We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really welcoming and lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were really pleased by the very warm welcome that awaited us at this beautiful B&B. I thoroughly recommend this for any age range! We were well advised on local sites to visit and coming from Switzerland, happy to have some happy memories to take home with us and to share this great find! Thank you again for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Selina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

It is so amazing Selina that you should post this review now as I was only thinking of you both last night when we had a mother and daughter to stay who run a bed and breakfast similar to ours in Switzerland! I was talking to them about you both as we do not have too many Swiss visitors. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for leaving this kind review. Marian - our model employee - who you both were pictured with also sends you her bleatings!
Kind regards, John and Ricky - joint owners of The Old Rectory on the lake, Tal-y-llyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

Yes, back for our thirteenth visit and would thoroughly recommend you try The Old Rectory if you are looking for a great location, stunning scenery,welcoming hospitality and excellent food.
A stay with John and Ricky is memorable in so many ways.
Roll on our next visit!

Room Tip: Choose Craig Goch, Mynnydd Rugog or the Retreat for their spaciousness. and great views of the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raincheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

As usual great to see you both again and your visit was certainly not unlucky for us as you kindly bought us a huge box of chocolates. Thanks so very much! As we keep on saying on here we are just so flattered when discerning guests like yourselves keep returning again and again so we suppose we most be getting something right! Your kind comments are so much appreciated. Here's to your 14th visit and this time it's our turn to supply the chocolates!
Kind regards, John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a superb stay earlier in July at our favourite B&B in the whole world! On arrival went in the outdoor hot tub with the champagne. John then facilitated us holding our renewal of wedding vows there by the lake, being the officiant and taking some photos. He had put us in touch with a local florist for my posy. Ricky prepared a wonderful meal - he is a very talented chef - superlative cuisine, as usual. He also let off the fireworks for us later. They both entered into the spirit of the occasion and made it a very memorable celebration for us. It really is a very special place, peaceful, beautiful scenery, romantic, magical. We are very grateful to them and will definitely be returning! Their member of staff, Jarda, also deserves a mention - very ersonable and attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VandRcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks for posting this great review plus those amazing pictures. They never taught me to be a celebrant at bed and breakfast school but I really enjoyed the whole occasion and it was our utter pleasure to be involved in such an important and moving occasion. In fact we can do not better than reproduce below what we have written elsewhere about that memorable day. See you for your 30th anniversary if not before!!!
Our kindest regards to you both, John and Ricky - joint owners of your favourite B&B!

These two guests from Cardiff have been regular visitors to The Old Rectory on the lake -in fact they held their 20th wedding celebrations here. However we were well flattered when they chose to renew their marriage vows here at Tal-y-llyn five year later. For the last few months Vron had been planning their big day and spared no attention to detail. Many an email bounced back and forth as we discussed with her exactly what she required - she wanted the flowers, the meal and indeed the weather to be just right. Vron and Rich arrived mid afternoon and quickly jumped into the outdoor hot tub with a bottle of chilled champagne to steady their nerves. As there was no real vicar at hand John was roped in to lead the happy couple through their renewal vows which they did standing at the end of our garden overlooking the lake. As if on cue the sun came out and bathed the couple in early evening light. It was a very moving ten minutes as Vron and Richard said exactly what they meant to each other and outlined their hopes for the future. At the end they renewed their vows and exchanged rings and we are pleased to report that Vron shed many a tear! After more champagne it was time to enjoy a specially prepared celebratory meal by Chef Ricky with the first course being taken outside at a table overlooking the lake and served by Jarda. They then moved into the Orangery for the rest of their romantic four course dinner. Later amazing fireworks lit the skies above The Old Rectory on the lake and all agreed that it had been a most amazing and romantic of Silver Wedding days. One we, the happy couple and the other guests who were also staying here will never forget.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed overnight here with friends. The accommodation was excellent and our welcome warm and friendly. Our evening meal was superb, served in the purpose built restaurant, with stunning views across Lake Talyllyn. I have no hesitation in recommending this well appointed establishment. (Ask to see the video the owners have made showing the area in all the four seasons)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morris30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

So very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for this kind recommendation. We know we are so lucky to live in such a stunning location by the lake and whatever the weather the views are superb - hopefully the pre-dinner video you kindly mentioned highlights this as it was shot over twelve months during the four ever changing seasons.
Best wishes from John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Visited here last year whilst on a motorcycle trip round Wales , we liked it so much we incorporated it on our trip this year as well , john and his son give a very warm welcome , after a long ride there was tea and cakes served in minutes(excellent ).
Definitely eat an evening meal here the food is lovely.
Can't fault this place , well worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We were were flattered that you booked to stay for two nights again during your recent 1,800 mile road trip and it was great to meet you all again. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review and we were so pleased that the weather was so good for you and you really enjoyed the adventure to the lakes at Vyrnwy, Bala and Trawsfynydd I suggested riding to via the scenic back roads. It was so cool reviewing this amazing trip later from the video cameras on your helmets and bikes!
Best wishes from us both, John and Ricky - joint owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Shangri La is defined as a fictional place. An imaginary, remote earthly paradise.
Not any more!
It really does exist in a tiny part of Snowdon. It's even got a name and a postal code.
The Old Rectory is a small B&B snuggling up to Cadair Idris and sitting on the edge of Tal-Y- Llyn lake.
There are just three bedrooms and a self contained studio apartment, each exquisitely decorated with breathtaking views of the lake and the mountains beyond.
John runs front of house and he's partnered by Ricky who serves up fantastic food in a small cosy dining room.
John has that rare ability to make every guest feel at home – he even screens a short 10 minute video showing the Rectory in all 4 seasons. No - it's not one of those interminable holiday videos! John has been a commercial director and still does the odd corporate video.
My partner Tricia and I spent 4 fabulous days there and can't wait to return.
Wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Dajee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thanks for leaving this kind review and for posting some of your excellent images taken around the lake. Thanks also for highlighting my own video work some of which we do show during pre dinner drinks - it's great to hear that you really enjoyed and appreciated them as I am still smarting after one TripAdvisor reviewer described them as 'bizarre home-made movies'! We have also made one specifically about this site and examples of others about the lake can be seen on a channel Marian calls ewe of a cylindrical nature. We look forward to meeting you and Tricia again.
Kind regards from John and Ricky living at Shangri La aka The Old Rectory on the lake, Tal-y-llyn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

From the moment we arrived till we left we were made very welcome. John and Ricky have managed to create their own bit of heaven at Tallylin and invite others to share it. From the idyllic setting to the delicious food they serve, everything was perfect. Our evening meal was wonderful, made more special knowing that Ricky created it using local produce. Our only disappointment was that we were only there for one night and would highly recommend it as a place to spend a few nights .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Pumpkinpie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Many thanks for writing in such glowing terms about my food - yes I do try wherever possible to use local products and now, thanks to the endeavours of a kind and knowledgeable guest who returned to help me, my herb bed is up and running up on the hillside above our home. I often get comments from amused diners in the evening after they have seen my dash up and pick some herbs - minutes before they are due to arrive at table. And as everyone says they could not be fresher!!!
Ricky - chef and joint owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
345 reviews
23.5 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
209 reviews
21.1 mi away
Plas Yn Dre
Plas Yn Dre
#1 of 2 in Bala
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Y Meirionnydd
Y Meirionnydd
#1 of 3 in Dolgellau
322 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
407 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range: £108 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing