We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Nearby Hotels
Y Meirionnydd(Dolgellau)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Penmaenuchaf Hall(Penmaenpool)
US$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brackenhurst House(Fairbourne)
US$164
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bae Abermaw(Barmouth)
US$135
US$130
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolffanog Fawr(Talyllyn)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plas Dolguog Hotel(Machynlleth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wynnstay Hotel(Machynlleth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lion Hotel(Machynlleth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (965)
Filter reviews
966 results
Traveller rating
926
30
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
926
30
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubricky's cookingthe craig goch roomb bfree standing bathhosts johnmynydd rugog roomroll top bathstunning viewshuge bathroomcadair idriswarm welcomeeggs benedictbed and breakfastbefore dinnerlocal areaidyllic location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
423 - 428 of 966 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a wonderful 4 days fly fishing on Tal y llyn Lake, with JIm & I catching plenty of Brown trout which Ricky cooked superbly with herbs & butter.
Staying at the Old Rectory in the luxurious rooms and wonderful food was one of the highlights of our trip and John & Ricky were very welcoming, cheerful and friendly as always
we'll be back.......hopefully for the Sea Trout run in September / October

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Mike, we are so pleased that you had 'tight lines' during your four days with us and it was my pleasure to cook the brown trout for you in the evening. Indeed our guests are still enjoying the pate which I also made from them! Thanks also for your kind comments about us and as always it was great to see you both again and let's hope your autumn trip is just as successful and we can have fresh sea trout on our tables!
Just so there's no confusion from our friends across the water can we point out that the 220 acre Welsh Water lake in front of us is managed by the hotel opposite.
Kind regards, Ricky Francis - chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had lunch at this wonderful place situated on the lakeside with fantastic views of the lake and surrounding mountains. John and Ricky are perfect hosts and made our time there memorable. The quality of food is high, imaginatively presented and just delicious! We hope to visit again soon but next time stay a few days enjoying the beautiful accommodation, peaceful setting and fantastic food. It is the sort of place you want to keep for yourself!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kateen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thanks for coming for Sunday lunch and we are so pleased that you are considering returning to stay with us. As you know we used to offer evening meals to non-residents but had to stop as we simply not not cope with the number of folk who wanted to dine with us. We are now offering Sunday lunches as a thank you to those locals who have supported us in the past and by all accounts it is going down very well. It means a very long day for me - last Sunday I was up at 6am - but reading reviews like this makes it all very rewarding!
Thanks again from Ricky - chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What can I say, even though we have visited before, the welcome and the comfort and food at the Old Rectory is just wonderful. It is never 'same old'. There is always something that is slightly different or new that keeps our visits fresh as well as relaxing.
John and Ricky welcome you to their home and very soon all the guests are getting on well, discussing the food, what walks to do and just how soon we can all come back again.
The weather was glorious last weekend ( June 20th-23rd) and we were served breakfast outside on the patio overlooking the lake, we could have been anywhere in the world. Will add a picture when we have down loaded them.
This is still the most perfect place to stay, do visit if you haven't all ready and if you have book your next visit- we have.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent value for money and comfortable but Craig Goch and Mynydd Rugog have the best views of the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 005006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

We are so pleased and indeed well flattered that you keep returning to stay with us in our home here at Tal-y-llyn and yet again this review is truly appreciated. It was great that you all enjoyed a leisurely breakfast sitting outside overlooking the lake - you certainly could not do that today as it's pouring with rain! Marilyn and Dave, we so look forward to welcoming you both back here again.
John and Ricky - joint owners, The Old Rectory on the lake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a wonderful two night stay and loved every minute. John and Ricky were great hosts, giving us a warm welcome and ensuring that we had nothing to do but relax. Ricky's creations in the kitchen were five star, indeed the best broccoli and stilton soup i have ever tasted!

We treated ourselves to the pamper package and spent a heavenly hour in the hot tub with champagne, overlooking the lake - just perfect after the nine mile walk from Dolgellau to Barmouth along the Mawddach Estuary. Had time to enjoy John's recommendation of the Precipice Walk before heading home, back to reality. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimandPat55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thanks for describing us as 'a slice of heaven' and it was our pleasure to welcome you both into our home here on Tal-y-llyn. We are glad that you enjoyed the hot tub and lake view and thanks for the very kind remarks about my food and especially my broccoli and stilton soup. I must say I do enjoying making soups and most nights guests have one at the start of my four course evening meals.
Hope to see you in the not too distant future, best wishes, Ricky - chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is the second time I have stayed at the Old Rectory on the Lake and once again the stay was memorable for all the right reasons. A lovely setting, great accommodation and the care taken by John and Ricky was exemplary. A highly recommended destination.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinotherock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thanks so much for returning to stay with us again and leaving this review. Your recommendation on here is greatly appreciated.
Best wishes from John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews