We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Lunch at Tyncornel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Talyllyn B&B and Inns
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple Lunch at Tyncornel”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Visited here for a soup and sandwich lunch over a very wet Christmas 2012. Had not been here for thirty years but drawn back by the stunning location.
Warm welcome by friendly staff. Dining room comfortable, clean and tidy with wonderful view. Quality beef sandwich delivered by a very friendly and pleasant waitress. I apologised about the crumbs on the carpet but she said no problem and just swept it up !
Might be back for the fishing next summer, you never know. Delighted Tynycornel appears to be in safe hands now.
One of the Classics of Wales, needs to be cherished for all to enjoy.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    79
    29
    28
    35
See reviews for
64
163
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
lichfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Having read some dreadful reviews shortly before setting out, we were tempted to cancel our booking. I'm glad we didn't.
First impressions are important, and we were pleased to be met and have our luggage taken from the car up to our room. Room 2 was spacious, overlooking the lake; the bed was comfortable; good fitted wardrobe with full length mirror doors; sofa and armchair added to comfort. Bathroom had been recently refurbished - the tiling not very well grouted! On a very cold day the room was adequately warm, but our request for a supplementary heater was dealt with immediately.
There was a good choice on the dinner menu, although there was no vegetarian option. We chose different dishes and were pleased with what we ordered. If anything, we were given too much. Service was very willing, but somewhat unskilled. However, whatever we asked for was provided with a smile. Breakfast was fine, but the dining room was a bit chilly in the morning.

We thought the proprietors and staff were anxious to please and we were well looked after.
There are still improvements to be made, but we think people looking for a comfortable stay in a small delightfully situated hotel should definitely consider the Tyn Y Cornel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmrLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend by the Talyllyn lake in mid Wales we stayed in the Tynycornel Hotel and everything was perfect. The room was superb and the breakfast and evening meals were brilliant. I would thoroughly reccomend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for four days and really enjoyed it. I stayed in one of the rooms in the annex, the Mallard. It is facing the lake, when you wake up in the morning the view is gorgeous. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The food is terrific and serves generous portions, I was looking forward to dinner every night and was never disappointed. When I complimented the cook on the onion rings, he sent out an extra serving of them to my table! I was in a group of six people, and we were all very happy with our stay.

The room was very spacious and the bathroom looked like it was recently done, it was quite fresh and new looking. There was a large bathtub and the shower head had one of those rain water models like they do in spas, which was nice after a long day. The toiletries provided are also of good quality. it was kept clean, not hospital clean but perfectly acceptable. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank frauchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Recommended by friends we were not disappointed despite the recent change in ownership. Room was a decent size with great view over the lake. Bathroom was very new and even had underfloor heating ! There is a fairly small evening menu but all food is freshly prepared and good quality. The chef seems genuinely interested in the food he prepares and what customers think.
Only suggestion I could make was that the lounge would be more cosy with a focal point like a woodburner or open fireplace. Great venue for visiting mid and north Wales, spectacular scenery and great walks on you doorstep.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberearon Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We have been regular visitors to this hotel for many years and seen it go through its up and downs. Now it has been finally bought I fear the new people simply have no idea. Nothing has visibly changed and the rooms are still drab and tired, as is the whole hotel to be honest both inside and out. Also we saw no real sign of the great deep cleaning operation as mentioned in a previous response and looking at the hotel's very low score on the official food hygiene rating website alarmed us greatly. It appears it has been like that for nearly 18 months now and we just wonder why the kitchens not been inspected again?
The minimal staff did their best but seemed listless and certainly lacked any motivation. It seems having overheard various negative conversations the owners live miles away in England and have another place whose recent reviews on here do not bode well for the future of their new enterprise at Talyllyn.
The manager of the Tynycornel can vertainly write a good management response to previous TripAdvisor criticisms but its sad to report that we feel he cannot cook that well as when he was on kitchen duty many of us sent our evening meals back and we had to look elsewhere to dine for the next night. Mercifully we struck lucky at a smaller local establishment I feel many like us are sure to visit again.
It is all just so very sad as this is such an amazing spot and the Tynycornel Hotel deserves better. Sadly we, and others we spoke to, will not be returning to this once great hotel.

Room Tip: Tip: Avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Ivan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth,England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We have just returned from a weekend at this hotel. It changed hands about 6 weeks ago and the new owners are going flat out to get it back to a good standard after its chequered recent history. Four of us went, two couples, the men went fishing and the ladies walked and shopped. Staff are working hard to get the lake back to scratch but it will take time. We caught twelve brown trout between us on the day we fished but it is hard fishing as the lake is badly weeded up. It should be a lot better by next year and the man in charge is excellent, very helpful indeed and an experienced fisherman. They are stocking on a fortnightly basis.
The hotel is tired but you can only do so much in six weeks and they make up for this with the service, the food and the warm, friendly atmosphere.
We had a lovely weekend and are planning to go next May/June with a group of our friends.
Good luck to the new owners and well done for the effort you are making.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room if it bothers you that the standard rooms are a bit 'tired'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alig7rod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talyllyn
5.7 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
334 reviews
9.1 mi away
Plas Dolmelynllyn Hall Hotel
5.8 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel
Wynnstay Hotel
#2 of 3 in Machynlleth
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dolffanog Fach
Dolffanog Fach
#2 of 5 in Talyllyn
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
Pen-y-Bont Hotel
#5 of 5 in Talyllyn
64 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
Gwesty Minffordd Hotel
#4 of 5 in Talyllyn
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T'yn y Cornel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'yn y Cornel Hotel

Property: T'yn y Cornel Hotel
Address: | Tywyn, Talyllyn, Snowdonia National Park LL36 9AJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Talyllyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Talyllyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — T'yn y Cornel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your T'yn y Cornel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
T'Yn y Cornel Hotel Talyllyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing