who have stayed there and who have made equally appreciative comments. We were also determined that our Orangery - now in its second year - would be a
accessible to all. So thanks again for taking the time and effort to write such a useful review.
Diolch yn fawr iawn.
John - joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

The Old Rectory is a place of peace and comfort in a very attractive environment. The proprietor, John, exudes warm hospitality and is readily available for information and advice about the locality. My room was classically comfortable with a generous and modern ensuite bathroom. The bed was of high quality and guaranteed a good night's sleep. The chef, Ricky, cooked an excellent four course dinner on my first evening (I was out on the second) served by a courteous and friendly Mark, and there were breakfast choices to suit all tastes. Polite and warm informality characterises this house, and the area is great for walkers.

.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am happy that you enjoyed the four course evening meal on the first night of your stay. Thank you for your very kind comments which are appreciated - it is good to hear that we are perhaps getting it right!
Ricky - the chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

You can see the Rectory across the lake before you actually arrive and already the heart is anticipating the delights of what might be to come. Do not feel any anti-climax here; it is a joy to behold and the sense of comfort, warmth of welcome and some seriously good cooking makes this a weekend to relish. The lamb shank was deliciously tender and almost fell off the bone without need of a knife and fork and the chocolate souffle had us drooling. Whereever you look the mountains and the lake draw you to believe you might not really be here but in some dream world of contentment and comfort. I hesitate to commend it too much - I mean should I keep this secret heaven all to myself perhaps?

Room Tip: Not many rooms but every one was just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soufflesurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2011

I am writing this from 'the secret heaven' of 'contentment and comfort' you so enthusiastically describe and we are just so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us so much. We know we live in a rather special area on Talyllyn and never take it for granted. We hope you all return one day to share it with us again.
Thanks so much for this review.
Ricky - chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

It's all been said before, however, it deserves to be said again! Stunning location, so quiet, peaceful and picturesque. Unique house with a history enhanced by classy renovation. Interior is tasteful, high quality with all windows providing an amazing view. Rooms are comfortable with superb en suites - free standing baths to die for. John is the epitome of 'mein host' convivial, knowledgeable but never intrusive. Food, well where to start... breakfast a joy and dinner an experience - Ricky has an individual, expert touch. The attention to detail in all areas is exceptional - thankyou!

Room Tip: Every room has character and the essential view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julieandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

I am utterly flattered that you kindly describe me as being "the epitome of 'mein host' convivial, knowledgeable but never intrusive" - can I use that in my bed and breakfast cv?!
Seriously, we are so pleased that you all had such a good weekend stay and appreciated what we try and offer here. We were also impressed that you all got up to the top of Cadair Idris despite the initial rain and low lying clouds. If you send me some pictures and some words to go with them I will post you all on our Cadair Conquerors page.
We hope to welcome you back here again.
John - mein host!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

I have joinned Trip Advisor just to tell you about The Rectory on the lake-me and my husband have been there nineteen times and plan to return and return. We used to stay in the hotel opposie and then noticed that The Old Rectory had turned into a bed and breakfast. It's in a great spot and over the last five years we have seen John and Ricky's business just grow and grow.We have encouraged many of our friends and work colleagues to stay there too and all rave over it!We were there for the opening of The Rectory Retreat and then a couple of years later for the Oranery with its, amazing views. To begin with they did not offer evening meals but then Ricky found his vocation-he is a superb chef and many a time he has cooked a meal especially for us. If you stay there we hope his dark choclate surprice is on the menu! So all in all a great place to stay-and that,s why we keep going back!

Room Tip: Try and book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_joslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2011

Congratulations!
You get the award for the most loyal of guests and we are just staggered that you have returned so often. We have enjoyed your visits greatly - and the chocolate cake you have always brought with you! - and thanks for all your encouragement over the last few years. It goes without saying that when you come for the 20th time the meals and drinks will be on us!
Ricky - the chef and joint owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
160 reviews
21.1 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
251 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
5 mi away
Ffynnon
Ffynnon
#4 of 34 in Dolgellau
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range: £105 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing