We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Dolffanog Fawr(Talyllyn)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plas Dolguog Hotel(Machynlleth)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wynnstay Hotel(Machynlleth)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lion Hotel(Machynlleth)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (968)
Filter reviews
968 results
Traveller rating
928
30
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
928
30
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubricky's cookingthe craig goch roomb bfree standing bathhosts johnmynydd rugog roomroll top bathstunning viewshuge bathroomcadair idriswarm welcomeeggs benedictbed and breakfastbefore dinnerlocal areaidyllic location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
768 - 773 of 968 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed at The Rectory for our Corris wedding in May 2011– shame on me that it has taken so long to review this amazing place! I love Tal y Llyn and the setting of the Rectory is truly breathtaking so, with all the great reviews and after speaking to owner John, I had no hesitation in booking all the rooms for the wedding weekend.

And even then, it exceeded our expectations!

I stayed for the full weekend, including Friday night (separated from my Groom-to-be – he missed out!) with just my friends who were all blown away with the place. As keen cyclists and runners, they took the opportunity to play in the local hills before relaxing in the hot tub. After I returned from a hard day’s wedding organising, we enjoyed a stunning meal (wow – the food is goooood), great booze selection and John’s hospitality before heading back to the hot tub to drink champagne and enjoy the setting. Then we even got a little surprise firework display thanks to John!

On the day of the wedding itself, I tucked in to a delicious (full Welsh) breakfast before heading back to the self-contained annex, where there was plenty of room for bridesmaids/parents to come and go/get ready, and – importantly - a fridge for the champers and flowers! There were also the incredible views which we used as a back drop for some of the pre-wedding pictures, and plenty of room for our ‘Wedding’ Truck to park outside.

I know my friends all enjoyed their luxurious rooms, deep baths, fluffy towels, lovely grub, fab views and comfy beds very much too.

Nothing was too much trouble at the Rectory and they had really gone the extra mile to make it a special event! All in all, a wonderful and memorable stay – thank you John and Ricky. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the Rectory on the Lake for a wedding stay, special celebration, getaway with friends or loved ones…. or just because it’s a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

No need at all to apologise for the delay in posting this - we are just so pleased that all went well on the Big Day. Yours was the first pre wedding party we had ever entertained so were very apprehensive but are so very pleased all went well. Your lengthy appreciative review is so kind and we were flattered that you also chose to spend your wedding night here too. We hope married life is going well and we look forward to seeing you again sometime as Mr and Mrs!
Our very best wishes for your future together.
John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

What a beautiful experience, staying at the Old Rectory, ideal location for beautiful walks and sightseeing, however the highlight for us was the stunning new years eve meal Nick provided, it was out of this world. followed by a great firework display, customer service was second to none. Many thanks John and Nick

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank RuthHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

We was so pleased that you able to join us for our own New Year's celebrations and so glad that you enjoyed the food and the fireworks which we set off at midnight to welcome 2012. The clouds lifted just in time and the reflections of the rockets and other displays looked superb over the lake - the motars also sounded fantasic as the noise echoed off the mountains providing many an echo - sorry sheep!
Happy New Year to you both.
John - joint owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Although it is some time since I stayed at The Old Rectory on the lake the memory still lingers on and I reiterate all that others have written before. If you want fine food, spectacular views, tranquility and attentive service than this is the place in south Snowdonia to stay. John and Ricky your recent Gold Award is richly deserved - I am sure you will have a successful 2012 and I wish you all the best for any plans you may have for across the water!

Room Tip: If u can get the room overlooking lake.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alvertis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Many thanks for leaving this appreciative review and for your kind words regarding our recent Gold Award. As for what 2012 will bring we simply do not know (!) but just hope we can continue to offer guests like yourself a memorable stay here at The Old Rectory on the lake and to continue to attract similar favourable Tripadvisor reviews. As for any plans across the water we now feel it is simply not viable for us to get involved and we wish the new owners well. We also trust that you have a great 2012 and hope to meet you again.
John and Ricky - joint owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Really great stay- the relaxed atmosphere of a b&b with the service, food, location and upkeep of a 5* boutique hotel! We conquered Cadair Idris (though it was very wet and misty so sadly no views!) and enjoyed sitting by the fire and chatting to the John and the other guests on our return. We also got to enjoy the views by watching the great films of the local area that they had. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2012

Well done for managing to get to the top of Cadair Idris despite the appalling weather - you both looked like drowned rates when you returned - lucky the AGA managed to get your clothes dry in time for your next adventure the next day! We look forward to welcomming you back to The Old Rectory again and trust the view from the summit will be better.
Ricky - joint owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We celebrated my parents Ruby wedding anniversary by having a house party at the Old Rectory. I can definitely recommend taking over the whole house. John and Ricky were superb hosts and looked after every detail no matter how small. The food was excellent with plenty of choice including the vegetarian dishes. It is in the most amazing location right on the lake with superb views. John recommended a couple of walks which we took on - definitely recommend the Precipice walk around Llwybr Cynwch is a must.

We would definitely go back to see them again and explore more of this wonderful area of Wales.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms upstairs with views over the lake.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

We seem to be attracting more and more house parties and yours was such great fun! We are so happy that your parents had a memorable ruby wedding celebration with us (they sent a much appreciated card afterwards!) and thanks for posting some images on here of you all in our Orangery. I do recommend The Precipice Walk to many a guest and all share your opinion that it is a superb walk with some truly great views.
Our very best wishes to you all,
John - joint owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews