We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, fabulous room & delicious food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in Craig Goch Room overlooking the beautiful lake. The bedroom was large & comfortable & the bathroom was huge with a free standing bath in the centre & a separate shower cubicle. Ricky & John were very welcoming. The breakfast was delicious. We ate at The Rectory both evenings, the food was excellent with a different menu each day & very good value.
The surroundings are stunning; we walked into the hills above the B&B & then around the lake. It took just over 4 hours.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

926 - 932 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2009

We had high expectations for The Rectory on the Lake - we found it in Sawday's B&B guide, and based on its review there, as well as other sites like TripAdvisor, we decided to make it the highlight of our trip. Since we were driving around for a week in Wales and the West of England, we usually stayed in each guest house for one night, but booked two nights at the Rectory.

We did have a little trouble finding the house - don't rely on finding the postcode on Google Maps, since it points you to the wrong end of the lake, and your GPS will probably try to take you down a non-existent road. However, once we arrived, the journey was immediately worthwhile since the view from the house (and our room, since we faced the lake) was just stunning. It looks up at the mountain on the lake - both room and mountain are called Mynydd Rugog. If you're a hiker, and the weather allows, it's great for walking.

The guest house offers dinner as well as breakfast; we ate on one of our two nights, and everything was done to restaurant standard.

The only downside of our stay was that, contrary to other reviews and our expectations, the welcome and service from the hosts, John and Ricky, was rather brisk. They are certainly very nice people, and not unfriendly in the slightest, but aside from our initial arrival (while John was checking email), they seemed so busy that we didn't really get to engage them in conversation. (Ricky is the chef, so we saw much less of him.) Other reviews peg them as warm and sociable, which we're sure is the usual case, but they didn't shine for us in that regard.

Other than that, it's a beautiful place to stay - don't expect cellphone reception, but they do provide wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank squidalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2008

My Husband and I were fortunate enough to stumble across The Old Rectory On the Lake's website and to choose them as the destination for our honeymoon. Everything was perfect. The room was delightful, the bathroom very inviting, the views breathtaking and John and Ricky couldn't do enough to make our stay special, even helping the Mr organise a surprise fireworks display while we soaked in the hot tub. It really was so special and we will definitely be going back sometime in the next year, hopefully for the first anniversary. Thanks John and Ricky, see you again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyhooLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

The Rectory is such a wonderful find - my aunt stumbled upon it for afternoon tea and since then friends and family have flocked here. We received an immediate warm welcome from John followed by just cooked scones and cream from Ricky. We stayed in Myndd Rygog and the view was absolutely spectacular. The bathroom is amazing - far exceeds 4 star hotels. The area is wonderful for views, walking and relaxing. Do eat at the Rectory as Ricky is a renowned chef. We will be back for more....

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Harvey-Pup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

we stayed with John and Ricky twice and it was a brilliant experience both times. Beautiful large rooms with great views over the lake, healthy breakfast with fresh fruit and lots of choice, perfect dinner and above all natural and real friendliness. John will always have good advice on what to do and see in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Cologne226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowdoniatraveller, Owner at The Old Rectory on the Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: best room with lake view of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NeRS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.5 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
8.9 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
7.8 mi away
Ty'r Graig Castle
Ty'r Graig Castle
#1 of 4 in Barmouth
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
339 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
243 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pandy Isaf Country House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Rectory on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Rectory on the Lake

Address: Talyllyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range: £108 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Rectory on the Lake 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Rectory on the lake has been overlooking Tal-y-llyn, in south Snowdonia for over a hundred years. This imposing residence stands on the foothills of Cader Idris and offers five star luxurious bed and breakfast accommodation in a stunning setting. It is the ideal base for the discerning visitor to explore this particularly quiet and unspoilt scenic area of Wales. We are equidistant between the bustling market towns of Machynlleth and Dolgellau and the delightful coastal village of Aberdyfi.The Old Rectory on the lake has three double letting rooms - all ensuite - and all look out onto the lake. Our bathrooms upstairs were described as being 'outstanding contemporary ensuites' by the Visit Wales inspector when awarding us five stars.Already our culinary reputation is beginning to spread - indeed we have even been mentioned by name in The House of Commons during a debate on Welsh produce. Our chef can cater for any dietary requirement. The Old Rectory on the lake is licensed.We suggest that this is the ultimate place to unwind; the scenery is breath taking and the silence deafening. All our beds have crisp Egyptian cotton sheets and freshly laundered fluffy towels are in every bathroom and also in the sauna and out outdoor hot tub area which - like most of our windows - looks out over the ever changing Talyllyn - enthusiastically penned in our entry in Alistair Sawday's Special Places to Stay book as ' large, lovely and luminous'.We look forward to perhaps welcoming you here very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Rectory on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Rectory On The Lake Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing