We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Birthday Surprise”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is our fourth visit to the Old Rectory On the Lake. It was Alistair Sawday's rave reviews in the Telegraph that brought it to our attention and he was not wrong. We love to come here for the tranquil setting and the chance to spot the otters. We were not disappointed, my partner Rick saw an otter running along the bank of the lake just a few feet away, what a fab birthday present! but by the time he rushed back to get his camera the otter was playfullly swimming out on the lake in the distance. It is great to get away from the hussle and bustle of real life, I personally think it is a bonus that mobile phones don't get a signal, I always make sure family have the landline if there should be anything urgent. Anyway Wi-Fi works brilliantly and here is free so one is still able to keep in touch via social media if one chooses to do so. Our room was lovely as ever, always sleep well here, never draw the curtains so you can wake up to the view, look for otter and see where the sheep have got to on the hill opposite. Love the bath and always have to have a glass of bubbles in situ. The hot tub was great fun, along with the provided crystal glasses and champagne. We even managed to have champagne with ice due to a hail storm, it was fantastic. Our evening meal was delicious the potato and spinach soup lovely, Rick had lamb which fell of the bone, my steak was soft as butter and was the medium rare as I had asked for. Ricky and John the owners obviously love this place too and it shows in their attention to detail, cheer, compassion and enthusiasm, they reallly want you to enjoy your stay, which is probably why we never tire and keep coming back. In all if you want an amazing setting, fantastic food and want to relax this is the place to come.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Many, many congratulations you have the honour of posting our 500th review! As you have stayed four times before and have recommended us to others it seems rather fitting that it should be you who hits this TripAdvisor milestone. When our first review went on in 2009 we never thought for one moment that we would get so many and are just grateful to all our guests like you who have taken the time to write something about their stay in our home - mostly good! We are so pleased you enjoyed your birthday here and thanks for taking Marian up to the hot tub!
Best wishes from John and Ricky - joint owners of The Old Rectory on the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
580
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
UK Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was an idyllic location. The accommodation was spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was some of the finest we have tasted. We highly recommend the Old Rectory on the Lake.
Stan and Vivienne.

Room Tip: ours was a late booking and only the family room was available - it was excellent but larger than we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stanbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Stan and Vivienne, it was a great pleasure to meet you both and we are pleased that you enjoyed the night you had with us. Thanks for these very kind comments and we trust all went well the next day when you visited The Tal-y-llyn Railway for that important trip.
Kind regards, Ricky - chef and joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Me any my partner stayed here for a short get away on the 30th march. We came with high expectations and after reading the reviews I have to admit to being attracted to the B&B by oddly the bad reviews and the elegance in which they were dispatched. Any one who can remain calm and measured in reply to the oddities that were presented gets my vote.

We were incredibly impressed by the location, the hosts, the accommodation and the attention to detail. Its reasonable to say that its on the top end of our own budget when stopping a night away but I believe we very much got what we paid for and much more. The views from the Mynydd Rugog room were stunning over the lake, the room its self was very well presented, clean, tidy and exceptionally comfi. The bathroom was lovely with again wonderful views.

We foolishly didn't take up the offer to dine for the evening, something which we regret in hindsight but we did enjoy a great desert later on in the evening with some snowdonia ale.
Breakfast was lovely with good quality ingredients.

The owners clearly have something to be proud of here and I see nothing wrong with them wanting to show it off, We did watch the video that has been talked about on here, We were politely asked as we settled down with a glass of beer next to the fire and desert and after the reviews I was intrigued to see why others had taken exception, If you hate stunning cinematography, beautiful landscapes and calming music my god, look away now!

So, our thanks to the hosts, we will be returning and dining next time.

ps, any one who worries about it being dark... in the countryside... they provide mini torches on the door keys!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam_Emma55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We were astounded that you were encouraged to stay with us simply because of how we had responded to reviews on here in the past - especially the more challenging ones! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your one night with us and I too was sorry that we were unable to offer you an evening meal. However it was great chatting to you both outside with drink in hand on the first night of BST and we really look forward to welcomming you both here again in the future.
Best wishes from John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This stunning bed and breakfast is so special and everything that all the many other reviewers have posted on here is just so right and to be honest I cannot add to them except to say go and stay for yourself. I am sure you will not be disappointed and just make sure you try Ricky's lemon drizzle cake which was served with our very welcome afternoon tea after we had arrived.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Mike, thanks for leaving this review. I am glad you think that we have something special here at Tal-y-llyn (we think we do - but we are biased!) and your kind comment about my lemon drizzle cake, which we often serve to guests on arrival with their complementary afternoon tea, has made my day! We hope that you and your friends are able to stay longer next time.
Kind regards from Ricky - chef and joint owner of The Old Rectory on the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We loved everything about this lovely B & B, rooms, view, location and the food. Ricki's response to our request for vegetarian (we should have given them prior notice) was met with good humour and four very good meals. We had rain (you can't have green without it), wind and sun, we enjoyed it all. Keep up the good work, we really hope to see you again one day but its a long way from Vancouver.

Room Tip: Craig Goch is exceptional but the thers are fine, too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hello to you in Vancouver and it was great to read this review about your stay with us and I am glad that you found us to be the perfect getaway. Your food requirements were no problem at all and please do visit again if you are ever in this part of Wales again.
Regards from Talyllyn from Ricky, chef and joint owner of The Old Rectory on the lake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

I got treated to a break at the Old Rectory On The Lake for my birthday. The sunshine in March was a treat but the real treat was the wonderful accommodation in this stunning location. The room we had was lovely with gorgeous views over the mountains and lake. Ricky's food was flawless and John is a great host with some excellent stories. Don't miss out this place is a real gem.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mbmansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I am pleased that your birthday celebrations were a great succes here. Thanks so much for what you have written about my cooking ..... I am well flattered! We hope to welcome you again to our home here at Tal-y-llyn.
Kindest regards, Ricky chef and joint owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberaeron, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I can fully understand why this wonderful bed and breakfast has received so many complimentary reviews on here (incredibly for such a small establishment soon they will hit the 500 mark!) and it was great to return again to Tal-y-llyn. Ricky’s food was spot on and John’s videos really showcase the area. While I was there a film crew was busy shooting this year’s promotional video and got very excited when a family of three otters were spotted in the lake. Sadly they disappeared as soon as they saw the cameras!! I must not leave it so long next time and good luck guys with your 2014 season.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffanPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Hello Steffan it was great to see you again and many thanks for taking the time to post this review. Yes, the video cameraman never saw the otters but his assistant did mange to get some footage the next day! The Old Rectory on the lake promo is now up and running and getting many a hit. We really appreciate your kind comments and yes, please do not leave it so long next time. We hope that your canoeing career continues to progress and it would be great to say that we regularly have an olympian as a regular visitor!
Our kindest regards, John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing