We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No chef, no drinks, no chance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“No chef, no drinks, no chance!”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We should have known things were going to be bad when this hotel called us a day before our arrival to say they had no dinner chef and we could bring our own wine as their drinks license had expired! In retrospect we realise we were stupid not to have cut our losses then. On arrival it just went badly down hill, our room was jaded and dirty, milk was past its use by date, the bathroom was not that clean and the water not that hot. Others told us that they had to change room and it appeared there were very few staff, not that it mattered as there were very few guests! But the few front of staff who were hanging around could talk for Wales – one lad who we could not shake off gave us his life story and rather indiscreetly revealed how much the new owners had paid for the place and another (maybe the manager?) stopped gossiping about another nearby establishment when she realized we were listening. The new owners, who we were told were about to move in any moment, will have an uphill struggle turning this place around.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJDavies, Manager at T'yn y Cornel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Firstly, thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to report that we have now officially taken over the Ty'n Y Cornel hotel as of this weekend just passed. We have already taken a couple of steps to improve the business but sadly we can't make all the changes we would like overnight! We appreciate that we have a long road ahead of us to say the least. I'd like to highlight a couple of the changes we have already made however:

We have sorted out the drinks license and have put in a couple of chefs from our other business whilst we interview for a new head chef. We have a lot of work to do in the kitchen but as soon as we can we will only be serving freshly prepared food using local suppliers - in fact we have already done this with the evening menu which will be changing regularly.

We have refurbished the cellar and bar and are currently organising a wine tasting in order to put together a wine list that will compliment the food on offer, as well as introducing real ales and ciders produced locally.

We have also invested in the lake, with a professional weed cutter bought and the lake re-stocked with brown trout.

After a couple of weeks to bed in and take care of the work that needs doing back-of-house we will be holding an open day to which everyone will be welcome.

Any feedback or suggestions are always welcome, and we hope to bring Tyn-y-Cornel up to the standards expected by our customers and beyond.

Many Thanks
Ed and the Jenkin-Davies family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    72
    26
    28
    34
See reviews for
59
149
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

By chance, I was lucky enough to stay there at a very historic moment in the life of this legendary fishing hotel. After years of uncertainty the hotel has been bought by committed new owners and will return to being a family-run business. I met two of the new owners who arrived half way through my stay and it's clear that they will be just what this place needs. Despite the difficulties the hotel's staff were awesome, particularly Anwen, Terry and Phil the Ghillie and nothing was too much trouble. It never stopped raining once during my 3 night stay, but the plus side was that the trout prefer it that way and I had full bags both days. With a combination of the lovely local staff and a management team that knows what it's doing, I think this will the start of an exciting time for the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We had stayed here in the 70's and were having a trip down memory lane. Despite the awful weather, we enjoyed our stay. The food was very good and the service was too. The only negative comment would be that upon asking for a bread roll with dinner, we were told that the chef does not allow anyone to have a bread roll other than if having soup, but the obliging waiter said we could have some bread!!

Room Tip: If booking a standard room, ask for one overlooking the lake, these have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London/Worcs
Level Contributor
492 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stopped here for tea and toasted tea cakes and sat in one of the bay windows in the lounge overlooking the lake. We appeared to be the only people around on a Saturday afternoon and having just read other reviews the current lack of personnel / change of ownership appears to be the reason - the guy on reception served us. The hotel is beautifully situated so would be a pity if it is not restored to its former glory.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Don't be put off by the last review just ask for a room in the new section! We stayed in the honey moon room and it was idyllic - windows on two sides looking over the lake and the valley, a patio, peace and quiet, baby lambs and daffodils!! The breakfast was good but don't have an evening meal there until there is a chef. It is a beautiful place despite its short comings. All of the staff were good including Geraint.

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon room- it was special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We first stayed in this hotel 35 years ago and have been there off and on since then. It is in a dream location on the banks of Talyllyn Lake in Snowdonia. It is ideally located and the local walks are breathtaking. The hotel is in administration and is on the decline.
The plus side is that we could stay with our 2 dogs, however, the room we were given was really tired and shabby. The dogs seemed to be keen to have a look under the bed so I pushed it back and they found a bit of cake, a hair bobble , a sock and a tiny teddy bear. There were bits of grit and dust on one of the beds that had fallen from a window in the ceiling. The extra blankets were odd and dirty looking. The bathroom was strictly from the late 70s. All in all, it needs up dating but in the meantime, a really good clean.
The bar area is very nice and bright and we were very well looked after and entertained by Geraint. We didnt eat in the hotel as there was no chef but I believe that breakfast is available and bar snacks too.
We look forwards to returning to the hotel but only when it has new owners and it has been refurbished . Hopefully that will be not too long a wait

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Janey-El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Our visit to Tynycornel Hotel began badly when we were told that there was no chef in that evening "Weren't you told when you phoned earlier? You should have been." We were a bit miffed about that as we'd only booked 4 hours earlier and the hotel is somewhat distant from other restaurants.

Our hearts sank even further when we discovered the reason why there was no chef. Apparently the hotel went into administration in April and has been run by the bank ever since, which won't put any money into staff costs, upkeep or, in fact, anything at all. The day we stayed there was only accommodation available in the outside extensions as the heating was broken on the top floor of the main building and there was no money to fix it.

This really does show in the appearance of the hotel: wallpaper beginning to peel in places, stains, tired upholstery and the a horribly soft and saggy bed. Nevertheless, our room (Swan) had a lovely view across the lake, was well proportioned and had a good bathroom.The heating worked fine in there, including underfloor.

Not surprisingly, the place was almost empty. There were two other couples staying there, but we didn't see them until breakfast the following morning, so spent a very quiet evening in the lounge area using the free wifi and reading.

Apart from the beautiful surroundings, which are always stunning, the main plus point of our stay was the wonderful Geraint. He was the only staff member on duty in the entire hotel, but looked after us beautifully, pouring our drinks, serving us sandwiches to make up for the lack of chef and, in the morning, produced a lovely Welsh breakfast which was perfectly cooked. It seems like he is horribly taken for granted and we'd employ him like a shot if we were in the business.

The hotel has apparently been bought by new owners and we really hope that they'll bring the building back up to standard and treasure Geraint as a valued member of staff. We will be back, but only when we've heard that investments have been made and things have improved.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
46 Thank nicnjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
150 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Rectory on the Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
62 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
#4 of 5 in Talyllyn
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'yn y Cornel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Property: T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Address: | Tywyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — T'yn y Cornel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your T'yn y Cornel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
T'Yn y Cornel Hotel Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing