We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Weekend”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Once again another superb stay at the Old Rectory, the surrounding scenery never fails to amaze me. Thanks again to John and Ricky for making our stay as enjoyable as ever. Ricky's food remains first class, I'm sure he could be chef any restaurant and would not be out of place!
I envy anyone going to stay at the Rectory. Look forward to our next stay

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swmmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I smply have no idea how we missed this review I am so sorry! So over a year late can we thank you so much for posting this kind account of your stay with us here at Tal-y-llyn. It is appreciated.
Best wishes and again my profound apologies, John - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    854
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
586
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is a really beautiful location for a trip in Wales! Great views and countryside and a lovely B&B too! You can't really ask for more. We had dinner twice as the food was so delicious and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Khin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Hello from Talyllyn and thanks for leaving this review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also my cooking - I am not allowed out much from the kitchens so when I get a chance to look at Tripadvisor it is so good to read such kind comments about what I produce.
Ricky - chef and joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Just returned from our second visit to this charming b & b run by the congenial hosts John and Ricky. They have worked hard to make this a very special place with great attention to detail. As my partner is confined to a wheelchair, the retreat ( attached to the main building) is perfect. With level access into it, a double and single bed, wet room with roll-in shower as well as a bath and kitchen area, it is perfectly self-contained yet next door to the main building where breakfast and evening meals are served. Ricky continues to provide meals of a higher standard than we have experienced in many top-class restaurants. Not only is the food fresh but the presentation is excellent. We really cannot praise it too much. John is an excellent 'mine host' and very anxious to please and help guests plan their visit in whichever way they choose. Despite the fact it rained every day we were there, we felt relaxed and comfortable - all made easy by their obliging manners and the ease of the surroundings (taking into account the difficulties we often experience with wheelchair access)
This is a fabulous place in a fabulous setting with two charming and hospitable hosts (ably assisted this summer by the personable Jakob)
Highly recommended to disabled travellers in search of peace and tranquility and equally to able-bodied travellers with a love of rural Wales,walking, fishing and sightseeing.
We will definitely return!

Room Tip: The retreat for disabled travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sooz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review and it was so good to meet you both again. We are pleased that The Rectory Retreat was just what you needed for your few days break in southern Snowdonia and I have passed on your very kind comments regarding his cooking to Ricky. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the future.
Best wishes, John - joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My wife and I stayed with my wife`s 98 year old aunt.Perfect access from the annexe to the dining room and a great track by the lake to take her for an evening push/stroll.Thanks to you all for a very memorable stay and to Jacob for giving up his room as well.

Room Tip: The annexe was very spacious and comfortable with a good wet room. Good view of the lake provided no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sampson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Hello there - thanks for leaving this review it is very much appreciated. We are glad that your wife's aunt was able to come and stay with us - and tell her from us she certainly did not look 98! She is undoubtedly our oldest guest so far and we hope she can return to celebrate her centenary! It was grreat to meet you all.
Best wishes, Ricky - chef and joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I finally managed to get out of Munich and return again to this amazing spot in Wales. My visit was an utter delight and no wonder The Old Rectory on the lake has just been voted the best bed and breakfast in Wales by Trip Advisor reviewers. As there are over two thousand, two hundred other places listed John and Ricky can be justly proud of what they have achieved these last few years. My pictures posted here really do not do justice to the area and as for Ricky's food - everyone on here has said it before! This chef is highly talented! I will be back!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Prag78m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
It was great that you were able to escape from your hectic life in Munich and visit us again and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. It's thanks to kind reviews like yours that has made us for the moment the top rated TripAdviser bed and breakfast in Wales. We just cannot believe it and appreciate we will probably be knocked off this illustrious position as the season progresses when other places - probably much more deserving than us - get more glowing reviews but please forgive us while we savour this amazing moment.
John and Ricky - joint owners of The Old Rectory on the lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Last weekend, my partner, our dog Bella and I spent a most wonderful weekend in Talyllyn at The Old Rectory on the Lake. We booked here quite blindly, as we wanted to find a hotel in the Snowdonia National Park where dogs are welcome. We liked the look of The Old Rectory and booked up straight away. How pleasantly surprised we were when we pulled up outside this quiet, idyllic retreat "Wow!" we both breathed... and when we were welcomed inside this lovely hotel... once again... "Wow!"
The hotel was clean and very comfortable with everything we needed.... the food was beyond fabulous.... the location was out of this world and the hoteliers John, Ricky and the lovely Jacob were so warm and helpful... we wanted for nothing! And even the lack of a mobile phone signal was NOT an issue here.
I am recommending The Old Rectory on the Lake, which has been voted no.1 B&B in Wales, to everyone I know. Don't just take my word for it - go there! You won't regret it. Thank you John, Ricky, Jacob and of course, Marian Fleece for a wonderful stay! "We'll be back!"

Room Tip: Any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 14 July 2012
Thanks so much for this incredible review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As we said at the time we realise we will not be the best rated bed and breakfast in Wales for ever but while we are we are enjoying it and thanks so much for highlighting this. We really look forward to meeting you both and Bella again.
Our kindest regards, John, Ricky and Marian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bakewell, derbys, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

After 3 nights elsewhere in Wales in a very wet week I was on the point of heading home and cutting my losses when I suddenly remembered that the Old Rectory was in striking distance. I had a very memorable stay there last year wrote the 100th TripAdvisor review. Luckily John had one room left for me and my friend. Nothing had changed - all as wonderful as before. (Even the sun shone briefly) and the beautiful lake was a perfect mirror. Sheer cossetting and great comfort from start to finish and a feeling of well being (and being so welcome). This is what true luxury is about rather than trouser presses and leisure centres in dull chain hotels. Special thanks to Jacob for making an excellent dinner served with great charm on Ricky.s one night off from cooking.

Nigel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank exegesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Thanks for coming back to see us - and we have had a few more reviews since your last one! It was good to meet you again with your friend and I am glad that you had such an enjoyable stay. I will pass on your appreciative comments to Jakub - if he continues like that I will be out of a job soon!
Kind regards, Ricky - chef and joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
205 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing