We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Rectory on the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talyllyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I have stayed here a few times before, and the location is my favourite place. So when I found myself recently bereaved, it was the first place I headed, with nothing so organised as a booking. I was welcomed with open arms and think that even if there wasn't a room available John and Ricky would have taken me in an put me up on a campbed. They were lovely to me - there if I needed them, but respectful of my state of mind and just left to be if that's what I wanted.

The rooms are always clean and very pleasant, the food always excellent. But on this trip the welcome was what mattered most. Thank you both, in better times, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FrecklesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We hope things get easier for you and look forward to seeing you in better times.
Kindest regards, John and Ricky.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    22
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
112
571
39
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a superb two nights' stay at The Old Rectory. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by John who kindly provided us with coffee and cake which we enjoyed while soaking up the spectacular view from the terrace; the same view could also be appreciated from our room Mynydd Rugog which was very comfortable, clean and well appointed. We ate in the Orangery both evenings and the food was absolutely delicious - compliments to the chef Ricky! The breakfasts were equally good and the produce used seemed to be locally sourced where possible.

John and Ricky are fabulous hosts who obviously enjoy and appreciate the house, the local wildlife and area in general. A visit is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
We thank you for this glowing recommendation! We are also pleased that you picked up during your stay that we really do appreciate The Old Rectory on the lake, the local wildlife and the area in general. It is our pleasure to share all this with discerning guests like your goodselves and again thanks for taking the time to leave this review.
Kind regards to you both, John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Rectory on the Lake is a fantastic experience,from the warm welcome of John,our host, the spacious room,the beautiful setting and views,the friendly service and beaming smile from Yarda the waiter, and last but definitely not least the delicious locally sourced food cooked by Ricky, joint owner and amazing chef .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks so much for the comments about my food - to be described as an 'amazing chef' has made my day! Now back to the kitchen ...... I have eight diners tonight.
Kind regards, Ricky Francis - chef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family gave us this visit for my husband's 70th. I'm so glad they found and chose this place for us. It was truly perfect from start to finish. The room was luxurious - from bed to bathroom. Everything you need for your comfort was provided. The view from the window was breathtakingly beautiful - made you appreciate the magnificence of the country we live in. A walk round the lake before dinner enhanced our appetite - the food was sumptuous.

After an excellent night's sleep and hearty breakfast, we were ready to do battle with Cader Idris. Not an easy task but well worth the effort for it's majesty and splendour. We arrived back a little bedraggled but nevertheless elated by our achievement and looking forward to the evening ahead. Our second evening meal did not disappoint us - beautifully cooked and presented with lots of choice. However, the evening was not over. We made our weary way to the hot tub under the stars - sinking into the wonderful warm bubbling water. Minutes after settling in, our champagne and chocolates arrived. Perfect ending to the day.

We will definitely be back and would recommend this place to all and sundry.

Thank you to everyone at The Old Rectory on the lake.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
We are so happy that the family birthday present was such as success and that you enjoyed your time staying and dining at our home. Massive congratulations also for conquering Cadair Idris as you went up by far the hardest route and thanks for posting the pictures to prove that you did indeed get to the very top! You were so lucky with the weather too! Many love our hot tub under the stars and with champagne it's bliss - the hardest thing is getting out!
Kind regards from John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Each and every time I make my way over to Wales, I ensure myself a incredible experience. And each time, John, Ricky and Marian are there to provide it. The rooms are immaculate and the views are impeccable. It really does make any trip to the Old Rectory one to remember.

Whilst I was there, I experienced all sorts of weather conditions. Some days were sunny, and others were less than so. However each day was complimented by the other. The location on the lake submerges you in to isolation and relaxations. It is the true get away break.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the Snowdonia region of Wales. You will not regret it.

P.S. The food is to die for!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAmaniac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi to you over there in The States and thanks again for coming again to stay with us. We really appreciate you posting this review together with a great set of pictures. We were so pleased that you included two photographs of our new light installation which is now hanging proudly in our Orangery. We had it specially commissioned from an up and coming wood sculptor working down in Cornwall - talented Tom Raffield used 200 metres of oak strip to create something which we think is truly superb and gets many an apreciative remark from diners at night.
Our best wishes, John, Ricky and Marian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were really pleased by the very warm welcome that awaited us at this beautiful B&B. I thoroughly recommend this for any age range! We were well advised on local sites to visit and coming from Switzerland, happy to have some happy memories to take home with us and to share this great find! Thank you again for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
It is so amazing Selina that you should post this review now as I was only thinking of you both last night when we had a mother and daughter to stay who run a bed and breakfast similar to ours in Switzerland! I was talking to them about you both as we do not have too many Swiss visitors. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for leaving this kind review. Marian - our model employee - who you both were pictured with also sends you her bleatings!
Kind regards, John and Ricky - joint owners of The Old Rectory on the lake, Tal-y-llyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Yes, back for our thirteenth visit and would thoroughly recommend you try The Old Rectory if you are looking for a great location, stunning scenery,welcoming hospitality and excellent food.
A stay with John and Ricky is memorable in so many ways.
Roll on our next visit!

Room Tip: Choose Craig Goch, Mynnydd Rugog or the Retreat for their spaciousness. and great views of the lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raincheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
As usual great to see you both again and your visit was certainly not unlucky for us as you kindly bought us a huge box of chocolates. Thanks so very much! As we keep on saying on here we are just so flattered when discerning guests like yourselves keep returning again and again so we suppose we most be getting something right! Your kind comments are so much appreciated. Here's to your 14th visit and this time it's our turn to supply the chocolates!
Kind regards, John and Ricky - joint owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.1 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Slate Shed B &B at Graig Wen
6.2 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
5.1 mi away
Tan y Gader
Tan y Gader
#2 of 34 in Dolgellau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Property: The Old Rectory on the Lake
Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing