We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit to this amazing place which truly deserves all the recent awards!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another great visit to this amazing place which truly deserves all the recent awards!”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The Old Rectory has picked up a number of accolades since we were last there and all richly deserved! They now have a Visit Wales Gold Award hanging proudly above their Welsh dresser in the hall together with a World Hosting plaque - apparently the only bed and breakfast in the UK to secure such a prestigious certification. Over the years we have seen this amazing five star establishment grow both in stature and in getting many a plaudit on Trip Advisor and it must be so pleasing for John and Ricky to receive this long over due recognition. And as for Ricky's cooking ...... this guy clearly has found his true vocation and his dishes never ceases to surprise. His evening meals are not pretentiousness but the presentation usung local fare is amazing with a variety of piping hot vegetables. Desserts are to die for .... as usual we asked for his chocolate fondant surprise.
The only disappointment was that we did not see the otters but others who were staying longer managed to get capture him on camera so we know he is about .... perhaps next time?!

Room Tip: dont miss out on the food and remember your camera
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
We really appreciate this glowing and informative review and that you returned to The Old Rectory on the lake to stay with us again. Thanks so much for highlighting our recent successes. I will pass on your amazing comments to Ricky regarding his food - he will be dead chuffed!
Best wishes, John - joint owner of The Old Rectory on the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    26
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
124
603
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
leominster
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Charming friendly people (and it's the people that are important) who made us most welcome ,cooked and served fine food for dinner (would have preferred no music and should have said so)
Excellent breakfast.
A team trying hard , succeeding, and enjoying it.

Room Tip: Upstairs if you prefer a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antony s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us - so sorry about the music - some folk like it at dinner others obvioulsy do not! Your kind comments about us are really appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you perhaps here some time again in the future.
Best wishes - Ricky, chef and joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This is a bit of a delayed review, prompted by the fact that we're trying to plan our next visit. I was going through some of my photos from our last visit (March this year) and had to add them and my comments. We've stayed at The Old Rectory a couple of times now and have found John and Ricky to be the perfect hosts. John's excellent and attentive front of house skills combined with his in-depth knowledge of the local area and Ricky's fantastic cooking make this such an idyllic getaway with plenty to do in the surrounding area if you so wish. We really can't fault John and Ricky in any way. I'm not sure what else I can add to this review that hasn't been said already so this time I'll let my photos do the talking instead.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giggleberries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write these comments about your stay in March and we are so glad that you clearly have not forgotten us! The pictures you have also posted here on Tripadvisor are superb - just love the one taken at the top of Talyllyn pass with the night sky and stars and the photograph of the Blue Lagoon relection is really quite superb. We look forward to welcoming you both (together with your camera!) when you can next escape from your busy London lives.
John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I decided to stay here after seeing the great reviews on this site must say I wasnt disappointed at all!!! the rooms were great the views and the walks were amazing and the hosts topped it all off by being sooo nice and helpful thank you so much for a great stay!!! also took the train up to Snowdon (about an hours drive away) and we walked down, that also is a great experience very glad we did this!!
Thank you for a great holiday the old rectory on the lake :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caz137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Old Rectory on the lake and thanks for writing such kind things about us! We were so pleased that the views from the summit of Snowdon were so good for you and we were well impressed that you decided to walk all the way down! Next time maybe Cadair Idris - but sadly there's no train to take you up!
Hope we can welcome you here again sometime. Our kindest regards.
John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

After the great Talyllyn flood - see my previous review - we just had to return to this amazing luxury bed and breakfast to see what the area is like in autumn and and we were certainly not disappointed! We were blessed with some incredible weather and managed to capture some great images. As usual the hospitality and comfort at The Old Rectory on the lake was second to none and I know we will be regular visitors ...... in all seasons.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Hello to you in Southampton and thanks so much for taking the time to post this review and adding some amazing images taken during your stay with us earlier this month. We are staggered just how many kind folk leave pictures on here of our home and surrounding area and very soon we will have 400! We are so pleased you are enjoying Talyllyn in all the seasons - maybe try and visit when we have snow!
Best wishes to you both from John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stunning remote location with fantastic food and very friendly service. This is a simple yet beautiful Bed and Breakfast with quality fixtures and fittings. The bed was superb with first rate linen and the bathroom spacious with quality fixtures. But the best of all were the views afforded from the dining room and the quality of the four course dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eag62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
What a kind review! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us together with the stunning views here at Talyllyn and that you really appreciated the Egyptian cotton linen both in the bedroom and bathroom. Thanks for praising my food and I hope to meet you both again.
Best wishes from Ricky - chef and joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The charming B&B has it all. Breathtaking setting in Snowdonia, A Beautiful lake right opposite and wonderful owners. We stayed for 1 night in the rectory room in 2011 July and loved every second of our stay. Unfortunately, it was available for only 1 night and we had to move out. But the owners were great and they gave us a late check out. The hospitality is par excellence and we look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aditya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thanks for leaving this kind review and we are sorry that we could only accommodate you both for one night. You are so right - we are in a spectacular setting - and we truly appreciate this.
Talyllyn is an artists and photographer's paradise and last Saturday we were lucky enough to have a full page picture of The Old Rectory published in The Times. Their photographer managed to get a stunning shot from across the water - it was early in the morning with the sun just coming up from above the mountain opposite, the lake was glass-like and the autumnal colours of the leaves on the trees around us were just magical. We hope to welcome you here again.
John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
333 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,457 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
222 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing