We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Short break”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Looked eagerly towards our short break at the Old Rectory following recommendations made by friends and we weren't disappointed. John, Ricki and Jacob were the perfect hosts and made us feel welcome! The Breakfasts and the vista from the Orangery were stunning and hypnotic. Our break came to an end too quickly, but look forward to visiting again in the not so distant future. However, Ms Fleece, the sheep does look lonely and needs a companion!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank poshholidayinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Public Relations Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Hello there from Talyllyn, Ricky and John have asked me to respond to this review as you kindly mention me! You are right I do need a companion - with luck your kind review may galvanise them to do something about this! We are all glad that you enjoyed your stay and the views that we are lucky enough to enjoy here by the lake. We hope you will visit us again.
Bleatings from Talyllyn - Marian, public relations manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    26
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
124
603
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Beautiful location, very friendly and efficient service. Breakfast choice and evening meal well recommemded. Room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Amazing view of the lake and the mountains. Definitely go back.Thank you to John, Ricky and staff.

Room Tip: Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NC_Cheshire428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend break with us. You are so right The Old Rectory does have amazing views of the surrounding mountains and lake and never a day goes by without us stopping for a moment just to take it in! We know we are so lucky to live and work in such an incredible location - thanks for coming to share it with us.
My best wishes to you both, Ricky - chef and joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge wells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2012

As the husband of the birthday girl and father of the two main organisers, John and Ricky could not have been more accommodating to make the weekend a super success. Everything was great - the food (and drinks) particularly so. John even managed to introduce my wife to a former school friend from 1957! On our last morning the weather was perfect and the lake was a mirror reflecting all the surrounding scenery perfectly. I would recommend the Old Rectory on the Lake to anyone who requires a quiet, comfortable and relaxing visit in the most stunning of locations.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
We are so pleased that the birthday weekend went so well and thanks so much for leaving this kind review. We were as surprised as your wife to discover that Pete - our friend who owns the chapel opposite - went to school with her at Borth! What a small world!!! Can you thank her for sending us such a thoughtful thank you card and for going through her archives to unearth a black and white school picture of her and Pete, and her brother too - none have changed at all!
Our kind regards, John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

WOW! This place is amazing. A location you have to see to believe, and hospitality like no other. All the team worked so hard to make my Mum's 60th birthday weekend with all the family a huge success. They managed to work around us to keep all the lovely surprises from her. The food is to die for... fantastic menu (even the gluten free veggie was spoilt for choice!) We took over for the weekend and all of the rooms are gorgeous, beautifully decorated and homely, lots of great little touches. This is 5 star hospitality where you get five star service with tonnes of charm instead of pretence. We'll definitely be back, we think we've found the place to have our mini-moon!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
TripAdvisor tell us they are celebrating their 75 millionth review and who knows it may have been yours which helped them achieve this staggering number! And your kind posting has meant that we have hit a pivotal numerical milestone too - so thanks so much! We so enjoyed your mother's 60th party here and towards the end of the riotous weekend felt we were part of the celebrations too! And if you want that mini-moon here at Talyllyn - you know where we are! Good luck with the big day.
Our kindest regards, John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband and I took a driving tour around England, Wales, and Scotland for our fifth anniversary, and The Old Rectory on the Lake was certainly a highlight.

We stayed in the Mynydd Rugog room, which overlooks the lake and a stunning mountain view. Waking up to that view was like an insta-Xanax--so calming and peaceful.

The room itself was clean, though a bit well-loved, and the bathroom is enormous. Like a whole other guestroom in itself. We took full advantage of the claw-foot tub after hiking up Cader Idris. Or at least, hiking up to the saddle. It was our first mountain, though, so I was happy with how far we got.

We did eat dinner at the B&B one night, as a fellow guest recommended it, and the food was so worth it. Really, the dessert alone was worth it, but the meal was wonderful as well. Breakfasts did not disappoint either. Standard B&B fare, but cooked deliciously with a nice selection of fruits, juice, and yogurt as well.

John, the more sociable host, was kind and helpful. He helped us map out a nice day of sightseeing around the area, and introduced us to some other guests. Another reviewer referred to the pre-dinner videos that John shows as "faintly bizarre," but we enjoyed the home movies and thought they made it clear that John was passionate about his B&B and the local area. Which is an asset for any B&B owner!

Room Tip: Mynydd Rugog has an amazing view and a great claw-foot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenpixey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this detailed review and for posting some excellent photographs. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - Ricky says he really appreciates your comments about his food and I too are more than happy with what you have written regarding my 'faintly bizzare' home movies!! I have had great fun making them over the last couple of years and we are now busy editing up our new production with many a shot taken from the air.
Our kind regards, John - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Yet again a wonderful houseparty weekend. From arrival to departure we were made to feel so welcome by John, Ricky and Jacob. The food keeps getting better - just can't believe it! I finally tried eggs benedict - mmmm. Our theme was Grease and John, Ricky and Jacob joined in with the fun and games and made sure we had everything we needed and to top it all after all the wet weather we have had they even organised sunshine! My husband and I have all ready booked our next visit and we are planning our next houseparty.
The setting is so perfect and whatever the weather you are guaranteed a warm welcome extreme comfort, beautiful food and gorgeous views. If you haven't been yet TRY IT you will keep going back.

Room Tip: All rooms lovely, best views Graig Goch, Mynydd Rugog and the Rectory Retreat (this room also has fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 005006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 28 July 2012
Over the last fourteen months you have posted three glowing Trip Advisor reviews ...... and they are all about The Old Rectory on the lake!!! Thank you yet again for leaving such an enthusiastic post about your stay with us, We always look forward to your themed weekends as they are such good fun for guests - and indeed us too!. We look forward to your next visit and wonder with some excitement what the next theme will be. How about a TripAdvisor weekend!
Best wishes - John, joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is a truly exceptional place to stay, with great attention to detail, amazing surroundings and great facilities. I would recommend it to anyone and am looking to return for more tranquility in the future, the only regret was we only stayed for one night. We both especially liked the sumptuous bathrooms with there subtle lighting and huge bath tubs. The breakfast was of a high standard and we look forward to trying the evening menu in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
This review is greatly appreciated and thanks for your amazing comments. It is just so pleasing when kind guests like yourselves take the time and effort to tell others about The Old Rectory on the lake on TripAdvisor. We hope that next time you may be able to stay longer and sample Ricky's evening cooking.
Kind regards, John - joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
333 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,457 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
222 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing