We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Special Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brewood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our Special Place”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We first came to the Old Rectory a month after it opened and were so taken by the whole experience that we return at least twice each year, always for our birthdays as they fall within a few days of each other and for other special occasions. The welcome and the hospitality are second to none, we feel comfortable, the atmosphere is friendly and Ricky's meals are exceptional. It is a great place to relax and be pampered. We never tire of the panoramic views and the changes that come with the seasons. With both coast and mountains nearby we can relive childhood seaside days or walk the mountain paths at a pace that suits our steadily ageing limbs. The four of us think of it as our "special place" and will return as often as we can. Jilly and Trev, Chris and Will.

Room Tip: The Rectory Retreat is ideal for a young family and it has self catering facilities. Both of the tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Greetings from your 'special place' at Talyllyn! We are so pleased that you like staying here so much and we look forward to your visits greatly especially as you bring your guitars - those evenings after dinner when you have performed have been truly memorable and have been enjoyed by all! Thanks for also posting that picture of you jamming with local talented harpist, Rhian Bebb, another great musical day. See all four of you again in April.
Ricky - joint owner and chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
580
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This hotel just gets better. We had our usual room overlooking the lake, with Ricky's wonderful selection of local food, cooked and served to perfection. We will be back!!

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Phillip49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
As we have written before here on tripadvisor we are so flattered that folk keep returning to stay with us and after their visit again leave an appreciative review such as yours. The only thing we would want to say is that we are not a hotel but just a five star, four bedroomed bed and breakfast - also blessed with being in such an incredible location. I am so pleased that you enjoyed my food and our very best wishes to you all for 2012.
Ricky - chef and joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I live in busy London and I found this place is so much peaceful.

This bed and breakfast is located in the lap of lakes, mountains and sheep. The view from my window was so amazing that everytime I look ouside I wanted to paint the picture.

The people running this place are so friendly and we end up becoming friends.

The food is marvellous, everyting is home made and so scrumptious.

There are so many things to do like walking, fishing, hiking and lot more within 20-30 minutes drive.

I'm definitely going back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the upstairs have got th stunning view fom the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anurag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
We are so happy that The Old Rectory proved to be the ideal peaceful getaway from your frantic and busy London life. It was a pleasure to meet you and thanks for taking the time to leave such a review together with photographs. We look forward to meeting you on your return and our best wishes for 2012.
Ricky - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Stayed here in September, would highly recommend it. Hospitality was fantastic and the location was perfect. John and Ricky were very welcoming and I never encountered any problems during my stay. Wonderful

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Olly1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 24 December 2011
How good to hear from you and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. This review also gives us an opportunity to thank all our discerning guests - like you - who have taken the time and effort to leave such great Tripadvisor feedback during the last year. Your kind comments have propelled us to being the second best B&B and Inns in Snowdonia and for that we are truly grateful. We hope everyone has a great Christmas and a prosperous New Year. See you again in 2012 perhaps?
John and Ricky - joint owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We are just back from our 22nd stay at The Old Rectory and what a time we had! Me and my husband and his brother and partner arrived on the day that Ricky and John had got the official news that they had been awarded a coveted Gold Award by Visit Wales. They were naturally over the moon and so are we for them! Over the five years we have been coming to this beautiful part of Snowdonia we have seen The Old Rectory go from strength to strength and especially Ricky’s cooking too! This is such a special place and we have sent our friends, our family and even my boss here to experience what they have created on Talyllyn. This award is richly deserved and after dinner before the champagne began to flow I asked Ricky if I could informally present him with it on behalf of all who have stayed here and have had such a good time here at Talyllyn. I attach those pictures from a great night.

Got carried away ticking everything excellent, it hasn't got a pool, but the jacuzzi is excellent too!

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs rooms, although all rooms are excellent. Fantastic scenery views from all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank a_joslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 13 December 2011
You are really gluttons for punishment - staying with us 22 times now!!! Seriously we are just so amazed and flattered that you both keep returning. Therefore it seemed so right that you should present Ricky with the Visit Wales Gold Award that you kindly mention in this your latest review. As you know we are more than thrilled to be given this prestigious hospitality recognition and thank all who have congratulated us about it since. We look forward to seeing you both in 2012 for your 23rd time!!!
John - joint owner of The Old Rectory on the lake, Talyllyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We have stayed with John and Ricky several times now, and have celebrated birthdays and wedding anniversaries with them. The welcome is always warm and friendly, the food is wonderful (surely the best pannacotta one could hope for) the views are gorgeous (whatever the weather) especially with the new orangery room, and the surrounding area is just spectacular. You just couldn't ask for more and we have recommended the Old Rectory on the Lake to many of our friends. Thanks both! John's films are a treat too.Marc and Helen

Room Tip: THe Rectory Retreat has become our favourite - lovely view and very cosy but stylish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
It is always a pleasure to welcome you both to The Old Rectory on the lake and we are so pleased that you keep returning for your celebrations. Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great endorsement which is so appreciated. I am also happy that you enjoyed the videos of the area which we show during pre-dinner drinks - they have been such great fun to make! I will pass on your kind remarks about the panna cotta to Ricky!
Our very best wishes, John -joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This was my second visit to The Old Rectory and they have made a few changes since I last was there. Now there is a delightful dining room which gives guests a great view of the lake while enjoying Ricky's amazing cooking. There is always something to do in the area and I had a great time walking round the lake and then going down to the beautiful coastal village of Aberdovey - while I was on the beach with my friend we were treated to the most amazing sunset. Then back to The Old Rectory for a great night's sleep. John and Ricky continue to offer a great experience and I look forward to returning - this time I will not leave it so long!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 9 December 2011
Thanks for taking the time to post this review together with some excellent photographs from your memorable stay. The sunsets down at Aberdovey can be spectacular and we are pleased on the night you walked on the beach you were not disappointed. It was so good to see you again and we are glad that you approve of the additions that we have made since your last visit. Please do not leave it so long next time!
John - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing