We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace where the welcome, accomodation and food is excellent.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We went as a group of 6, for a themed weekend house party. Our theme was James Bond and John and Ricky did all they could to join in our theme. Our arrival was staggered on the Friday afternoon/evening due to work committments but everyone received a warm welcome and began to instantly relax. Wined and dined and breakfast time arranged we retired to the hot tub to complete the Friday evening chill out.
Ricky's food is delicious, John's hosting is effecient and thoughtful and unobtrusive. If you need advice about where to walk just ask John. We also got to see some of his fabulous photography of the lake.
Saturday evening was our Bond night, we all dressed formally so did John, we arrived for dinner with Martini's waiting, shaken not stirred of course and James Bond themes on their music system. After our exclusive delicious meal we were treated to our very our fireworks display courtesy of John and Ricky. They were more than happy to take photographs for us. The table was cleared and we were left to our poker game!
It is so comfortable it is like being at home and waited on totally. All rooms are spotless and have views of the lake.
Our weekend ended with another super breakfast fond farewells more photographs and a promise for this group to return next year for another themed weekend.
The other 3 couples had not been to the rectory before and fell in love with it instantly, then when they met John and Ricky and experienced their food and hospitality they were determined to visit again and to tell their friends. As for my husband and myself well our 5th visit and 6th one planned! If you truly want to get way from it all this is the place to go.

Room Tip: best views are from rooms at the front .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 005006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2011

We are so pleased that your mission was a success. We look forward to the next themed weekend!
This management response will self-destruct in ten seconds.
'Q' aka John - joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

859 - 865 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed at the Old Rectory on the Lake in April and had a wonderful time.
The location was perfect, the breakfast and evening meal delicious and worth every penny – and the owners were very helpful.
We enjoyed an amazing walk to the summit of Cadair Idris, starting with the Pony path and then coming down to the Old Rectory directly from the summit – wonderful views!

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs if possible
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DitteandAndres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2011

I am so glad that you enjoyed staying with us and that you thought my breakfasts and evening meals were well worth the money. I am also pleased that you managed to go up Cadair - the route you chose is becoming very popular with our guests and it was our pleasure to drive you to the other side of the mountain so you could start your ascent.
Ricky, chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We had a great time and did enjoy the fantastic surrounding of the lake. The view from the bathroom towards the lake is just unique.
This was a very special quality place to stay and the landlords were fantastic and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arnd1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2011

Thanks for taking the time to leave a Trip Advisor review. We are a tad biased but we think the view from the Mynydd Rugog bathroom is a bit special too! We were well impressed that you managed to get to the top of Cadair Idris despite the appalling weather. And your kind review has also triggered something rather exciting as Trip Advisor have just awarded us with a 2011 Certificate of Excellence. They say they give this certificate to properties who consistently receive excellent ratings from their members - so many thanks to all our reviewers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

A big thank you to John and Ricky who were wonderful hosts when we spent a brilliant weekend with friends in a beautiful setting and location. The food choices were superb and meals cooked to perfection. The room we stayed in was Craig Goch which had a perfect view of the lake.

John and Ricky went along with our specially arranged group weekend, which was based around James Bond's Casino Royale and they provided a special presentation menu, music, drink and fireworks during our Saturday evening celebration. Can't wait for our next themed weekend, yet to be decided.

Whether you visit as a couple or in a group you will be warmly welcomed and sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Craig Goch and Mynydd Rogog have spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KazandBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2011

You had a good time - we had a good time too!
Yours was the second self organised themed weekend that has been held here at the Old Rectory on the lake and it was obvious from the moment you all arrived here on the Friday afternoon that it was going to be a fun couple of days. To hear so much laughter and merriment coming from our Orangery during your Saturday night James Bond dinner was an utter delight. Thanks for inviting us to share your mission.
John - joint owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Located in a valley on the banks of the lake, the views are breathtaking. The charm of the building is added to by the charm and friendiness of John and Rick, the owners. The rooms are spacious, clean and decorated beautifully. We would recommend the full dining experience at the Rectory, the dinners are absolutely delicious, with varied menus.
You can also, after a day out walking come back to the hot tub, which is wonderful to relax in and remove any aches and pains.
This is a five star guest house with five star food in a five star location.

Room Tip: Just ring up and book
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

We are well flattered that you have just joined Trip Advisor and we are your first review. Your appreciative comments have really pleased us and we are more than happy that you had such a good stay with us here at The Old Rectory on the lake at Talyllyn. Many thanks indeed.
John - joint owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

John and Ricky are most welcoming and very attentive to guests' needs.
We can thoroughly recommend Ricky's four-course dinner, which is varied, imaginative and cooked to perfection. And, only the greedy would want a lunch after enjoying breakfast in the orangery - what a lovely place to eat.
Make sure John shows you the videos of Talyllyn through the seasons and the aerial views he shot from the helicopter. It gives you a snapshot of the stunningly beautiful area.
We are planning to return in September but, this time, to stay for longer than two nights to make the most of what The Old Rectory and Talyllyn has to offer.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raincheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2011

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your third visit to The Old Rectory on the lake as much as the other two. We shot the Talyllyn video over 18 months and hope it gives a good idea of what the lake is like throughout the seasons. The helicopter is due back again soon for some more aerial photography so we look forward to showing you that when you return in September.
Ricky - chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

An excellent place to stay.Really friendly and helpful with excellent service and the best food one could wish for. A place to stay and just relax. No taffic noise ,just birdsong!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwenda_appleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2011

We are pleased that you found your stay so relaxing. You are indeed right, there are many birds about - most here because of the lake. During the last four years local volunteers from the British Trust for Ornithology have been counting wildfowl, waders and gulls on most months from five fixed locations on the far shore. They record that there are about ten different species with over 50 birds although they say there could be double that amount as they only record what they actually see on the day. Away from the lake the two cuckoos are still here and should remain for a few more weeks although we have yet to ever see them as they are so elusive.
If you return again do consider booking our Rectory Retreat.
John - joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
159 reviews
8.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
353 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range: £108 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing