We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Old Rectory on the lake - the best way to experience Wales!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Old Rectory on the lake - the best way to experience Wales!”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I took my girlfriend to see the beauties of Wales where I studied. For Accommodation I looked no further than to The Old Rectory on the lake because my parents have had a great stay there two years ago and a quick peek at the Tripadvisor reviews showed it maintains its high standards.

We stayed in the Craig Coch room. It was spacious and had an absolutely massive bathroom with a bathtub which has a fab blue spotlight underneath. We had a four-course meal at the Old Rectory which not only saved us having to drive miles but made us argue about whether it was our best or second best fine dining experience ever. Compliments to Ricky the chef and many thanks to John who with the help of his videos presented us with probably the best pictures, footage and knowledge of the South Snowdonia.

We climbed Cadair Idris and we do not regret choosing this second-highest peak instead of far-away Snowdon. The only shame is that the weather changes so often and we learned an umbrella is a must. The Welsh weather took us by surprise on more than one occasion!

After our evening meal we jumped in the outside hot tub and watched the stars which was just the perfect last night of our great holiday.

Have a look at a selection of pictures I took during our stay.

Room Tip: For a romantic break I suggest the two upstairs rooms, but you have to book them well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jkl-cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
We are so pleased that you returned to see us and this time bringing your girlfriend! Your detailed review is truly appreciated and the pictures you have posted are really good. We must tell Idris our cat that he is featured again on here! It was an utter delight to have you to stay with us - we really think we know you well now and look forward to your return. In the meantime good luck seeking your fortune in London!
Best wishes, John and Ricky - joint owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    855
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
586
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We have just returned and might I say what a wonderful stay we had , such a beautiful relaxing place. John and Ricky, thank you for your kind and welcoming hospitality and what a wonderful chef Ricky is the food was second to none :) . As we stayed bonfire weekend John and Ricky put on the most stunning display of fireworks . We will most definitely be returning next year .

Room Tip: I would recommend you ask for the upstairs rooms as the view across the lake is breathe taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
It was our pleasure to have you to stay with us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the fireworks - I had great fun setting them off and the weather for it was just great with some amazing reflections in the lake which many of our guests caught perfectly on camera. The explosions echoing around the mountain tops were awesome too! We hope to welcome you here again.
Ricky - chef and firework enthusiast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We spent a couple of fantastic days here.
Food superb, scenery breathtaking, hosts really made us feel welcome.
Can't wait to go back again.

We will certainly be recommending it to our friends.
We were in an upstairs room mynydd rugog and the view from the bed each morning was great.
Even on dull, misty days it was a beautiful place to be.
Ideal for the budding photographer or artist.
Its no wonder its hard to book this bed and breakfast, as it is so popular, understandably so.
We spent a lovely day on the Talyllyn railway, just a few minutes drive from the bed and breakfast. We were certainly well rested and fed by the time we came to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Wow! What a great review! Many thanks for this glowing endorsement which is really appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. You are so right Talyllyn is an artists'/photographers' paradise and as you know the views here are constantly changing. We look forward to perhaps meeting you both again in the future.
Kind regards from Ricky - joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We had almost forgotten how beautiful this part of Wales is! John and Ricky are attentive and welcoming hosts and we really enjoyed the hearty Welsh breakfasts and an evening meal, which was a delight. A bridal path from the house leads you through the forest to the hills above which provide breathtaking views of this beautiful valley - we walked for four hours before we encountered anyone else. The house is in a peaceful, off main road location, but is a short drive from Dollgethlau, a starting point for some great walks, after which it was very nice to come back to such comfortable accommodation. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms look particularly attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rj0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Apologies for taking so long to respond to this kind review but we have been away from Talyllyn. We are so flattered when guests take the time to write about their time with us and also for adding images - yours taken from the farm track above us looking down on the lake has the dubious honour of being the 400th posted on our TripAdvisor listing so thanks very much!
Our kindest regards, John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We've just returned from our first visit to such a fantastic place. Stunning views of the lake, excellent accomodation and high quality evening meals to match! Certainly to be recommended and thankyou to 'The Times for introducing us to this splendid B+B!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ptorrent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Sorry for the delay in responding to this but we have been away. We were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and was prompted to do so thanks to the write-up and full page picture of The Old Rectory on the lake which was printed in The Times a few days before. Thanks too for the kind comments regarding my food and we hope that we can welcome you again here in the future.
Best wishes, Ricky - chef and joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Have just returned from another relaxing few days staying at this idyllic spot - and no wonder The Old Rectory is so highly rated by us TripAdvisor reviewers as it so hard to find fault. It is the number one rated bed and breakfast for the whole of Snowdonia and for a time I think it was the number one for the whole of Wales - which is incredible and richly deserved. John is the most charasmatic of hosts and Ricky's food is worthy of any top notch restaurant - his presentation is sublime. The ambiance of their home is so soothing and I covet their two upstairs free standing baths with the blue lights underneath. I actually saw the otter during an early morning walk around the lake but did not have my camera with me so could not claim my free bottle of wine! I sincerely hope he and his family returns again: I certainly will!

Room Tip: You must dine in during your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daz2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thanks for returning to see us and writing such a glowing second review. I have passed on your kind comments to Ricky who, as I type this, is slaving away in The Old Rectory on the lake kitchen preparing vegetables and creating some more mouth-watering desserts for tonight's evening meals. I am pleased that you managed to see the otter - he is still about!
Kind regards, John - joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I have just spent 5 lovely days at The Old Rectory on the lake with my mother and brother. The location really does have the WOW factor - we arrived on a sunny evening when the lake was a still as glass and the autumn colours on the mountains opposite were reflected in the water - really quite something.

The accommodation was clean and very comfortable indeed; the breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice; we throughly enjoyed the video presentation of the place through the seasons and the wild life virtually on the doorstep.

I spent one very peaceful day sitting in the garden and walking along the lake shore line. I took the opportunity to have a look around the local chapel which i did not initially realise was not open to the public. I was fortunate to bump into my host in the graveyard - he was friends with the owner - and he arranged an impromptu tour of the chapel interior. Stepping across the threshold took my breath away. It was absolutely exquisite in the simplicity of ancient craftsmanship with a painted tudor barrel vault ceiling at the altar end of the church and a lovely stained glass window. The interlude made my day for which I have John, my host to thank.

I was also extremely grateful to John on my last day when I discovered my mother and brother had departed earlier in the day for their ferry to ireland with my purse still in their car. John was extremely kind in getting me to the station at Macynlleth and the offer of funds for coffee and a sandwich on my journey which turned out to be unnecessary when I found enough lurking in my bag for any emergencies on my way home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolsoriginalprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
We are so pleased that you felt so well relaxed after your five stay with us. Reading your kind review it appears that you had many an adventure while you were here! Great that you mentioned the chapel across the lake and we are always indebted to Pete, the enthusiastic owner, for showing our guests around who like you are just stunned when they walk in. Since he bought this magnificent building a few years he has had a torrid time with officialdom but hopefully all that is behind him now and he will soon be able to breath new life into this ancient church at Talyllyn. We hope to welcome you and your family here again.
John - joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
207 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing