We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby, dirty, awful a terrible end to a wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Shabby, dirty, awful a terrible end to a wonderful weekend”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My wife had booked this hotel as a stop off on the way home after a few nights further south in a wonderful B&B. The B&B we stayed in had a "Good Hotel Guide" and the Tynycornel was featured with pictures and write up. The description and pictures looked fantastic - wonderful location, views, atmosphere and food, a perfect end to our break and an exciting punctuation to our trip home...or so we thought. Upon arrival all looked excellent - shining sun and a location to take your breath away. We checked in and opened the door to our room (number 3 top of the stairs). Fusty, dirty, tired and dirty. It smelt damp and unused. A family room for a couple with no view other than a tiled roof from a hotel noted for its "breathtaking views" the bed was located in a dark light-less corner. The bathroom was dilapidated, dirty and unwelcoming. The windows held countless dead green fly and mosquitoes - awful. We asked to be shown to another room. This was done without complaint and it was explained that the hotel had been recently taken over from administration. The "alternative room" on first inspection looked better, a small annexed room (Number 4 The Cormorant) - however upon closer inspection the same infestation of dead green flies - at least 200+ all dead on the window sills and caught in the window nets. The bath plug had an abundance of human hair hanging from it. The shower had black & pink grout and a very mildew aroma. Sheets were dirty and holed. This hotel has seen better days indeed. Cleanliness costs nothing even if the rooms are tired. Having just come out of administration should they not strive to avoid the pitfalls that can ruin a hotel? You never get a second chance to make a first impression - this place is awful - avoid at all costs. It is such a pity as the hotel could be so much more.

Room Tip: My tip to choose a good room is - find a different hotel - this one stinks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
38 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJDavies, Manager at T'yn y Cornel Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us on here.

Having spoken to the staff I can now comment. I can agree that room 3 does indeed need bringing up to date, but it certainly is kept clean, as are the other rooms. As I have previously commented, our housekeepers are working to deep-clean every room, and this is one they had done. Having stayed in the room myself, there views are of the tiled roof of the restaurant. One of the first changes to the website was to make it clear that not all the rooms have views of the lake and that it should be specified at the time of booking if this was important (to some people it is, others use the rooms purely to sleep in between fishing!)

As you quite rightly point out, we immediately offered you another room - a superior double in the new annex. Again I have to dispute the cleanliness of the room - our sheets are not 'dirty and holed', the bath did not have 'an abundance of human hair' and while there were flies on the windowsill, nowhere near '200+'.

The hotel is a fly-fishing hotel, with over 200 acres of lake. The reason why the fishing is so good on the lake is it's location, ideal for flies. I have inspected a room immediately after it being cleaned, only to check it again a couple of hours later to find a number of flies - unfortunately the solutions we've tried so far haven't worked. We are trying to find a workable solution that won't affect the popular fishing lake, and ask our guests to understand that there will be flies around a fly-fishing lake.

Sadly not all customers are understanding - as shown by the final 2 sentences written by a reviewer who choose not to stay (we didn't charge them the room or their deposit) and spent less than an hour with us, yet took the time to strip the beds down and remove all the complementary tea and coffee sachets. I hope other customers will see the exaggerations in this review for what they are.

We will continue to improve the business, taking on board all feedback, and as the comments from locals who pass by daily and regular customers testify, we are moving in the right direction.

Ed Jenkin-Davies and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    73
    26
    28
    34
See reviews for
59
153
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Lovely setting for this hotel on the edge of the beautiful Talyllyn lake and just under the majestic Cadre Idris.
Despite the new owners having been there less that a week, all the staff were friendly and helpful. The food choice for dinner was a bit limited, but I think that will improve as the new staff settle in. Breakfast was excellent.
Only downside was we only stayed 1 night, will go back and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daves750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJDavies, Manager at T'yn y Cornel Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are currently working with our chef and staff to develop a popular seasonal menu, trying different dishes regularly. We hope you come again - our new-look website will soon be launched and will have the menus on it.

Good to hear the staff are being friendly and helpful - such an important aspect of the business.

Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We arrived on Friday afternoon and immediately were made to feel very much at home. We were shown to our room which was very clean and adequate. We then decided to have some afternoon tea enjoying the stunning views of the lake from the picture windows in the lounge. Other members of our family were also staying in the area and at short notice decided they would like to join us for dinner that evening - this did not pose any problem for the hotel and a table soon laid up. In all there were 9 of us who all enjoyed an excellent 3 course dinner with plenty of choice and cooked to perfection. Breakfast at the hotel was also very good and set us up for the day - again plenty of choice.
The new owners of this idyllic hotel are trying very hard to bring this business back up to standard and given the chance will do just that. We have no complaints and will return. Special thanks to Geraint who was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. A great guy!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJDavies, Manager at T'yn y Cornel Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review - we're glad you enjoyed your stay and your family meal and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This has to be one of the most stunning locations for a country hotel...a lake, a beautiful Welsh valley with majestic mountains, a handsome (from a distance) hotel on the lake shore. I appreciate that this hotel is in the middle of changing hands (we stayed 18/08/12) but my honest advice would be: shut the place for a couple of weeks, got your act together in a reputation damage limitation exercise. In that 2 weeks, deep clean everywhere, interview new staff and land yourself a 'named' chef, refurbish the well stocked mature garden, and make sure all your drinks are in stock, and where necessasry kept at the right temperature. Sleep in every room to check the user experience - and replace the bed in Mallard - it is an instrument of torture.

The possibilities with this place are endless and it could be a stunning and profitable lifestyle and leisure facility, but it needs revolution, not evloution. And if you decide to sell again, please get in touch. I wish you the very best of luck - please bring this treasure back to life.

Room Tip: Don't chose Mallard - the bed is agonising. And insist on checking all other beds are not of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
35 Thank liz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJDavies, Manager at T'yn y Cornel Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Again, thank you for your feedback Liz.

I'm afraid we're unable to shut the hotel as you've suggested - a mixture of hotel bookings, functions and a bank holiday all make it unfeasible.

We have currently hired 2 extra housekeepers who are working hard daily to deep clean each bedroom and the public areas, whilst the kitchen staff are flat out deep cleaning the kitchen and storage areas.

Our handymen are getting through all the jobs needed to be done outside, which as you point out are sizeable to say the least!

Beds are top of our hit list and we'll be ordering new shortly. As you've suggested we are sleeping in each of the rooms to see what work needs doing from a customer's point of view.

As much as we'd like to be able to fix all the problems with the hotel over-night, the previous years have been hard on the property and Rome wasn't built in a day.

Hope to see you again
Ed and the Jenkin-Davies family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We did not stay but had dinner here. The new owners had just been there a week so things are bound to be in flux. Service was a little on the slow side as there weren't many diners (and the children are a little impatient). The fish and chips, which three of us had, were excellent and the tartare sauce was clearly home-made and delicious. My husband had ordered a rare steak but it was well-cooked when it arrived. However, on pointing this out, it was replaced immediately, was excellent, and we were only charged half-price for it. The view of the lake is wonderful from the dining area. I'd try it again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maloptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We should have known things were going to be bad when this hotel called us a day before our arrival to say they had no dinner chef and we could bring our own wine as their drinks license had expired! In retrospect we realise we were stupid not to have cut our losses then. On arrival it just went badly down hill, our room was jaded and dirty, milk was past its use by date, the bathroom was not that clean and the water not that hot. Others told us that they had to change room and it appeared there were very few staff, not that it mattered as there were very few guests! But the few front of staff who were hanging around could talk for Wales – one lad who we could not shake off gave us his life story and rather indiscreetly revealed how much the new owners had paid for the place and another (maybe the manager?) stopped gossiping about another nearby establishment when she realized we were listening. The new owners, who we were told were about to move in any moment, will have an uphill struggle turning this place around.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
37 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdJDavies, Manager at T'yn y Cornel Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Firstly, thank you for your feedback.

We are happy to report that we have now officially taken over the Ty'n Y Cornel hotel as of this weekend just passed. We have already taken a couple of steps to improve the business but sadly we can't make all the changes we would like overnight! We appreciate that we have a long road ahead of us to say the least. I'd like to highlight a couple of the changes we have already made however:

We have sorted out the drinks license and have put in a couple of chefs from our other business whilst we interview for a new head chef. We have a lot of work to do in the kitchen but as soon as we can we will only be serving freshly prepared food using local suppliers - in fact we have already done this with the evening menu which will be changing regularly.

We have refurbished the cellar and bar and are currently organising a wine tasting in order to put together a wine list that will compliment the food on offer, as well as introducing real ales and ciders produced locally.

We have also invested in the lake, with a professional weed cutter bought and the lake re-stocked with brown trout.

After a couple of weeks to bed in and take care of the work that needs doing back-of-house we will be holding an open day to which everyone will be welcome.

Any feedback or suggestions are always welcome, and we hope to bring Tyn-y-Cornel up to the standards expected by our customers and beyond.

Many Thanks
Ed and the Jenkin-Davies family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

By chance, I was lucky enough to stay there at a very historic moment in the life of this legendary fishing hotel. After years of uncertainty the hotel has been bought by committed new owners and will return to being a family-run business. I met two of the new owners who arrived half way through my stay and it's clear that they will be just what this place needs. Despite the difficulties the hotel's staff were awesome, particularly Anwen, Terry and Phil the Ghillie and nothing was too much trouble. It never stopped raining once during my 3 night stay, but the plus side was that the trout prefer it that way and I had full bags both days. With a combination of the lovely local staff and a management team that knows what it's doing, I think this will the start of an exciting time for the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolffanog Fawr
Dolffanog Fawr
#1 of 1 in Talyllyn
151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
63 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
#4 of 5 in Talyllyn
75 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Royal Ship Hotel
The Royal Ship Hotel
#7 of 34 in Dolgellau
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'yn y Cornel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Property: T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Address: | Tywyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — T'yn y Cornel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your T'yn y Cornel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
T'Yn y Cornel Hotel Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing