We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Nearby Hotels
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Plas Dolguog Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
US$282
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lion Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wynnstay Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Min-y-mor Hotel(Barmouth)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dolffanog Fawr(Talyllyn)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arbour Hotel(Barmouth)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (981)
Filter reviews
981 results
Traveller rating
941
30
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
941
30
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubricky's cookingthe craig goch roomfree standing bathhosts johnmynydd rugog roomroll top bathstunning viewshuge bathroomcadair idriswarm welcomeeggs benedictbed and breakfastbefore dinnerlocal areaidyllic locationicing on the cake
Filter
Updating list...
869 - 874 of 981 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Old Rectory. On arrival we received a warm welcome. Our accommodation was Craig Goch and Mynydd Rugog which were very spacious, comfortable rooms with stunning views across the lake. We dined in the restaurant both evenings, the food and service was excellent. On the first evening we were invited to watch a DVD showing changes to the lake over the seasons, it lasted about 10 mins and was most enjoyable to see the dramatic changes to the landscape. The accommodation is ideal if you want a relaxing break but is also a good base for visiting other attractions. John is very knowledgable about the local area and seemed more than happy to offer advice on what is available. We will definitely return to the Old Rectory.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gerts29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

It was our pleasure to have you all to stay - thanks for this review. I am especially happy that you enjoyed my video about the lake which has taken 18 months to produce, as I had to be out in all sorts of weathers and seasons to create just what I wanted. You are so right, some of the footage of the ever changing landscape is very dramatic and the cars in the lake, the landslide up the pass, the floods and the low level fly past by someone rather important who is now working in the area and is living with his new wife on Anglesey, suggest there is never a dull moment here on Talyllyn. We hope to see you all again.
John - joint owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

I first visited the Old Rectory on a business trip last year. Even though the journey took three hours longer than expected because of my terrible map reading skills there was something about the place that made me want to return and share the treasure I had found with my family.

The setting is beautiful. Everywhere you look there is a fantastic view. The hospitality shown to us by the hosts was lovely and we had every need catered for from booking restaurants for us, giving us directions and helping with our bird watching. We couldn't have asked for more. The hot tub was a real treat and the food was perfect. We are already planning our return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrLouB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

We are so pleased that you managed to find us quicker than the first time (!) and are well flattered that you wanted to share the Old Rectory on the lake with your family. Your enthusiasm for the bird life around Talyllyn has indeed encouraged us to keep our eyes more open and thanks to some other guests who are well into ornithology we have now posted on our news page a list of species you might be able to spot on your return. We really look forward to meeting you all again.
John - joint owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Our stay was perfect from start to end. The hosts are very welcoming, eager to ensure we have what we need but without encroaching on our personal time together. The location is fantastic, you can walk out of the property straight onto a path that takes you on to the main routes to walk up Cader Idris. If you stay here you must eat in the beautiful dining room with fantastic views over the lakes and mountains as the sun sets. The food was perfect, delightfully served, with a great selection of wines and local ales. We enjoyed complete silence at night, followed by a fantastic breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Marc_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2011

Thanks for taking the time to post this review and that you described your stay with us as being 'perfect from start to end' - that means alot to us! Yes, many of our guests do walk from our front door up Cadair Idris and back - this circular but demanding route is now proving very popular whatever the weather. Your comments regarding my food are also much appreciated.
Ricky, chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We had very high expectations of The Old Rectory given the reviews on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. The building itself is stunning and the views across the lake were outstanding. The rooms are very comfortable and it is clear that an incredible level of thought has gone into the little details that make your stay that much more enjoyable.

As a host, John is very welcoming, approachable and friendly and made us feel at home straightaway. For anyone staying here, my biggest tip would definitely be to eat in. The food was absolutely delicious (thank you Ricky!) and of a much higher standard than most restaurants I've been to and the service is excellent too. There is also a good selection of wine, beers spirits etc and all prices are very reasonable.

After dinner, we sat out under the stars in the hot tub which was incredible relaxing and much needed after our hike up Snowdon!

The breakfast was also fantastic, with a good selection of different cooked options - we had trouble deciding what to have! On the second day, John provided us with lots of information on different routes up Cadair Idris - this walk was far more enjoyable than Snowdon as there were significantly fewer people on the track. Do watch the DVDs of Cadair Idris and the lake to appreciate just how beautiful the surroundings are all year round.

All that's left to do now is to book our next stay!

Room Tip: Mynydd Rugog - view across the lake is fantastic
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soph_H84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

We thought we had responded to this very kind review before but think it might have got lost in TripAdvisor cyberspace somewhere! It was our pleasure to welcome you both here especially as you had just managed to get to the top of Snowdon and from the valley floor too! Glad the hot tub helped soothe those aches. We were even more impressed that you then walked up Cadair the next day - so do send us some words for our Conquerors page! Cadair is so much less commercialised than Snowdown and at a few feet short of 3,000 feet above sea level it does not get that huge footfall. We think it is a rather special place. Hope to see you both again.
John - joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Like other reviewers we had high hopes of The Old Rectory on the Lake. It was fairly easy to find once we ignored the sat nav which tried to take us up a non existent road. The setting is superb and both John and Ricky were warm and charming hosts (though chiefly John, as Ricky is mostly occupied in the kitchen).
As soon as we met John he apologised in advance for the fact that they had two large parties booked in for the two nights of our stay, and that we may be disturbed by their noise. Not something to fill one with joy when we had chosen the Old Rectory for its peace and quiet. Never the less, our room was very nice with wonderful views of the lake and mountain and the bathroom was lovely.
We had opted to eat in for our first night, and eat out for the second night. John very kindly helped us to find somewhere to eat nearby as he would have been unable to feed us anyway. The food at the Old Rectory is extremely good, and a four course meal for £28 per head was excellent value. The party at the Old Rectory on the first night of our stay in the event wasn't too noisy and mostly the noise had diminished by midnight, all of the party staying overnight at the B&B.
The second night however was much more raucous making sleep impossible until very late. None of the party guests on the second night stayed in the B&B.
My complaint is that the Old Rectory calls itself a B&B, yet from our experience it is an hotel offering evening meals to people not staying overnight at the expense (i.e.lack of sleep) of those guests who are.
All in all disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Praxis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2011

Thank you for this utterly fair review and we are desperately sorry that The Old Rectory on the lake was not as peaceful as you had wished. We totally accept that the dinner party on the second night of your stay was loud but the two minibuses did collect the diners dead on eleven o'clock which must have been a blessed relief to you both. We take on board your well made point that we are markettng ourselves as a B&B when - such is the demand - we are now being asked to offer so much more. Sadly, you we left so quickly in the morning we did not get the chance to say that if you do wish to return ever please have the first night and evening meals on us.
John and Ricky - joint owners
ps We also note that we overcharged you by £4 for the two evening meals - again many apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews