We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Nearby Hotels
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Plas Dolguog Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
US$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wynnstay Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lion Hotel(Machynlleth)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
US$165
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bae Abermaw(Barmouth)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolffanog Fawr(Talyllyn)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (965)
Filter reviews
965 results
Traveller rating
925
30
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
925
30
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubricky's cookingthe craig goch roomb bfree standing bathhosts johnmynydd rugog roomroll top bathstunning viewshuge bathroomcadair idriswarm welcomeeggs benedictbed and breakfastbefore dinnerlocal areaidyllic location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
671 - 676 of 965 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed for two days at this lovely B and B and could not fault anything about our stay.
The welcome we received from John was warm and friendly and throughout our stay he offered us advice about our climb up cader idris and where to eat on the night we did not eat at the Old Rectory. The meal we did eat there was superb, Ricky obviously deserves a mention for this!
The position of the Old Rectory is fantastic our room had lovely views over the lake and we look forward to returning soon to complete the cader idris climb quicker !
The bath is lovely epecially after that climb.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandjmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Well done for conquering Cadair Idris and we are sorry that after all your efforts there was no view! Thanks for leaving this review and for posting some images taken during your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us so much and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Old Rectory on the lake.
Best wishes, John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This is how all B&Bs should be run. Excellent service and incredibly welcoming! The owners, who are obviously passionate about their home, location and business, have pulled out all the stops to ensure their guests have a relaxing and comfortable stay, offering delightful rooms, fantastic food and an exquisite location. John, Ricky and Jakob deserve to be number one on Trip Advisor, their hardwork and attention to detail thoroughly deserves recognition.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnil68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Well what can we say about this amazing review than simply - thank you so much!
We always thought TripAdvisor was powerful but since we became the top rated bed and breakfast In Wales we have been inundated with enquiries with many coming from all over the world. All mention TripAdvisor! We fully appreciate that we will not be in this Welsh number one position for long but just getting here has increased our profile with already two newspapers writing about us in glowing terms. We are just so pleased and a tad humbled by all this attention.
Our very best wishes to you and all our previous reviewers - John and Ricky, joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

After visiting our daugther and grandchildern near Oxford, we spent a week in Wales. The weather was bad, but staying in The old Rectory on the lake was like a sunny day. What an fantastic place and what a warm welcome. Nice room, great breakfast and dinner, made by "the student". Many compliments to our hosts John and Ricky. Be sure, that the next time we are visiting Wales, we will return to The old Rectory on the Lake.

Marion and Ulbe
Belgium

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Hello to you both back in Belgium. Thanks for leaving this review which is much appreciated and we are pleased that The Old Rectory on the lake proved to be a good stopping off place during your recent visit to Wales. It is always so good to read such positive feedback and we look forward to perhaps welcoming you again in the future.
Best wishes, John and Ricky.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed here for a few nights immediately after our wedding and we cannot think of a more perfect place to go to relax and unwind. My husband chose the Old Rectory on the Lake based on a personal recommendation, and it lived up to all expectations. Nothing is too much trouble for John, Ricky and Jacob (sorry if I've spelled your name wrong), and they really do provide amazing service. The rooms are spotless, pretty and comfortable - the bathrooms are stunning. The views across the lake are beautiful and the location is quiet, pretty and peaceful. We ate at the B&B most nights and the food was always delicious, with a range of meal choices and a good, reasonably priced choice of wines too. Breakfast was delicious. I honestly cannot suggest anything that could have been done better. During the days we either stayed close to home, walking around the lake (a lovely stroll) or drove to other areas of Wales including Portmeirion, Snowdon, Swallow Falls etc - all within a relatively short drive. And if you visit Aberdyfi, I strongly recommend the ice-cream from the Sweet Shop there. All in all, we had a wonderful stay - it feels more like staying with friends than in a hotel (albeit very patient, tolerant friends who don't mind you eating their amazing meals and staying in their lovely home but then going out for the day without them!). We loved the Old Rectory, and will certainly be back - probably for our wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: We spent one night in Mynydd Rugog and the rest in Craig Goch. Both were lovely with great views. I was also really impressed that the Rectory Retreat looked amazing from an accessibility point of view and this would be great for disabled travellers.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IceKrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2012

It is so very kind of you to leave this review and it is truly appreciated. We try and run The Old Rectory on the lake as our home - which in fact it is! - and we get such a buzz when guests like you treat it as such! It was great to meet you both and we really look forward to welcoming you back to Talyllyn - hopefully for your first wedding anniversary? Good luck with the rest of your lives together.
John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I have stayed here in more than one occasion now and it just seems to be more relaxing and peaceful each time. The service was delightful, very friendly and professional. The bedrooms and decor is lovely and well thought out just a pleasure to stay there and I will definitely be back again. The food menu is not like your average b&b it was like eating in a 5star fine dining restaurant, I really can't fault a thing. Thank you to John and Ricky hopefully see you all again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

We really appreciate you taking the time to post this review. It was great to see you again and we are happy that you enjoyed your return stay with us. Thanks too for the very kind comments regarding my food.
Best wishes, Ricky - chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews