We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have just returned from spending four nights in the Rectory Retreat and couldn't recommend The Old Rectory on the Lake more.

The location is amazing with great views of the lake and an ideal spot for exploring Snowdonia. The advice and suggestions of John were invaluable and really helped us plan our visit and get the most out of our stay.

The food is excellent, both the breakfast and the evening meals, absolutely delicious.

A truly unique experience that we would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Thank you John, Ricky and Jakob.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank themarkjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your break with us and happy that you chose to come to Talyllyn rather than abroad which we knew you were considering! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we wish you the best of luck in your respective careers.
Ricky - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
586
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just spent three nights at the Old Rectory on the Lake with my wife. The room was great, with a wonderful view over the lake, with almost as good a view from the large bath in the bathroom - which was very welcome after very wet walks.
John, Ricky and Jakob made us very welcome, with excellent service, great advice about the area and the best food - the fillet steak for dinner, and the Eggs Benedict for breakfast were particularly memorable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AbingdonOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thanks for this recommendation and I am glad that you enjoyed my food - especially the Celtic Pride fillet steak which we buy from a great butcher in Bala and the eggs Benedict at breakfast which is now proving to be a great favourite. It was our pleasure to have you to stay with us.
Ricky - chef and joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Having just returned from a weekend at the Old Rectory we just wanted to say how fantastic the weekend was and how much we enjoyed our time at the Old Rectory. The weather this weekend was atrocious, in fact it has been on the news all weekend about the floods in the area and people being air lifted to safety, but luckily for us the Old Rectory is situated up and away from the lake and so avoided all the flooding! As the weather was so bad, we did not feel guilty staying at the Old Rectory and enjoying the amazing views and the hospitality of John and Ricky.

The food was amazing, every night we looked forward to whatever treats Ricky had in store for us and he never disappointed.

Would thoroughly recommend the Old Rectory for anyone wanting a relaxing weekend with amazing food and hospitality.

Hope to return there again one day, preferably when it is a little drier!

Thanks again to John and Ricky for a memorable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kertat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Last weekend was the most amazing one weatherwise we have ever experienced here! We had five inches of rain in 24 hours and the lake rose by over six feet marooning the hotel opposite for a day and submerging cars. Mercifully as you have said we are perched much higher up so were unaffected but it was still all very dramatic for us and our guests. Many were out with their cameras and thanks for posting such an amazing image - a few of our shots were used in the Welsh edition of the Liverpool Daily Post and the local Cambrian News and Ricky was quoted too! We hope to welcome you again here in less soggy circumstances!
John - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights in the Rectory Retreat with our dog. The location is amazing with views to die for and it is a great location for exploring south Snowdonia. John was very helpful in suggesting things to do and the food is amazing. I'm still dreaming about the lemon posset!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MegLl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Hello from Talyllyn and thanks so much for posting this review and image of our home from across the lake - we are glad that you (and your dog!) enjoyed your stay with us so much. I will pass on your appreciative comments about his food to chef Ricky - if you wish to contact him direct I am sure he will share with you the recipe for his lemon posset if you promise not to pass it on!!! Hope to see all three of you again sometime.
John - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

The Old Rectory and its permanent inhabitants are just marvellous; Ricky, John and Marion were wonderfully gracious hosts and I highly recommend this place. It is set in beautifully tranquil surroundings, making it an excellent place to retreat or to explore the best the outdoors has to offer. The breakfasts were simply sublime and I am hoping to return soon to sample their evening meals!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sassikootje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Public Relations Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
As you kindly mention me John and Ricky have asked me to respond to your very kind review. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here on Talyllyn and this TripAdvisor recommendation is so appreciated. We hope to welcome you again to my home in the not too distant future.
My sincere bleatings, Marion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed two nights with my partner while exploring the area. Even though we had the smallest room available it was easily big enough and very comfortable. The owners and staff were genuinely fantastic, knowledgeable and very helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and there were plenty of vegetarian options. Could have easily stayed for a week! Great place for full day hikes or gentle evening strolls. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeJWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Did respond to this before but it seems to have got lost in the ether somewhere! Thanks for leaving this review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a good trip back to Kansas. I am pleased to hear that you got the job in Aberystwyth University and we hope to meet you both again when you start here next term. In the meantime enjoy your remaining time in Manhattan.
Our best wishes, John - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Poland, Poland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

It was dream place,with amazing views just from the windows but You can take a very long walk out and You have a feeling like "never ending story",beauty story;). Owners and all staff are very nice and welcoming. Relaxed atmosphere makes Us so happy. So We would recommend this hotel as much as places around.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agata P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
We were pleased that your first visit to Wales - while you are over here working from Poland - was to The Old Rectory on the lake at Talyllyn and we are so happy that you both enjoyed your time with us so much. Thanks so much for the recommendation - it is appreciated.
Ricky - chef and joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
206 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing