We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“back again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“back again”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We have just returned from another marvellous stay at The Old Rectory on the lake and everything was as great as ever. The scenery is still as breathtaking and it was a wonderful break away - it does not get better than this.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonkrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
It is always so pleasing when folk return to stay with us again and still feel that we deserve another great TripAdvisor review. We know that because of your young children you cannot get away together much so thanks again for choosing us for that special, much needed escape.
John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    865
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
593
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This place is truly magical and I cannot recommend The Old Rectory on the lake too highly. Everything that others have written on trip advisor is spot on and as for the food ........ it's out of this world! Well done John and Ricky.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daraburnssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
What a kind review and thanks for your words of encouragement. We hope you return again to see us again in the future. In the meantime give our regards to Liverpool - we lived there for three years in the Albert Dock before swopping the Mersey for the waters of Talyllyn!
Our kind regards, John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The location really makes this place stand out from the rest, but then you get to sample some fantastic food and realise that you are really in a special place. Great location, very peaceful and relaxed. I cannot believe the food that is served here - highly recommended from the breakfast to an evening meal for a real treat....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
We were well flattered that you chose The Old Rectory on the lake as the place to celebrate your wife's birthday while her parents looked after your children. Congratulations on getting to the top of Cadair idris on one of the hottest days of the year so far. I will pass on your appreciative comments regarding his food to Ricky. We look forward to meeting you both again in the not too distant future.
John - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

Where do I start? The first time you lay eyes on "The Old Rectory on the Lake" it is exactly as the photo shows, we were warmly greeted on arrival by John, the co owner, and made to feel at home right away. Our room was very comfortable with a huge bathroom and great bath in the middle. Both nights we stayed we ate at their restaurant which had incredible food cooked by Ricky, co owner also, we had a different menu both nights so their was plenty of variety.
My wife and I highly recommend a visit there, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
This recommendation is greatly appreciated and we are happy that you enjoyed your two night stay in one of our upstairs rooms overlooking the lake. Thanks so much for the very kind comments regarding my cooking - to read that you describe it as being 'amazing food' has made my day! It makes all those hours spent in the kitchens well worthwhile!!
Ricky - chef and joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Saw this spot on Trip Advisor while seeking a 1 or 2 night stay returning from Ireland. We explored the coast of Wales before arriving in Ireland and we planned to see a corner of Snowdonia on our return. John told us his favorite room was available for just one night so we grabbed it. What a find! I wish we had known of this place earlier and we would have booked longer. It is a little spot of heaven hidden in the mountains on the lake. The room was perfect and the bathroom more than anyone could hope for. A bathtub in the middle of a large room with a beautiful view of the outdoors via a big window, with total privacy.
Places to hike or stroll right there and the very best breakfast. Even if you are traveling on a budget, this is not too expensive for your one splurge. Incredible!

Room Tip: No elevator but there are beautiful rooms on main floor too. It IS out of the way so if you want goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blissgirltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
It was great that we could fit you in at the last minute and we were well impressed with the technology which allowed you to book our remaining room while you were on the Irish ferry. We are so happy that staying at The Old Rectory on the lake was the highlight of your stay in Wales. Give our regards to Alberta and we sincerely hope you will come and stay at 'this little spot of heaven' for perhaps longer next time you are in our country.
Kindest regards from John - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2012

What a memorable couple of days we have just had. The Old Rectory on the lake is in a stunning location. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed by John & Ricky. We stayed in the Rectory Retreat which has great facilities and fantastic views over the lake. Good variety of food for both breakfast & dinner, can thoroughly recommed the full breakfast if you intend to tackle Cadair Idris.
All in all great B&B, great location, great hosts and great food. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GnT95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your two days staying with us in the Rectory Retreat. It was a pleasure to meet you both and well done for taking to the slopes of Cadair Idris. We look forward to your return one day.
Best wishes, John and Ricky - joint owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

beautiful location, warm reception, very good accommodation, friendly helpful staff, lovely food.
MEMORABLE, Cannot be bettered.

Room Tip: They even have a room for disabled people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endisnigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Thanks so much for posting this review - your kind comments are so appreciated. We are so pleased that your stay here at The Old Rectory was so memorable.
Best wishes, Ricky, chef and joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,442 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
#4 of 5 in Talyllyn
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
63 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing