We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meet Marion in an idyllic location!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory on the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talyllyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meet Marion in an idyllic location!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

After a long wet journey we were greeted with homemade cakes and tea. Our room was delightful overlooking the picturesque lakeside setting. We had dinner on the first night and would highly recommend Ricky's superb cooking. John looked after us in the restaurant and was the perfect host, despite the use of only one hand!!!
Get John to show you his videos and the picture gallery of the lake at its best and surrounding area. (John don't forget to market your pictures locally, as we discussed on our visit).
The hosts were very helpful in suggesting local eating establishments and places to visit. We will be back ---- thanks from Sheena and Ian

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sheena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Public Relations Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Wow ....... I get two mentions on the run! It was good to meet you both and I am pleased you enjoyed staying at John and Ricky's home. I too think John's videos are very good but I am biased as I star in one - also available to view on Ewetube! I too keep telling John to market his stunning pictures of the lake and I hope you have finally galvanised him to do so. Thanks again Sheena and Ian for the much appreciated name check and I send you my sincere bleatings from my pastures here at Tal-y-llyn.
Marian Fleece - The Old Rectory on the lake's model employee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
112
571
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We seem to be going through a spate of awarding 5 stars for our stays! Perhaps we are getting old and standards are dropping? I hope not as we both had a good think about this one and just couldn't award it anything less!

We found it via Alistair Sawday who once again didn't let us down. We were en route to a wedding in the far North Wales and this was a very suitable overnight stop. It's located in a beautiful area not too far from the coast but within a stunning valley and alongside a lake (hence the name!!)

Arrival was somewhat chaotic as John had just taken delivery of some very fresh fish which was dripping all over the hall floor. We sat and waited for him to clean up and were surprised and delighted to be given a nice cup of afternoon tea and a selection of cakes to celebrate our arrival.

Our room was downstairs and the smallest (it was the last room available) but perfectly described and contained everything we needed. It was a tad cold initially but John was very aware and immediately got the heater working.

John has a little "routine" which some have apparently found odd but we thought was great! He gathers the guests in the lounge for pre dinner drinks and shows them his videos! And what great videos they are featuring the splendour of the lake in all it's seasons, close ups of the otter family who live close and details of the in house sheep - Marion Fleece! John is a great raconteur and his stories of running the hotel are highly amusing - just as one would expect from someone from the Wirral! This format meant getting to know fellow guests quickly and we rapidly fell into conversation which continued throughout the meal and afterwards as we enjoyed a post dinner drinks together. It's a bit like having dinner at a friends house!

Except - the food is far better than most friends cooking and indeed most restaurants! Ricky is clearly very talented and we thoroughly enjoyed the dinner and freshly cooked breakfast next day.

It's not cheap to stay here but the quality of everything justifies the cost. Johns videos tempt us to visit again during a different season to see for ourselves the changes in the lake.

Thanks for a great overnight stop!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 911prentonpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Public Relations Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
John and Ricky thank you so much for taking the time to write this detailed review and have asked me to respond on their behalf as they are both rather embarrased and a tad sheepish after reading your very kind comments. They are so pleased you appreciated your night in their home here Tal-y-llyn and that you also enjoyed the company of all the other guests dining that night. It was good to meet you both and thanks for allowing me to be photographed by your special car. I hope the weather was good for the wedding.
M.F. aka The Old Rectory on the lake's model employee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We arrived at The Old Rectory on the Lake at Sunday lunch time and received a friendly, warm welcome by John and Ricky. Our room for the night was beautiful, with stunning views over the lake. Following our arrival we walked to the top of Cadair Idris which was challenging but amazing! John and Ricky were able to advise us on our walk, in readiness for our Welsh 3 Peaks challenge which is taking place in 2 weeks time. After a tiring day, I relaxed in a hot bubble bath in the luxurious bathroom which was a welcome treat. A perfect day was completed by a stunning meal in the restaurant, whilst surrounded by amazing scenery. I can highly recommend the Raspberry Brulee! Drinks were taken in the lounge, which was very relaxing and felt very 'home from home'. John and Ricky were the perfect hosts and I can't wait to return to this idyllic location. I mustn't forget to mention 'Marion the Sheep' who also added to the character of The Old Rectory on the Lake'.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hillsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Good luck with The Three Peaks Challenge in ten days time and we hope your ascent of Cadair Idris has got you in the mood for this trio of exhausting walks which all have to be completed within a staggering 15 hours! Do let us know how you get on and Marian says she wishes she was going with you although appreciates she would probably slow you all down. Thanks for posting this 'perfect' review.
Best wishes from John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Not surprisingly our expectations were very high based on the Trip Advisor reviews this can be a potential banana skin ! not in this case not only were our expectations met they were simply blown away !
We spent 3 nights over the Bank holiday weekend at the end of May in the Mynydd Rugog room to celebrate my wife's birthday from the moment you arrive you feel at ease with the welcoming cuppa and home made cakes, and in awe of the location and simply stunning views!
The bathroom is manner for heaven just be warned give yourself plenty of time to get ready when your in the bath its not easy to drag yourself out of there,the views from both windows are fantastic.
As for the hosts John and Ricky simply faultless! John the main front of house host has extensive local knowledge and advice if you need it and is always attentive to all your needs.
As for Ricky is all been said many time before but his food is exceptional for such a small venue and so much choice not just the 4 course evening meal but the breakfast really does set you up for the whole day!
So looking forward to going back one day would love to see it with the sun shining,thank you both hope the hand is better soon John!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardTSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Wow! What a kind review and it was our pleasure to have you to stay in our home over the last bank holiday weekend. Thanks so much or taking the time to post such appreciative and glowing comments and we are relieved we met your Trip Advisor expectations. Thanks too for the unexpected gift of your home made vodka - it is certainly helping to deaden the pain from my hand!
Kind regards from John at The Old Rectory on the lake at Tal-y-llyn aka 'Paradise'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were delighted to avail of a chance last-minute booking, and had not been prepared for the loveliness of the welcome, the location and the wonderful hosts! We arrived late, having been to Dolgoch Falls and Castell y Bere on the way (both within a short drive of Tal y Llyn and worth visiting) - too late to partake of the evening meal :( However, music being food for the soul, and great desserts being food for the musician - we managed to exchange Irish jigs and reels for some of Ricky's delicious creations - a delight for all discerning palates!!!! Even Marion told us the next day, while we were out walking, that she had baaaadly missed music being played at the Old Rectory on the Lake and was ewephoric that we had arrived. She had been about to lambaaast John, as she was rather tired of this year's raaambunctious bleaaatings from the new generation lambs! She rather sheepishly admitted that she had a soft spot for Pastoral music, but also enjoyed a hornpipe or two!!
Rhodri & Claire (",)(",)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Public Relations Manager at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Bleatings to you, Rhodri and Claire, across the sea in Galway. It was great to meet you and I am pleased that you had a memorable time when you stayed at my pastures. I know all the other guests that night greatly enjoyed your fiddle playing and we all hope that ewe both can return and this time sample one of Ricky's four course meals. Thanks for posting such an amusing review - indeed many others have already commented upon it!
All the best, Marian Fleece - The Old Rectory on the lake's model employee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I'm patting myself on the back for managing to find this wonderful place. Booked 2 nights in the Craig goch room for my husbands 50th birthday. Arrived to a stunning location, beautiful room, great hosts and amazing food. Thank you John for all your wonderful service (even with a poorly hand) your advice on where to visit around the area and your many stories , that amused and interested us. Thank you Ricky for your amazing food at breakfast and dinner. The flavours and presentation were outstanding. The lake side location is so beautiful. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are so glad that The Old Rectory on the lake proved to be the ideal location to celebrate Roy's 50th birthday and thanks for describing my food as being 'amazing'. I will pass on your kind comments about his stories to John - I must admit he is a good reconteur even if one has heard them many times before!!
Kind regards from Ricky - chef and joint owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I booked this for my Dad's 70th, it was perfect. We were a party of 11 and we were lucky to be able to book the entire hotel for the weekend. The rooms are all fantastic, clean and comfortable and also tea, coffee, water and biscuits were provided in the bedrooms. The breakfasts and evening meals were fantastic, and John was a wonderful host, he was very happy and helpful considering he had just had a terrible accident a few days earlier. We are so grateful we were still able to stay under the circumstances! John was above and beyond helpful, and made our stay just brilliant. The area itself it's just mesmerisingly beautiful. I highly recommend this place for some amazing walks, going to the beach (Aberdovy is very near by), or a relaxing break or all three and loads more!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
We seem to be doing more and more house parties and really enjoy them - your father's birthday celebration was no exception and meeting you all and all the ensuing weekend fun certainly kept my mind off the events of the previous week! So hello from Tal-y-llyn to birthday Bob, Maggie, Bethan, Karen, Mark, Ben, Joseph, Scarlet, Grace, Beatrice and George.
Best wishes to you all from 'happy and helpful' John!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.1 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
6.2 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
5.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing