We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem in Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My partner and I wanted a weekend away for a few days, and we wanted somewhere that we could take in the scenery, mountains with some piece and quiet. That is exactly what we got when we arrived at The Old Rectory. We were met by John and Ricky and shown to our room, which was a lovely room beautifully decorated and the bath that was big enough for two people.The view from the window was fantastic and breath taking. Once we got ourselves organised we went down for dinner and the food was fabulous and the wine was great too. We enjoyed the food so much we decided to have dinner at The Old Rectory on our second night stay. Wish I lived nearer because I would be a regular visitor. I would certainly visit again. The only change I would like to see is cafetière coffee, good quality tea with fresh milk in the rooms, which for me would make a difference. Once you step out into the garden area, take a deep breath and enjoy the fresh air and the rolling hills and all the colours on the mountains. The weather for the time of year was perfect for taking pictures in the sunshine, and the reflection of the mountains in the lake. You can see the wild life there too, with birds, otters and there are of course the sheep, that came down to greet us. I took lots of photographs which will be a great reminder of our lovely stay at The Old Rectory on the Lake. Looking forward to another stay. Perfect.

Room Tip: I stayed in Craig Goch Room, which had a beautiful view of the lake and mountains. The bathroom was...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review and thanks for all the positive things you write about your stay with us. We are so pleased that you had a great stay and have rated it so highly.
We take on board what you write about cafetière coffee being available in the bedroom but as we offer it for breakfast, dinner and on arrival we felt a change of variety may be appreciated. There is Welsh blended tea in the room and we can of course provide milk on request - we do not leave milk out as we do not have refrigerators in the rooms because of the possibility of them being noisy at night.
We look forward to welcoming you here again in the future.
John - joint owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (936)
There are newer reviews for The Old Rectory on the Lake
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2013

Where to start.. After a wonderfully scenic drive, we were warmly welcomed by John and Ricky and from that moment we felt right at home, if only our home had such enviable views! The dramatic beauty and tranquility of the lakeside setting set us up perfectly for the evening ahead. After a luxurious soak, we pottered out to the lounge and sampled some drinks from a Welsh distillery, one of many local suppliers John and Ricky champion. We enjoyed fabulous video presentations from John, showcasing Cadair Idris and his advice on which route to take was invaluable.
Nothing can do justice to the fabulousness of the food we were treated to, the only way is to come and experience it for yourself. There was certainly no question that we would be dining there every night of our stay. The thought of the delicacies that night, motivated me when my legs started to complain towards the end of our climb. The area has so much to offer and is perfect for explorers of all abilities, with beautiful sandy beaches on the doorstep.
On reluctantly leaving, we looked back enviously at Idris, a feral cat who has wisely made his home there. Already looking forward to our return visits.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fab view and are newly refurbed.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Public Relations Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Ricky and John have asked me to respond to this very kind review on their behalf. Like me they are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay here at Talyllyn and I have passed on your comments about liking his food so much to Ricky - sadly he does not offer me such fine dining!
I am glad you were so impressed with The Old Rectory on the lake experience - that's why I have made it my home!
Idris - The Old Rectory on the lake's cat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We spent Valentines at the Old Rectory, our second visit and even better second time around!
The bedrooms have all been re designed by a Swedish interior designer and our room was delightful. The bath was big enough for two and Rick was resplendent in his shower cap.
The evening meal was delicious, beautifully presented and the cheeses and port finished it off perfectly.
We slept comfortably and there was a huge choice for breakfast.
John and Ricky are splendid hosts and the setting amazing, would highly recommend for amazing views and fantastic food!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for choosing to celebrate Valentine's Day with us - I am so pleased that you enjoyed your second stay at The Old Rectory on the lake. Thanks for the kind comments regarding the evening meal. We look to welcoming you back again hopefully in the not too distant future.
Best wishes, Ricky - chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Just returned from another visit to our 'second home in south Snowdonia' and this time John and Ricky have almost left me speechless (which is never heard of).
They showed us round the whole house an what a great job they and their interior designer have done. The Old Rectory on the lake was great before, now it's even better!
I have taken pictures of the Rectory Retreat where we stayed - we will be back at Easter guys - this time to climb Cadair Idris! My ultimate challenge.

Ann and Dave.

PS We even saw the otter!

Check out their web site for more pictures and infomation!
www.rectoryonthelake.co.uk

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_joslin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Sorry we have only just seen this review Ann - it must have slipped under The Old Rectory on the lake radar! As usual great to see you both - for your 25th visit can you believe it! - and we are relieved that you approve to the great make over and will pass on your kind comments to Camilla, our interior designer. If we are able we would love to join you on your great Easter ascent of Cadair - John will start training!
Our kindest regards, John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This was the first weekend Rachel and I have had without our baby daughter (who was staying with grandparents!). We specifically chose somewhere that looked peaceful and in beautiful surroundings, a little luxurious, serving decent, hearty food, and in the middle of nowhere. Now that the weekend has ended, we both feel we chose the most perfect place for our stay.

The enthusiasm and helpfulness with which John hosted us was marvellous - he took enormous care and time to inform us of the best way to ascend Cadair Idris, to tell us about the lake, the otters and history of the place. We felt absolutely at home. Ricky's cooking was sensational, and we had one of the best meals we've eaten for years on the Saturday night, topped off (in my case) by a magnificent chocolate fondant which has only been equalled once in my life - and that was by a very expensive catering company at a black-tie wedding.

The room itself was fabulous, spacious, newly-refurbished, with lovely bathroom including big bath, and with a sensational view across the lake at the mountains beyond. It's quite a view, particularly near dusk when the mountain reflects off the lake, and inspires a feeling of peacefulness. Our only slight criticism would be that the hot water pressure wasn't ideal - running the bath took a very long time - and the bed was a little on the firm side, causing our frail backs to struggle a little. Overall, though, the loveliest of bedrooms.

The setting was sublime. The lake and surrounding mountains give you a feeling of incredible peace, and we were greeted with further stunning views of isolated lakes, mountains covered in heather and moorland and jagged, improbable rocks on our climb to Cadair Idris. The following day, on a hike to Bird Rock, we were greeted with more traditional 'green and pleasant' rolling hills. Also amazingly lush and peaceful and (mercifully) bathed in sunlight.

We would like to thank John and Ricky for providing us with such a wonderful, peaceful and relaxing few days - much needed after a hectic first year bringing up our baby daughter Grace. We would love to come back - and we've already recommended it as a perfect romantic destination for family and friends.

With best wishes for the future.

David and Rachel Byers-Grunwald.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DavidByers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Gosh this review reads just like its been written as a glowing report for a national newspaper like The Times! David and Rachel, we are so pleased that you have taken the time and effort to tell TripAdvisor readers at length about your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are glad you so much enjoyed your first weekend away without your baby daughter. Thanks for telling us about the slow running bathroom tap - it appears there was an air lock which has now been sorted. The joys of not being on mains water and having to rely on a lakeside bore hole!
John - joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We have just returned from 2 wonderful nights at The Old Rectory on the Lake. We stayed in The Retreat with our young dog and experienced a high quality visit. We were lucky with the weather and lucky too with this marvellous choice of venue. The evening meals were fabulous as too were the breakfasts, the room was perfect for our needs and the attention to service and detail is enormously high. There are walks by the lake, in the hills and woods, by waterfalls and on rocky and sandy beaches.We could have stayed a week, or better still,we will return to carry on enjoying the area and the house. The icing on the cake was that we saw a mother otter and her baby on one pre-breakfast walk and the male on the second morning. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ric52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

Looking at your previous posting we are so flattered that The Old Rectory on the lake is the first place that you have reviewed in the UK after what sounds like a great trip to India last year. Thanks for taking the time to do this and attaching photographic evidence that you did indeed see the otters swimming in Talyllyn! We were also well impressed with the video you shot of two of them fishing. We loook forward to meeting you both again and good luck with the new cottage in the Peak district.
John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We have just got back home after a fantastic weekend.Our room Craig Goch very tastefully refurbished as is the rest of the Rectory. The food was to an excellent standard both for taste and presentation,Well done to Ricky.John recommended a choice of places to visit on the Saturday,it was well worth listening to his advice. We climbed Cadar Idris on the Saturday,what an absolutely amazing feeling to reach the summit after 2 hours. It was a shame that it was shrouded in cloud but we still had some amazing views on the way up.What a sense of achievement,I really did not think we could do it even though we are seasoned walkers! To top the day a wonderful meal followed by champagne in the hot tub. Could not ask for more.Thanks to you both.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cornishpixie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Hello from Talyllyn, We really appreciate you travelling all the way from Devon to south Snowdonia to come and stay with us for the weekend after seeing a picture of The Old Rectory on the lake in The Times. We are pleased that we lived up to your expectations and congratulate you on getting to the top of Cadair Idrs - sorry about the lack of view!
Best wishes, John and Ricky - joint owners!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
8.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
10.1 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 3 in Aberdovey
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
325 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
238 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range: £104 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing