We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, shame about the parties”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great views, shame about the parties”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Like other reviewers we had high hopes of The Old Rectory on the Lake. It was fairly easy to find once we ignored the sat nav which tried to take us up a non existent road. The setting is superb and both John and Ricky were warm and charming hosts (though chiefly John, as Ricky is mostly occupied in the kitchen).
As soon as we met John he apologised in advance for the fact that they had two large parties booked in for the two nights of our stay, and that we may be disturbed by their noise. Not something to fill one with joy when we had chosen the Old Rectory for its peace and quiet. Never the less, our room was very nice with wonderful views of the lake and mountain and the bathroom was lovely.
We had opted to eat in for our first night, and eat out for the second night. John very kindly helped us to find somewhere to eat nearby as he would have been unable to feed us anyway. The food at the Old Rectory is extremely good, and a four course meal for £28 per head was excellent value. The party at the Old Rectory on the first night of our stay in the event wasn't too noisy and mostly the noise had diminished by midnight, all of the party staying overnight at the B&B.
The second night however was much more raucous making sleep impossible until very late. None of the party guests on the second night stayed in the B&B.
My complaint is that the Old Rectory calls itself a B&B, yet from our experience it is an hotel offering evening meals to people not staying overnight at the expense (i.e.lack of sleep) of those guests who are.
All in all disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Praxis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 19 June 2011
Thank you for this utterly fair review and we are desperately sorry that The Old Rectory on the lake was not as peaceful as you had wished. We totally accept that the dinner party on the second night of your stay was loud but the two minibuses did collect the diners dead on eleven o'clock which must have been a blessed relief to you both. We take on board your well made point that we are markettng ourselves as a B&B when - such is the demand - we are now being asked to offer so much more. Sadly, you we left so quickly in the morning we did not get the chance to say that if you do wish to return ever please have the first night and evening meals on us.
John and Ricky - joint owners
ps We also note that we overcharged you by £4 for the two evening meals - again many apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
580
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
wales united kindom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

rooms food and service were excellent , the views were breathtaking from every window .
The proprietor and members of staff excel themselves making sure that the clientele
are very well looked after . We would recommend any family ,friends and dignitaries
as they would enjoy the food ,the views and the hospitality .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thedragon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 19 June 2011
We care passionately about we offer our guests here at The Old Rectory on the lake and when we fall short of their expectations (see review above) we are naturally sad and it puts a dampner on our day. We know we cannot always get it right but your kind review has reminded us that we do manage - most of the time! Thanks so much for taking the trouble to join TripAdvisor and for adding your comments and recommendations which today are very much appreciated.
John - joint proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2011

There is no doubt that The Rectory on the lake on Tal-y-llyn is THE place to stay.

I had an incredible time and returned to my studies utterly refreshed and so rejuvenated.The accommodation is comfortable as you would expect from such a five star establishment but the food is out of this world. Ricky is the unassuming chef and what he creates from his kitchen is just amazing. He told me that he was self-taught and I was astounded as I assumed that he had been to catering college and then had worked under some famous chef. The delicious breakfasts and superb evening meals were taken in the airy Orangery which I was told was built only a year ago. This is a great addition to The Old Rectory as the views are breathtaking, whatever the time of day or weathers, as John’s pre dinner videos showed.

A great stay!

Room Tip: The videos during pre-dinner drinks are a must see
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikethecapital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 22 June 2011
Thanks for your very kind comments regarding my cooking and yes, I am completely self taught but still have so much more to learn - the internet, cook books, television shows, shadowing other more experienced chefs locally and of course eating out at other establishments really helps me. We are pleased that you had an incredible time with us.
Ricky - chef and joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Book early....the fame of the Old Rectory is spreading and there are only a few rooms ! For those who love the outdoors; wildlife(resident otters on the lake); many species of birds and the mountain views to enjoy while eating delectable meals, it is impossible to imagine a better place to stay and to return to again & again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
We are so pleased that - like our house martins! - you keep returning and are grateful for this glowing TripAdvisor review. Indeed your visits - and your very obvious interest in ornithology - has encouraged us to now look more closely at what birds are on and around Talyllyn. However we are not sure if we are patient enough or have a good enough telephoto lens to picture them individually but we will get on the case. So please keep an eagle eye out for our news postings.
John - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

The Old Rectory is in a perfect setting and has been converted to a very high standard. The interior is comfortable and has a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The food is superb, and John and Ricky make you most welcome. We loved it and the beautiful area surrounding it. It is the ideal retreat for getting away from all things troublesome!

Martin and Marie McClure

Room Tip: No noisy rooms there at the Rectory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beziers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 15 June 2011
Marie and Martin thanks for this. Believe it or not - despite its idyllic location - there are occasionally 'some things troublesome' here around the lake but mercifully we have managed to dodge them so far! We are so pleased that you enjoyed every moment of your stay and that you found it the ideal retreat. Do come and share it again with us when you can.
John - joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

My husband and I were part of a JANES BOND theme weekend which was tremendous fun. Both John and Ricky were very hospitable and provided a first rate service. The food was delicious, the company excellent and the venue sublime. We were very fortunate to stay in the Rectory Retreat which was amazing and a real priviledge. I would highly recommend it others.
The whole experience was sophicated, superb and first class.It was spiritually uplifiting in many ways.

It was certainly heaven here on earth!

Congratulations to you both on a first class business!
Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank REV003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
It seemed very apt that a lady of the cloth should stay with us at The Old Rectory and we are more than happy that you enjoyed our type of service. Thanks for taking a pew and breaking bread and drinking wine with us all. We feel truly blessed by this holy TripAdvisor review. We hope to welcome you both back again.
John - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardwick UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The location is outstanding .
The B&B en-suite accommodation is beautifully finished and of the highest standard.
The Orangery restaurant has wonderful views, and the menu matches everything else in terms of quality, variety, service and attention to detail.
The whole team are committed and lead by a very dedicated owner.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank colingreen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Your kind review is really appreciated and we are encouraged to receive such a ringing endorsement of what we try and offer here at Talyllyn. We are also pleased that your chose us as the place to celebrate your wife's birthday and we look forward to meeting you all again when you return.
John - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing