We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Geraint saved the day” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Geraint saved the day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Our visit to Tynycornel Hotel began badly when we were told that there was no chef in that evening "Weren't you told when you phoned earlier? You should have been." We were a bit miffed about that as we'd only booked 4 hours earlier and the hotel is somewhat distant from other restaurants.

Our hearts sank even further when we discovered the reason why there was no chef. Apparently the hotel went into administration in April and has been run by the bank ever since, which won't put any money into staff costs, upkeep or, in fact, anything at all. The day we stayed there was only accommodation available in the outside extensions as the heating was broken on the top floor of the main building and there was no money to fix it.

This really does show in the appearance of the hotel: wallpaper beginning to peel in places, stains, tired upholstery and the a horribly soft and saggy bed. Nevertheless, our room (Swan) had a lovely view across the lake, was well proportioned and had a good bathroom.The heating worked fine in there, including underfloor.

Not surprisingly, the place was almost empty. There were two other couples staying there, but we didn't see them until breakfast the following morning, so spent a very quiet evening in the lounge area using the free wifi and reading.

Apart from the beautiful surroundings, which are always stunning, the main plus point of our stay was the wonderful Geraint. He was the only staff member on duty in the entire hotel, but looked after us beautifully, pouring our drinks, serving us sandwiches to make up for the lack of chef and, in the morning, produced a lovely Welsh breakfast which was perfectly cooked. It seems like he is horribly taken for granted and we'd employ him like a shot if we were in the business.

The hotel has apparently been bought by new owners and we really hope that they'll bring the building back up to standard and treasure Geraint as a valued member of staff. We will be back, but only when we've heard that investments have been made and things have improved.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
46 Thank nicnjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    64
    25
    27
    34
See reviews for
46
126
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

It is absolutley criminal that this hotel has been allowed to deteriorate to such a sad state in approx. 2 years. We have been visiting here for about 25yrs, our last visit was 18 months ago and the cracks had already started to show, inc the poor fishing. Yes the rooms are a bit small but this was more than compensated for in the past by great food, excellent staff and magnificent location (all that seems to be left is the location!). Please will someone get a grip and restore it to its former standards. Better still reinstate Tommy who was a real presence and managed it so well for about 20yrs

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
51 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

Just returned from a stay at this lovely hotel. I have wanted to have a break here for years having called in on previous occassions for afternoon tea or evening meals. The location of the hotel and the beauty of the surrounding area is simply to die for. The Winter Wellie Break was the excuse we needed. Two nights dinner bed and breakfast + 3rd night B&B at no extra cost.The whole experiance lived up to expectations. The staff were very helpful and provided service with a smile and friendly approach to the guests. The food was excellent and plentful. The dining areas are very well appointed with a comfortable lounge and bar which commands a perfect view across the lake and at the time of our visit, the snow covered approaches to the nearby summit of Cadair Idris. Our bedroom was very comfortable with everthing you would need if you prefer your privacy to the companionship that the public areas offer. So to sum up - If your a Fly Fisherman, an experianced or casual walker, or just need some pure R&R then this should be the place for you.

Room Tip: The Hotel offers Superior and Standard rooms. Our package was for a standard room which was very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brissy112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We stayed here recently for two nights having stayed at the hotel on previous occasions.We had to move room twice as the 1st being not very clean , the 2nd room was cold and the radiators did not work , the cleanliness of the hotel had a lot to be desired - the bedrooms and bathrooms are in a definate need of updating , the milk in our room was out of date , the cups dusty as we found out when we made tea the next morning .We did not eat dinner at the hotel after being informed they did,nt have a qualified chef but breakfast served in the lovely dining room was good and plentiful .Geraint the waiter/ barman/receptionist was helpful, polite and chatty. Its a little sad as we have previously had good food and service here . We are told their are new owners , we hope with a lot of investment it will return to it,s former glory.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are of a better standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
46 Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Talyllyn hotels

Llanelli, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

we had a fantastic 2 nights at Tynycornel, helpful and polite staff, great food and fab location. Highly recommended if you just want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed for one night recently and found the hotel to be extremely quiet - in fact a bit like the reading room at the library! It was a bad night of weather and I guess no-one wanted to venture out. The staff were very pleasant and eager to please, the dinner was OK, starters were obviously from the freezer and placed in the deep fat fryer - but the maincourses were better. Breakfast was the best meal - served efficiently, warm and plentiful. The bedroom was cold, creaky and not at all 'cosy' and had an aroma of years of smoking without having had the carpet changed or being decorated. The bathroom was definitely in need of a complete refurb and we tried not to look too closely when showering. Overall - just average but for the price - reasonable value. Food a little excessive though for the quality at £25.00 pp for three courses.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank BurleyGirl449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

we decided to stay at the tynycornel. on check in the receptionist was every polite and gave us all the information we needed and personally showed us to our room which as a nice touch. she gave her name and said that if we needed anything to just "give her a shout". we stayed in room Heron. a large room with a fab balcony over looking the lake. what an amazing view to wake up to. breakfast was good and we opted for a bar meal in the evening which was served in the lounge area or the conservatory which as a view of the lake they were large portions and where good. the main restaurant disappointingly has no view but the warm atmosphere made up for it. i would defiantly recommend the hotel to all my friends and family.

Room Tip: superior rooms are a walk from the main building but offer great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.0 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
6.6 mi away
Plas Dolguog Hotel
Plas Dolguog Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Penhelig Arms
Penhelig Arms
#2 of 4 in Aberdovey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
#4 of 5 in Talyllyn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'yn y Cornel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Property: T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Address: Tywyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — T'yn y Cornel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your T'yn y Cornel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
T'Yn y Cornel Hotel Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing