We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best views in Wales”
Review of Pen-y-Bont Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Talyllyn Lake in all its moods, from calm and serene to wind-whipped must be one of the most perfect outlooks for a hotel in Wales. Highlights of our three days here include walking into the back of the Cader Idris range via a steady climbing route past Llewylln's castle and Mary Jones' cottage, with the whole valley to ourselves; similarly quiet and beautiful Bird Rock...choughs, ravens and cormorants nesting this far inland; and the amazing osprey project that the Wildlife Trust runs not so far away, with its vivid cctv screens on these magnificent birds
And of course the welcome from the hotel owners and the staff, and the friendliness of the bar-resteraunt where we enjoyed the cooking each of the evenings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Angela and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and very much appreciate the praise for the welcome and our home-cooked food! It is a location that is beautiful all year round, whether in solitude or in the crowds of the summer season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

I had Been travelling around wales and was staying at a friends not far from this location, he recommended that we go to the hotel for a meal, i searched up on trip advisor about the place the night before and i must say i was rather dubious about the food and service, but i was pleasantly surprised the food was absolutely glorious and the service was second-to-none.

The hotel is period of the 16th century with three open coal fires and slate flooring in some places, was also very well presented. the hotel is situated at the foot of a lake called Llyn Mwyngil with spectacular views all around although was too cold to sit out and enjoy the views.

Anybody that will be travelling and need a place to stay i would thoroughly recommend The Pen-Y-Bont hotel to them as their first port of call, i cant comment on the rooms as i never actually stayed there but given the service i received im sure they will be of high standard

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markshanks1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank You Mark, we are so glad you loved the food and felt so valued by the service. We sincerely hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We had a wonderful weekend here and were made to feel really at home. From the moment we stepped through the door the owners made us so welcome. The bedroom was warm, nice hot shower after a day on the hills and the bed especially comfortable. There was a great choice on the menu and the food was really great, I definitely recommend the steak and ale pie! Great hosts, superb location, good food - a really lovely place to stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrannyB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank You Granny B44! Yes many people say that our Steak and Ale pie is second to none although this year we have added a delicious range of Gourmet Burgers, home-made Fisherman's Pie and Scallops in Brandy Cream sauce! We constantly seek to improve customer's taste experience with new and up to date choices to expand our range of home-cooked menu favourites! It is very important to us that you experienced such a warm welcome so thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for a weekend with a group of friends. The owners made is feel very welcome and as we we were arriving late kept the bar open for us which was appreciated. The hotel is clean and warm and the hosts very welcoming and very knowledgable on the area, the location and views are stunning, and food was excellent. We hope to return again soon and stay a longer !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

It is marvellous to receive such positive comments about our customer care and home-cooked food. Thank You David. The location is of course remarkable and we hope you will come and experience the wonder of this "little piece of Heaven on Earth" again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago with our dog. To be honest, for the room rate, we did expect more... the whole building was quite cold, the room even more so. It was clean and tidy, if a little dated. Bathroom was freezing, and there was no attachment to hang the shower head from, which was a bit of a pain!
Food in the restaurant wasn't great, seemed to be poor quality/possibly just reheated. It wasn't cheap either, so that was disappointing. Also, if you bring a dog, you have to sit in the back room. Now, I don't mind having a separate area for dogs, but it was a cold, dank room at the back, right next to the toilets. No main door on the toilets so you were constantly interrupted by the sound of the tank flushing through. No working lights in there either. Now, we spent a fair amount on drinks and dinner, so I did resent feeling like a second class citizen a bit, just because I had my dog with me. It's almost as if our custom doesn't matter as much?
Hosts were very friendly and helpful, which makes writing a negative review a shame. I just feel for the money it didn't really live up to expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank ElvishBadgerQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

We do remember your visit, which was in August in 80F temperatures. We are very surprised to say the least that you were cold in these conditions. How could we be expected to know this in these high summer conditions? We are so sorry that you didn't feel able to speak to us personally about this as we would have been more than happy to provide heaters, blankets, anything really to enhance your experience. It is of great concern to us that your perception of our home-cooked food was not of the high standard that we expect and you deserve. I can only hope that one day you return so that we can demonstrate that there is surely something on our extensive menu that would be to your liking. We cater for dog owners and value them just as highly as our other visitors. We have listened to your concerns and this year we have added a new seating area in a prime position by the lake which is separate from the main Beer Garden. We may not be a finished article but I hope one day you will return and see that we are not resting back on our laurels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

If u are thinking Wales, u must see this place. From a short distance from a hotel(10 min by car) You will find a magic escape intro nature, through waterfalls, hidden caves, flora and fauna,King Arthur labyrinth, Hobbit trees, and breath taking mountain views.

If you are the one seeking a luxury and meal in 10 minutes to be ready for you do not be fooled. Did ever seen a home made food to be ready in such a short time? People do not have a patience these days, they are like spoiled kids screaming ''feed me now''. I waited for my food to come longer than usual but the quality was delighting. Every morning we were welcomed with fresh veg or watermelon juice and garden salad. My partner is a meaty person enjoyed local beacon and free range eggs.

The rooms were very clean with comfy bed, and supply with drinks on arrival. The staff were very polite and helpful. The owners night stories about Celtic legends and Druids only assured me that was a place we will be back shortly.

Kasia and Derek

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KasiaTomczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank You Kasia! It was great to meet yourself and Derek when you visited in August and to find we'd met two new friends! Thanks for the inspiration and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We visited the restaurant/pub as a family of 9 for a Pre-booked Sunday lunch. It was my idea to revisit this place as we frequented it many years ago and it was always a treat and we always felt it was a smart, even 'posh' place to have a special meal out. What a disappointment! And how embarrassed I felt to have recommended this place. On arrival we felt as though we had walked into the toilets as there was a strong, damp smell of toilet cleaner. The first room is dank and grotty. Th main room, where the bar is is sparse with patterned carpet and turquoise painted walls. I am sure a few walls have been taken down to create this space, but it was far nicer years ago when there were smaller, cosy rooms. We had booked a table but still had to queue to order out meals. Service was slow and unreliable.
The meals arrived swimming in gravy, with soggy veg and very little meat. On reflection I'm not really sure my lamb was lamb as it looked and tasted more like pork!
Completely overpriced - £10.95 for one course. £10.95 for a child's 2 course.
The pub cannot take any credit for the outstanding views, which remain unchanged and beautiful.
We won't ever return and would dissuade anyone from eating at the pub.
I notice all the positive reviews are about the scenery, and from people sitting outside!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
49  Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, Owner at Pen-y-Bont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Customer reviews on booking.com rate the friendliness of our staff at 9.3 out of ten, compared to 9.1 for the location. We are very proud of this fact. The same statistical database, measured over many dozens of reviews, rates our food as the best of any of our local competitors on booking.com. If you were to contact us and make yourself known in person, we would demonstrate to you that the experience and perceptions you describe do not define what we are doing here at the Pen-y-Bont Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.6 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
#3 of 5 in Talyllyn
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Old Rectory on the Lake
1.9 mi away
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
#4 of 5 in Talyllyn
78 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pen-y-Bont Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pen-y-Bont Hotel

Address: Talyllyn | Tywyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range: £89 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pen-y-Bont Hotel in Talyllyn is a 16th Century Coaching Inn situated on the South West shore of Llyn Mwyngil (Talyllyn Lake) in Southern Snowdonia, Wales. Our location at the foot of Cadair Idris is magical and uniquely beautiful, the views you see here are shown by many yet only fully seen from our premises. We offer a warm welcome to all our visitors and share our knowledge of the local area, helping you to get the most out of your stay in this serene Celtic landscape. Many Welsh myths are centred here, and the landscape is untouched by development. Within the valley we have virtually no mobile phone signals, although there is free WiFi throughout the Hotel Building & we have Flat screen TVs in all the rooms. We have five rooms, a Bar and a Restaurant. Our Beer Garden is where you can see Talyllyn at it's best, and is a sensational place to eat on a warm Summer's day. At other times you can cosy up by one of our log fires in the Fireside Restaurant and Bar. Come and enjoy our Home-cooked meals with Real Chips and Real Ale, in one of the most stunning locations in Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pen-y-Bont Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen-y-Bont Hotel Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing