We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a superb two nights' stay at The Old Rectory. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by John who kindly provided us with coffee and cake which we enjoyed while soaking up the spectacular view from the terrace; the same view could also be appreciated from our room Mynydd Rugog which was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. We ate in the Orangery both evenings and the food was absolutely delicious - compliments to the chef Ricky! The breakfasts were equally good and the produce used seemed to be locally sourced where possible.

John and Ricky are fabulous hosts who obviously enjoy and appreciate the house, the local wildlife and area in general. A visit is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We thank you for this glowing recommendation! We are also pleased that you picked up during your stay that we really do appreciate The Old Rectory on the lake, the local wildlife and the area in general. It is our pleasure to share all this with discerning guests like your goodselves and again thanks for taking the time to leave this review.
Kind regards to you both, John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    845
    23
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
116
580
39
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Rectory on the Lake is a fantastic experience,from the warm welcome of John,our host, the spacious room,the beautiful setting and views,the friendly service and beaming smile from Yarda the waiter, and last but definitely not least the delicious locally sourced food cooked by Ricky, joint owner and amazing chef .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks so much for the comments about my food - to be described as an 'amazing chef' has made my day! Now back to the kitchen ...... I have eight diners tonight.
Kind regards, Ricky Francis - chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family gave us this visit for my husband's 70th. I'm so glad they found and chose this place for us. It was truly perfect from start to finish. The room was luxurious - from bed to bathroom. Everything you need for your comfort was provided. The view from the window was breathtakingly beautiful - made you appreciate the magnificence of the country we live in. A walk round the lake before dinner enhanced our appetite - the food was sumptuous.

After an excellent night's sleep and hearty breakfast, we were ready to do battle with Cader Idris. Not an easy task but well worth the effort for it's majesty and splendour. We arrived back a little bedraggled but nevertheless elated by our achievement and looking forward to the evening ahead. Our second evening meal did not disappoint us - beautifully cooked and presented with lots of choice. However, the evening was not over. We made our weary way to the hot tub under the stars - sinking into the wonderful warm bubbling water. Minutes after settling in, our champagne and chocolates arrived. Perfect ending to the day.

We will definitely be back and would recommend this place to all and sundry.

Thank you to everyone at The Old Rectory on the lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are so happy that the family birthday present was such as success and that you enjoyed your time staying and dining at our home. Massive congratulations also for conquering Cadair Idris as you went up by far the hardest route and thanks for posting the pictures to prove that you did indeed get to the very top! You were so lucky with the weather too! Many love our hot tub under the stars and with champagne it's bliss - the hardest thing is getting out!
Kind regards from John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Each and every time I make my way over to Wales, I ensure myself a incredible experience. And each time, John, Ricky and Marian are there to provide it. The rooms are immaculate and the views are impeccable. It really does make any trip to the Old Rectory one to remember.

Whilst I was there, I experienced all sorts of weather conditions. Some days were sunny, and others were less than so. However each day was complimented by the other. The location on the lake submerges you in to isolation and relaxations. It is the true get away break.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the Snowdonia region of Wales. You will not regret it.

P.S. The food is to die for!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAmaniac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi to you over there in The States and thanks again for coming again to stay with us. We really appreciate you posting this review together with a great set of pictures. We were so pleased that you included two photographs of our new light installation which is now hanging proudly in our Orangery. We had it specially commissioned from an up and coming wood sculptor working down in Cornwall - talented Tom Raffield used 200 metres of oak strip to create something which we think is truly superb and gets many an apreciative remark from diners at night.
Our best wishes, John, Ricky and Marian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were really pleased by the very warm welcome that awaited us at this beautiful B&B. I thoroughly recommend this for any age range! We were well advised on local sites to visit and coming from Switzerland, happy to have some happy memories to take home with us and to share this great find! Thank you again for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It is so amazing Selina that you should post this review now as I was only thinking of you both last night when we had a mother and daughter to stay who run a bed and breakfast similar to ours in Switzerland! I was talking to them about you both as we do not have too many Swiss visitors. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for leaving this kind review. Marian - our model employee - who you both were pictured with also sends you her bleatings!
Kind regards, John and Ricky - joint owners of The Old Rectory on the lake, Tal-y-llyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Yes, back for our thirteenth visit and would thoroughly recommend you try The Old Rectory if you are looking for a great location, stunning scenery,welcoming hospitality and excellent food.
A stay with John and Ricky is memorable in so many ways.
Roll on our next visit!

Room Tip: Choose Craig Goch, Mynnydd Rugog or the Retreat for their spaciousness. and great views of the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raincheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
As usual great to see you both again and your visit was certainly not unlucky for us as you kindly bought us a huge box of chocolates. Thanks so very much! As we keep on saying on here we are just so flattered when discerning guests like yourselves keep returning again and again so we suppose we most be getting something right! Your kind comments are so much appreciated. Here's to your 14th visit and this time it's our turn to supply the chocolates!
Kind regards, John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a superb stay earlier in July at our favourite B&B in the whole world! On arrival went in the outdoor hot tub with the champagne. John then facilitated us holding our renewal of wedding vows there by the lake, being the officiant and taking some photos. He had put us in touch with a local florist for my posy. Ricky prepared a wonderful meal - he is a very talented chef - superlative cuisine, as usual. He also let off the fireworks for us later. They both entered into the spirit of the occasion and made it a very memorable celebration for us. It really is a very special place, peaceful, beautiful scenery, romantic, magical. We are very grateful to them and will definitely be returning! Their member of staff, Jarda, also deserves a mention - very ersonable and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VandRcardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thanks for posting this great review plus those amazing pictures. They never taught me to be a celebrant at bed and breakfast school but I really enjoyed the whole occasion and it was our utter pleasure to be involved in such an important and moving occasion. In fact we can do not better than reproduce below what we have written elsewhere about that memorable day. See you for your 30th anniversary if not before!!!
Our kindest regards to you both, John and Ricky - joint owners of your favourite B&B!

These two guests from Cardiff have been regular visitors to The Old Rectory on the lake -in fact they held their 20th wedding celebrations here. However we were well flattered when they chose to renew their marriage vows here at Tal-y-llyn five year later. For the last few months Vron had been planning their big day and spared no attention to detail. Many an email bounced back and forth as we discussed with her exactly what she required - she wanted the flowers, the meal and indeed the weather to be just right. Vron and Rich arrived mid afternoon and quickly jumped into the outdoor hot tub with a bottle of chilled champagne to steady their nerves. As there was no real vicar at hand John was roped in to lead the happy couple through their renewal vows which they did standing at the end of our garden overlooking the lake. As if on cue the sun came out and bathed the couple in early evening light. It was a very moving ten minutes as Vron and Richard said exactly what they meant to each other and outlined their hopes for the future. At the end they renewed their vows and exchanged rings and we are pleased to report that Vron shed many a tear! After more champagne it was time to enjoy a specially prepared celebratory meal by Chef Ricky with the first course being taken outside at a table overlooking the lake and served by Jarda. They then moved into the Orangery for the rest of their romantic four course dinner. Later amazing fireworks lit the skies above The Old Rectory on the lake and all agreed that it had been a most amazing and romantic of Silver Wedding days. One we, the happy couple and the other guests who were also staying here will never forget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing