We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean, tidy, welcoming and warm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, clean, tidy, welcoming and warm”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Having read some of the earlier reviews my wife and I arrived with some trepidation but from the outset I can say this was unfounded.

We stayed in Room 2 and our friend in Room 1. Both rooms and en suite bathrooms were spotlessly clean, warm and welcoming. Some of the fittings are a little dated and the floor slopes, but this is Mid-Wales in the heart of walking/fishing country not some central metropolis.

The food in the restaurant was very well cooked and service was totally acceptable. Breakfast was also well cooked, promptly served and large enough for the day.

The fact that the hotel is in administration was not obvious and to me seems irrelevant. The room for two was £130 per night, including bed, breakfast and evening meal and this was a little on the expensive side, however all-in-all I would not hesitate in recommending for a weekends walking or fishing.

Room Tip: Room 1 - Great lake views but shower only. Room 2 - Same views but bath and shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clivedunster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    69
    25
    28
    34
See reviews for
53
138
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

I have just come back from a long weekend staying at the Tynycornel Hotel. For the price we paid for two people £80 pn I wouldn't fault this hotel in too many ways, apart from the room being a little tired, this hotel is a very warming, friendly place to stay.The food was lovely especially the rack of lamb, I had on the second night and would definitely recommend people to try this when visiting.All the staff were friendly and very helpful and even though I found out during my stay that the hotel is under Administration I would stay again.

The location is great and the view from the room was fantastic and for my first time visiting Wales I wasn't disappointed. Wish we had stayed a bit longer and had the chance fishing on the lake as we found out from speaking to the gentleman who looks after the lake but hopefully we will next time we visit.

Ps, Take some bread for Henry 'Swan'.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silva6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We stayed for two nights July 2011. The hotel location was amazing. Our room was clean and comfortable. We found the room rate charged to be reasonable. We enjoyed the food offered at Breakfast and Dinner. The staff were very hard working and worked incredibly long hours, but were always friendly and helpful. We also found out that the hotel is currently in Administration, whilst seeking a new owner. As a business it has definate potential and If I had won the Lottery this weekend,, then I would certainly have brought it.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsHandMrP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I have never felt the need to write a review before but a weekend trip to this hotel has changed that! This is a hotel that is apparently in administration - it was impossible not to hear several conversations between staff and other guests during the course of our stay. They are understaffed by their own admission and I felt quite sorry for them trying to provide some sort of service under difficult circumstances. One lady was trying to book in customers serve drinks and man the phone. In frustration I noticed one customer leave his money at reception asking guests waiting to check in to tell her that he couldn't wait any longer. Our room was tired and cramped and not very clean. Thick dust on bedroom light fittings and door panels, the extractor fan in the bathroom was clogged with it! The toilet was also in need of a dire clean and descale! The shower over the bath was about to collapse and there was paper peeling off the ceiling! The first morning despite the dining room being empty bar one other party we waited 45 mins for our breakfast order, which when it came was wrong. I was not terribly enthusiastic to observe the chef nipping outside for a quick cigarette! We chose not to sample the dining room on either evening. Dust and dead flies on window sills I could go on! Suffice to say despite the lovely location we will not be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Happysmileyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Talyllyn hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

This was our third visit to Tynycornel Hotel in the last few years, and the stunning landscapes around the Hotel still take our breath away!
The Hotel stands on the edge of the lake that it owns, and fishermen young and old are welcome to fish there for a modest fee and with the added guidance of the resident ‘gillie’. There are facilities for those disabled / wheelchair users who still like to cast a line now and again.
There has been a change in the Management in recent months, and his warm welcome and “nothing is too much trouble” attitude was reflected by all of the staff. The catering continues to be excellent, and numerous passers-by stop off for a morning coffee, a light lunch/sandwich or afternoon tea in the comfortable lounge. It is not unusual to hear that a wedding party is due to visit, and one cannot think of a more exciting location for a Bride and Groom to start their married life.
We have tried a couple of the rooms (most of which overlook the wonderful lake) and our favourite is the Swan Room. This is at the far end of the Hotel and one can relax in bed whilst viewing the lake and mountains through the French windows.
It is always a wrench when one has to leave, but we know that we will be back again soon to enjoy yet another totally relaxing but invigorating break from the hustle and bustle of the “Big City”.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the lake - wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBrumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

This is more a review of the service we didn't receive from the hotel and its management. After meeting with the manager to enquire about holding our wedding there he promised he would respond with a quote/options. Needless to say he never responded which was extremely disappointing as my husband's family are from the area and we really wanted to hold it locally and also pump some money into the local economy.
Could it be perhaps that we turned up on a motorbike that he didn't want 'our sort' at the hotel? Not sure, all I do know is that the Brigands Inn down the road were much more accommodating, friendly, cheaper and a nicer environment . They were more than happy for us and our guests to spend our money with them. I certainly wont be going back to the Tynycornel.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
24 Thank bowlesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The room was adequate for our short stay but sleep was disturbed as room was very warm despite turning radiators down, casting off the bedding and opening the window.

We quickly made ourselves at home in the comfy chairs in the lounge and sat enjoying the relaxing view across the lake.

We opted for the 3 course meal in the restaurant on the Saturday evening which we found to be faultless.

Breakfast was also good however more continental choice would be welcomed.

We received attentive service from all staff during our stay and never felt that we were being hurried at any point.

We will be happy to stay again in future.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lady_Dance-a-lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
6.1 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#1 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
#4 of 5 in Talyllyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'yn y Cornel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Property: T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Address: | Tywyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — T'yn y Cornel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your T'yn y Cornel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
T'Yn y Cornel Hotel Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing